伊拉克

阿弗拉的故事: 重新找回巴格达街头失去的童年

UNICEF Photo: Iraq, street children
© UNICEF Iraq/2003
贫困和暴力迫使越来越多的伊拉克儿童工作或者在街上乞讨

苛莱尔.哈扎与班.哈依联合报道

约旦亚喀巴省2007年8月30日 - 阿弗拉和她的哥哥毕拉尔被遗弃在巴格达街头要养活自己的时候,还不到十岁。 这对小兄妹腼腆而不知所措,还有着与家人分离的恐惧烙印。

13岁的阿法拉说:“我父亲失去了工作,而我母亲无法照顾我们。 我们太穷了,没有东西吃,也不能上学。 所以我们不得不离开家,最后到了福利院。”

阿弗拉的故事对于巴格达城市贫民窟的人来说,是太熟悉了,那里饱受长期冲突和经济贫困的蹂躏。 贫穷是伊拉克工人阶级的大敌,它的杀伤力与暴力几乎相同。

截止到2003年,至少15%的伊拉克14岁以下儿童为支持家里的生计而做着某种工作。 而现在这个比例要高得多。  成千上万个家庭的主要劳动力在宗教派别冲突中丧生,更多人为了安全,逃到新的地方寻找工作,破坏了家庭生活,并且耗尽家庭积蓄。

街头的危险

随着伊拉克的暴力继续拆散社区和家庭,越来越多的儿童被迫承担着成年人的责任。 对于最贫穷的儿童来说,这往往意味着上街乞讨,或者在交通路口努力向司机兜售口香糖、糖果和香烟来赚几个小钱。

很多流浪儿最后陷入更糟糕的境地,涉足吸毒、卖淫和暴力等。 比较幸运的孩子找到政府开设的福利院生活。 不幸的孩子则被警察带走,或因经济上的极端贫困和性剥削而造成永久性的伤害,失去了他们的童年。

联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克儿童保护主任帕翠沙.吉奥瓦尼说:“我们在伊拉克的城市看到越来越多的流浪儿,这是冲突与贫困的可悲副作用。 他们是伊拉克社会被遗忘的最易受伤害的群体 - 与其他伊拉克儿童相比,更没有机会上学、接受心理辅导、医疗福利或获得安全保障。

被遗忘的儿童

吉奥瓦尼女士说,在伊拉克大街上工作的儿童多数并不是孤儿。 例如阿弗拉,她的家人养不起她 - 这是典型的伊拉克街头儿童的身世。

有些儿童因无法承受社会和家庭的暴力而离家出走成为街头流浪儿,暴力影响了伊拉克冲突中心地区的许多家庭。 如果在旅途中与父母分离,或者预期的家庭收入不足以支撑他们在新地方的生活,将增加儿童流离失所的危险。

吉奥瓦尼女士说:“以前亲戚家,甚至社区领袖都会接纳需要帮助的儿童。 但是,随着整个伊拉克生活压力的增加,越来越少的人能够照顾自己家庭以外的孩子。 所以会有数量惊人的儿童被冷酷地遗弃。

UNICEF Photo: Iraq, street children
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
在巴格达一个由联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童重入家庭中心,一位女孩正在学习与她的家人重新相处。

寻找回家的路

阿弗拉是比较幸运的一个。 她设法来到联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童重入家庭项目。 在巴格达的非政府组织的协助下,该项目的目标是将没有与父母一起生活的儿童带回到一个家庭环境之中。 孩子们可以住在城里的六个过度中心中的任何一个,在那里有机会接受辅导、心理支持,以及与同伴分享经历。

最终,这些孩子在社会工作者的协助下,将回到家乡的一个家庭中生活。

儿童重入家庭项目为孩子们设计了一步步的计划。  如果孩子是孤儿,该项目将找他们的亲戚或他们以前所住社区的成员领养他们。  以阿弗拉为例,项目追踪找到了她的家人,并将她带到他们面前。

阿弗拉说:“我问这个中心的女孩们,回家会是什么情景。 她们说在自己家里,想什么时候睡觉和起床都行,很放松。 我对自己说,我为什么不回家,也像她们一样自由而平静呢。”

一个家庭帮手

在长期分离之后回家可能比较困难,但是阿弗拉和她的家人得到了帮助。 在孩子回家以后的几个月内,儿童重入家庭项目将为儿童及其家庭提供辅导和财务支持,以帮助家庭适应并确保孩子可以去上学。

阿弗拉的母亲说:“我们很感谢社会福利工作者提供的补助,因为我们现在更穷了。 如果不是依靠这个,不管我有多爱我的孩子们,我也无法让他们回家。”

到目前为止,150个像阿弗拉这样的孩子已经在儿童重入家庭项目的帮助下与家人团聚。 在接下来的几个月中,该项目将在全伊拉克展开,给与其他流离失所和失落的儿童以机会,使他们生活得更好。

