伊拉克

控制伊拉克的霍乱疫情以保护数千人免受风险

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2007/Arar
联合国儿童基金会运水行动继续保护成千上万的伊拉克儿童及其家庭免于感染由水传染的疾病。

苛莱尔.哈扎报道

伊拉克巴格达,2007年9月25日。新闻让很多人整个夏天都在担心。 8月14日,伊拉克北部城市基尔库克的一名患急性腹泻的男子被确诊为霍乱。 尽管实施了紧急控制措施,这个病还是很快地传播开来,不久即演变成为伊拉克近期历史上爆发的最大的疫情。

到目前为止,整个伊拉克的28个地区已经有11人死亡,2100多人患严重霍乱,还有数千人面临着潜在的威胁。

位于伊拉克库尔德斯坦地区的苏莱曼尼亚市是疫情爆发的源头。 疾病通过受到污染的水向南方蔓延。 最新消息令人极其震惊:在伊拉克首都巴格达发现两起霍乱病例及一个死亡案例;在更南部的巴士拉则发现一名七个月大的女婴染上该病。

正在苏莱曼尼亚实地工作的联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克紧急医疗协调人巴克提亚.阿赫麦德说:“情况非常危险和恐怖。”

他说:“开始,每天有二百多人来看病,医院不堪重负,简直无法为每个人都检查身体。 医院请求联合国儿童基金会帮助他们治疗病患,尽我们所能向居民宣传控制疫情的知识,并向他们提供清洁家庭用水的方法。”

紧急救援挽救生命

联合国儿童基金会的救援工作始于疫情确认的第一天,并与领导全国救援的世界卫生组织及地方卫生当局并肩战斗。

首要任务是向北部的医院运送紧急医疗物资和口服补液盐,治疗轻度和中度腹泻患者。 口服补液盐是盐和糖的混合物,与锌一起服用,有助于防治因脱水致死。 联合国儿童基金会在24小时之内,从其位于埃尔比勒附近的仓库里调动了一万五千多袋口服补液盐。

联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克卫生主任亚历山大.玛利亚文博士说:“霍乱可以在几小时内致命,但是,如果在发展成为严重脱水之前及时发现,还是比较容易治疗的。 这就是为什么说口服补液盐是天赐之物,它可以挽救生命,而且每袋只需几分钱。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2007/Arar
整个伊拉克缺乏供水和卫生服务,致使儿童及其家庭面临着包括霍乱在内的疾病的威胁。

正在努力控制疫情

其它运抵伊拉克北部霍乱受灾地区的联合国儿童基金会援助品包括12,000个家用水箱,13,400个简易水罐,30,000块肥皂,34,000盒净水片,4,800慢溶氯气片和为家用井水消毒的三吨氯。

联合国儿童基金会还要向受疫情袭击最严重地区的家庭运送安全用水,每天运送大约二百万升。

为了控制疫情,联合国儿童基金会已经培训了一批医务人员治疗腹泻,而且还在支持一项广泛的宣传运动,鼓励居民净化用水,卫生备餐和养成洗手的习惯。鼓励当地商贩在传统的斋月只销售罐装饮料,并且学校的水箱也得到彻底清洗消毒。

今天, 巴士拉当局正在寻求类似的援助。联合国儿童基会已经作出积极的响应,运送了更多的口服补液盐,并与政府合作向社区发出预警。希望不要在伊拉克贫穷的南部爆发大规模病情,那里很多流离失所的家庭的卫生条件很差。

一个长期的问题

然而,伊拉克的霍乱问题不会马上消失。整个国家的用水和卫生条件极差是出现和传播疾病的原因所在。伊拉克只有百分之三十的人口能够用上安全饮水,百分之十七的污水在未经处理之前就排放到河道里。

根据联合国儿童基金会消息,这次疫情显示数百万伊拉克人正在为安全用水之类的基本保障而挣扎,并急需得到人道主义援助。同时也急待重新储备治疗腹泻的口服补液盐和锌。联合国儿童基金会还缺少一百万美元的资金,来为该国的儿童提供锌。


 

 

音频(英文)

2007年9月25日:联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克紧急医疗协调人巴克提亚.阿赫麦德讨论对该国近期历史上最严重的霍乱疫情的援助。
 音频 视听

搜索

Iraq

Holding back cholera in Iraq to protect thousands at risk

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2007/Arar
UNICEF water tankering operations continue to protect hundreds of thousands of Iraqi children and their families from waterborne disease.

