伊拉克

联合国儿童基金会与诺基亚合作在伊拉克重建八所学校

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2008
联合国儿童基金会将诺基亚的捐款用于重建学校。图为伊拉克南部瓦西特阿什-石鲁克小学的学生。

班.达哈伊报道

约旦阿曼,2008年10月20日。诺基亚移动通信公司与联合国儿童基金会启动了一个特殊的公私合作项目,帮助伊拉克儿童重建八所受冲突、流离失所和贫困影响的学校。

这项100万美元的倡议正在伊拉克南部两个最贫穷的地区以及北部库尔德地区开展,旨在创造安全及激励性的学习环境并使儿童们接受高质量的教育。

该项目旨在通过增建教室并提供课本、钢笔、铅笔和其他必要的学习用品,帮助那些收容了流离失所儿童的学校减少过度拥挤的现象。这个项目将年久失修的教室和操场整修一新,建造了男女生分开使用的厕所并提供了新的教室设施。

学校成为避难所

伊拉克的学校已成为儿童的避难所以及培养他们潜力的场所,因此地位越来越重要。然而,由于多年的冲突和忽视,伊拉克的很多学校情况非常糟糕。自2003年以来,联合国儿童基金会改造了超过1200所小学和中学,以提高入学率、鼓励正常出勤并减轻教师的负担。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2008
伊拉克南部瓦西特阿尔-巴士拉小学的学生在暑假结束后回到学校的时候发现教学楼整修一新。他们还收到了书本和学习用具。

联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克办事处教育主任梅特.诺德斯特兰德 (Mette Nordstrand) 说:“伊拉克儿童需要安全和友好的学校来帮助减轻冲突对教育的影响。经验告诉我们,修复受损学校可以改变儿童的学习体验并帮助他们重新认识到学习的目的。诺基亚正在提供为开展这一重要工作所需的资金努力。”

“社区的中心”

诺基亚撒哈拉以南的非洲、中东和北非社区参与项目主任米什莱恩.恩提鲁 (Micheline Ntiru)补充说道:“诺基亚与联合国儿童基金会有同样的观念,即学校是社区的中心,而教育则是儿童未来的最好基石。我们很荣幸能建立一个伙伴关系,从事这一重要的工作,在这一困难时期帮助伊拉克的在校儿童,并排除他们目前面对的挑战 。我们相信在今后的几年中,这些投资能够丰富儿童的生活并为他们的国家造福。”

这个刚刚起步的项目将一直开展到2008年末,总共帮助大约6458名儿童(其中超过一半为女童)和307名教师。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年10月16日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.奈尔斯报道联合国儿童基金会和诺基亚公司在伊拉克最贫困地区的学校改造项目的情况。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Iraq

UNICEF and Nokia partner to rebuild eight schools in Iraq

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2008
Students at Ash-Shrook primary school in Wasit, southern Iraq. UNICEF rebuilt the school with funds donated by Nokia.

By Ban Dhayi

AMMAN, Jordan, 20 October 2008 – The Nokia mobile communications company and UNICEF have launched a unique public-private partnership for children in Iraq to rebuild eight primary schools affected by conflict, displacement and poverty.

The $1 million initiative is operating in two of the poorest areas in southern Iraq and the northern Kurdish region with the goal of creating safe, stimulating school environments in which children can receive a quality education.

The project aims to reduce overcrowding in schools that are accommodating displaced children. It is doing so by building additional classrooms and providing school books, pens, pencils and other essential learning materials. Through the project, dilapidated classrooms and playgrounds have been refurbished, separate latrines for girls added and new classroom furniture provided.

Schools as a place of refuge

Schools in Iraq have become increasingly important as a refuge for children and a place to nurture their potential. However, many of Iraq’s schools are in critical condition after years of conflict and neglect. Over 1,200 primary and intermediate schools have been rehabilitated by UNICEF since 2003, in an effort to boost enrolment rates, encourage regular attendance and lighten the load on teachers.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2008
Students at Al-Basra primary school in Wasit, southern Iraq returned from their summer break to find their school had been refurbished and provided with books and equipment.

“Iraqi children need safe and welcoming schools to reduce the impact of conflict on their education,” said UNICEF Iraq Chief of Education Mette Nordstrand. “Experience tells us that simply restoring a damaged school can transform a child’s experience of learning and renew their sense of purpose. Nokia is providing a much-needed boost to this important work.”

'The heart of any community'

Added the head of Nokia community involvement for sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East and North Africa, Micheline Ntiru:

“Nokia shares UNICEF’s vision that a school is the heart of any community, and education is the best foundation for a child’s future. We are proud to partner such an important effort to support Iraq’s schoolchildren during these difficult times and remove some of the challenges they face. We believe these investments will pay rich dividends for children’s lives and for their country in years to come.”

The project, in its initial phase, will last throughout 2008. It will support approximately 6,458 children (more than half of whom are girls) and 307 teachers.


 

 

Video

16 October 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on a partnership that has rehabilitated schools in some of Iraq’s poorest areas.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search