伊拉克

新任联合国儿童基金会伊拉克亲善大使卡珊艾尔.撒希尔强调要重视最困苦儿童的需求

伊拉克巴格达,2011年5月9日 – 今天,举世闻名的阿拉伯音乐界最伟大的艺术家之一 - 伊拉克歌唱家卡珊艾尔.撒希尔被任命为首位联合国儿童基金会伊拉克亲善大使。在时隔14 年后重返伊拉克之际,撒希尔先生强调了要关注伊拉克最贫苦儿童平等的权力。

 

视频:2011 年 5 月 5 日 – 新任联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克亲善大使 - 知名歌唱家卡珊艾尔.撒希尔的新歌《为了儿童,携手努力》号召伊拉克社会各界伸出援助之手解决伊拉克青年所面临的困难。

“在过去的几十年里,伊拉克儿童经历了令人难以置信的艰辛,数十万儿童深受暴力和非人道摧残之苦。”他说:“现在是时候改变了。”

撒希尔先生是伊拉克最杰出的音乐家之一,也是该地区最有影响力的明星之一。"

为了倡导人们关注伊拉克青年的处境,早在1998年他就在其作品Tathakkar中描述了深受暴力冲突困扰的儿童。这首歌为改善无助儿童的生活做出了巨大的贡献,从而获得了联合国儿童基金会颁发的奖项。2004 年,撒希尔先生还举办了一场音乐会,使中东超过5万名儿童从中受益。

携手为儿童

为了继续发扬这种精神,撒希尔先生最近推出了一首新歌《为了儿童,携手努力》来呼吁人们行动起来。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2011/Arar
新任联合国儿童基金会伊拉克亲善大使 - 知名歌唱家卡珊艾尔.撒希尔时隔14年重返伊拉克。

他唱道:“是否曾有人见证你们所走过的艰辛?你们穿越了恐惧与剥夺的界线。”以歌词形式强调伊拉克儿童在过去几年中表现出来的勇气。

为了号召伊拉克社会各界伸出援助之手来改善儿童的现状,他补充道:“让我们与联合国儿童基金会一起,来阻止死亡、疾病、歧视和贫穷。让我们来帮帮那些战争中的受害儿童,使他们摆脱困境,拥有幸福的生活。让我们一起努力吧。”

伊拉克儿童面临的问题

在20世纪70年代,伊拉克曾是中东和北非地区儿童生活最幸福的国家,但由于长期的战争,儿童被忽视,他们的生活状况变得极为糟糕。伊拉克150多万名儿童目前面临着如下问题:

  • 每年大约有3万5千名婴儿在1岁之前死亡。
  • 大约有150万名5岁以下儿童营养不良。
  • 大约有70万名儿童未上小学,并且有超过数十万名儿童在没毕业之前就辍学。
  • 250万名儿童无法得到安全的饮用水,并且有350万名儿童缺乏足够的卫生设施。
  • 大约有80万名5至14岁间的儿童在工作。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF-Iraq/2011/Arar
歌唱家卡珊艾尔.撒希尔在被任命为联合国儿童基金会伊拉克亲善大使仪式上与媒体讲话。

作为联合国儿童基金会亲善大使,撒希尔先生将重点关注最需要帮助儿童的处境,这些儿童面临着各种问题,但却得不到相应的服务。

走向繁荣稳定的未来

“现在需要采取紧急行动来为伊拉克最贫苦儿童提供他们应得并且有权拥有的各种机会。”撒希尔先生说:“通过为这些儿童创造所需的机会,使他们茁壮成长并全面发展,伊拉克将重新走上正轨并成为该地区儿童生活最幸福的国家,从而加快实现繁荣稳定的未来。”

联合国儿童基金会针对伊拉克进行的多指标类集调查即将完成,该调查有助于确定该国最贫穷的儿童群体和家庭。在今年年底调查结果完成时,撒希尔先生将宣布该结果并呼吁社会各界针对这些长年被忽视的儿童所需的服务项目提供资助。


 

 

相关链接

搜索

Iraq

New UNICEF Iraq Ambassador Kadhum Al-Sahir highlights needs of the most deprived

BAGHDAD, Iraq, 9 May 2011 – Today, the Iraqi singer acclaimed worldwide as one of the great artists of contemporary Arabic music, Kadhum Al-Sahir, was appointed as the first-ever UNICEF Iraq Ambassador. Returning to Iraq for the first time in 14 years, Mr. Al-Sahir highlighted the need to focus on equity for Iraq’s most deprived children.

VIDEO: 5 May 2011 - Newly appointed UNICEF Iraq Ambassador and renowned singer Kadhum Al-Sahir's new song, 'Together for Children', calls on all segments of Iraqi society to help end hardships faced by the country's youth.

 

“Iraq’s children have endured incredible hardship over the last couple of decades, with hundreds of thousands suffering from the brutal effects of violence and inhumane deprivation” he said. “It is now time to change that.”

Mr. Al-Sahir is one of the most prominent musicians ever produced by Iraq and one of the most followed stars in the region.

Long an advocate for Iraq’s youth, he started raising awareness about their suffering in 1998 with ‘Tathakkar’ (‘Remember’), a song about children caught in conflict. The song garnered a UNICEF award for making an outstanding contribution to improve the lives of children in need. In 2004, Mr. Al-Sahir also gave a concert that benefitted over 50,000 children in the Middle East.

‘Together for Children’

Continuing in this spirit, Mr. Al-Sahir today launched a new song – ‘Together for Children’ – as a call to action.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2011/Arar
Newly appointed UNICEF Iraq Ambassador and renowned singer Kadhum Al-Sahir returns to Iraq for his first visit in 14 years.

To highlight the courage of children in Iraq over the years, he sings, “Has there been anyone who has seen the hardships you have seen? You overcame the boundaries of fear and deprivation.”

Calling on all segments of Iraqi society to help improve the situation of children, he adds, “Let’s join UNICEF in its march to stop the death, the disease, the neglect and the poverty. Let’s help the child victims of wars. Come, let’s do something to change their hardships into prosperity. Come, let’s work together.”

Issues facing Iraq’s children

In the 1970s, Iraq was one of the best countries in the Middle East and North Africa to be a child, but due to decades of war and neglect, it has become one of the worst. Some of the issues facing Iraq’s 15 million children now include the following:

  • Each year, around 35,000 infants die before reaching their first birthday
  • Over 1.5 million children under the age of five are undernourished
  • Around 700,000 children are not enrolled in primary school, while hundreds of thousands more drop out before graduating
  • 2.5 million children do not have access to safe water, and 3.5 million lack adequate sanitation facilities
  • Around 800,000 children between the ages of 5 and 14 are working.
UNICEF Image
© UNICEF-Iraq/2011/Arar
Singer Kadhum Al-Sahir speaks to the press at the announcement of his appointment as UNICEF Iraq Ambassador in Baghdad.

In his capacity as a UNICEF ambassador, Mr. Al-Sahir will focus on the plight of children in the greatest need, who face many of these problems simultaneously without the services to respond to them.

Towards a stable future

“Urgent action is needed to provide opportunities that the most deprived children across Iraq deserve and have the right to have,” said Mr. Al-Sahir. “By creating the opportunities needed for these children to be able to grow up healthy and realize their full potential, Iraq will once again be on the path to be one of the best countries in the region to be a child, which will accelerate a future that is stable and prosperous for all.”

UNICEF is concluding its fourth Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey in Iraq to help identify the country’s most disadvantaged children and families. When survey results are finalized at the end of this year, Mr. Al-Sahir is expected to announce the findings and call for investments in the services needed by those children who have been left behind.


 

 

New enhanced search