By Claire Hajaj

AMMAN, Jordan, 25 September 2007 – It was the news that many had been dreading all summer. On 14 August, a man suffering from acute watery diarrhoea in the northern Iraqi city of Kirkuk was confirmed to have cholera. Despite emergency control measures, the disease spread and has quickly become Iraq’s biggest outbreak in recent memory.

So far, 11 people have died and over 2,100 have become seriously ill from cholera in 28 districts across Iraq. Thousands more are potentially at risk.

Suleimaniyah city, in Iraq’s Kurdistan region, was the outbreak’s initial epicentre. But the disease has spread southward through contaminated water. The latest news is the most alarming: two cases of cholera and one death in Baghdad, Iraq’s capital, and another case involving a seven-month-old baby girl even farther south, in Basra.

“It is a frightening and dangerous situation” said UNICEF emergency health facilitator Bahktiyar Ahmed, who is working on the ground in Suleimaniyah.

“At first, more than 200 cases were coming in each day, and hospitals were so overwhelmed they couldn’t even test them all,” he added. “They asked UNICEF to help them treat the sick and do what we could to contain the disease by informing families and providing them with ways to clean their household water.”

Quick response saves lives

UNICEF began it response within a day of the confirmed outbreak, working alongside the World Health Organization, which is leading the national response, as well as local health officials.

The first priority was to deliver emergency medical supplies and oral rehydration salts (ORS) to hospitals in the north, in order to treat mild and moderate diarrhoea cases. ORS is a simple mix of salts and sugars that, when given with zinc, can help prevent death from dehydration. UNICEF was able to mobilize over 15,000 ORS sachets within 24 hours from its warehouses in nearby Erbil.

“Cholera can be lethal within hours but it is relatively easy to treat if you catch it in time, before severe dehydration develops,” said the Chief of Health for UNICEF Iraq, Dr. Alexander Malyavin. “This is why ORS is a godsend – it saves lives and costs just a few cents per sachet.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2007/Arar
Lack of access to water and sanitation services across Iraq puts children and families at risk of diseases, including cholera.

Containment effort

Other UNICEF aid reaching cholera-stricken areas of northern Iraq includes 12,000 family water kits, 13,400 jerry cans for safe water storage, 30,000 bars of soap, 34,000 packs of water-purification tablets, 4,800 slow-dissolving chlorine tablets and 3 metric tonnes of chlorine to treat family wells.

UNICEF will also be trucking safe water to families in the areas hardest hit by the outbreak – delivering approximately 2 million litres per day.

As part of the containment effort, UNICEF has trained medical staff to treat diarrhoea cases and is still supporting a widespread communication campaign to encourage families to purify water, prepare food carefully and wash their hands. Local vendors are being encouraged to sell only canned drinks for the traditional Ramadan meal of ifthar. And school water tanks are being thoroughly cleaned and treated.

Today, authorities in Basra are appealing for similar assistance. UNICEF is responding by sending more ORS and working with authorities to alert communities. The hope is to prevent a large-scale outbreak in Iraq’s impoverished south, where many displaced families are living in unhygienic conditions.

A long-term problem

But Iraq’s cholera problem will not go away quickly. Dire water and sanitation conditions across the country are to blame for the emergence and spread of the disease. Only 30 per cent Iraq’s population have reliable access to safe water, and 17 per cent of Iraq’s sewage is treated before being discharged into waterways.

According to UNICEF, this outbreak shows that millions of Iraqis are struggling without essentials such as safe water and urgently need humanitarian assistance. Restocking supplies of lifesaving treatments such as ORS and zinc for diarrhoea cases is also critical. UNICEF is still short of $1 million to supply zinc for the country’s children.

“Ordinary diarrhoea is still one of two biggest killers of Iraqi infants,” said Dr. Malyavin. “We shouldn’t have to wait for a cholera outbreak to provide these children with access to safe water and simple medical treatments, which could help save many lives.”


 

 

Audio

25 September 2007:
UNICEF Iraq emergency health facilitator Bakhtiyar Ahmed discusses the response to the country’s biggest cholera outbreak in recent memory.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search