建设未来

阿弗拉说:“当我没有和家人生活在一起的时候,我很想念他们。 我不能想象没有他们的生活。 我希望这个项目能帮助其他孩子回到家里,并且帮助他们的家庭。”

吉奥瓦尼女士说:“所有的伊拉克儿童都理应得到家庭的照顾,家庭生活最有可能将他们培养为有信心和有知识的成年人 - 并且为伊拉克所需要的国家建设做出贡献。”

今天,阿弗拉很安全,并且梦想成为一名工程师。

她的母亲和兄弟们坐在她的身边,她说:“我要先给我家建一座房子,然后再造别的建筑。


 

 

视频(英文)


2007年8月24日:
13岁的阿弗拉.伊布拉赫姆.穆罕默德讲述她在一个福利院的生活经历,以及后来与其家人的团聚。

 视频  高速 | 低速


2007年8月24日:
联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克儿童保护主任帕翠沙.吉奥瓦尼讨论贫困和暴力如何迫使伊拉克儿童流落到街头和福利院。

 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Iraq

Afrah’s story: Recovering a childhood lost on the streets of Baghdad

UNICEF Image: Iraq, street children
© UNICEF Iraq/2003
Poverty and violence are driving a growing number of Iraqi children into working or begging on the streets.

By Claire Hajaj and Ban Dhayi

AMMAN, Jordan, 31 August 2007 – Afrah and her brother Bilal were barely teenagers when they were left to fend for themselves on the streets of Baghdad. Shy and awkward, the young brother and sister still carry the scars of their frightening separation from their family.

“My father lost his job and my mother could not care for us,” said Afrah, 13. “We were too poor to eat or stay in school, so we had to leave home, and this is how we ended up in the institution.”

Afrah’s story is all too familiar in Baghdad’s urban slums, ravaged for so long by conflict and economic hardship. Poverty is a persistent enemy of Iraq’s working classes, a force almost as destructive as violence.

By 2003, at least 15 per cent of Iraqi children under the age of 14 were working to support their families in some way. Today, the figure is likely to be far higher. Tens of thousands of family wage-earners have been killed in sectarian violence. Many more are fleeing to new areas in search of safety and jobs, disrupting family life and eating up household savings.

Danger in the streets

As violence in Iraq continues to fracture communities and families, children are increasingly being asked to take on adult burdens. For the poorest children, this usually means begging on the streets, or trying to scrape a few dinars by dodging traffic in an effort to persuade motorists to buy sticks of gum, sweets and cigarettes.

Many street children end up trapped in even more desperate situations, drawn into drugs, prostitution and violence. The more fortunate ones find a refuge in government institutions. The unlucky ones end up in trouble with the police or permanently damaged by the worst forms of economic and sexual exploitation, their childhoods lost.

“We are seeing more and more street children in Iraq’s cities, a tragic side effect of conflict and poverty,” said the Chief of Child Protection for UNICEF Iraq, Patrizia di Giovanni. “They are the forgotten vulnerable of Iraq’s society – less likely than any Iraqi children to go to school, receive emotional support, benefit from health care and stay safe.”

Children left out

Most of the children working Iraq’s streets are not orphans, Ms. di Giovanni said. Afrah’s case – in which her family could not afford to keep her – is typical of an Iraqi street child.

Other street children are runaways, unable to cope with the stress and domestic violence that infects so many Iraqi families in the heart of the conflict zones. Displacement increases the risk that children will become separated from their parents in transit, or be pushed into work if the hoped-for family income fails to materialize in their new location.

“There was a time when extended families, or even community leaders, would have taken in children in need of help,” Ms. di Giovanni said. “But with pressure growing on all Iraqis, fewer are able to care for children beyond their immediate family. And so a frightening number of children are being left out in the cold.”

UNICEF Image: Iraq, street children
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
At a UNICEF-supported child re-integration centre in Baghdad, a girl learns to reconnect with home and family.

Finding a way back home

Afrah was one of the lucky ones. She found her way into the UNICEF-supported Child Re-integration Project. This initiative aims to bring children living without their parents back into a family environment, with the assistance of an NGO partner working in Baghdad. Children have the chance to stay in one of six ‘transitional’ centres throughout the city, where they receive counselling, psychosocial support and the chance to share experiences with their peers.

Eventually, with the aid of social workers, these children are offered the opportunity to return to a family home.

The Child Re-integration Project is a step-by-step process for children. Where they are orphans, the project finds relatives or members from their former community to foster them. In Afrah’s case, the project was able to trace her family and bring her back to them.

“I asked girls at the centre what going home was like,” said Afrah. “They said that in their own homes they can wake up and sleep freely and they are relaxed. I said to myself, why don’t I go to my family so that I can be free and calm like them?”

A helping hand for families

Going home can be hard after a long separation, but Afrah and her family had help. The Child Re-integration Project provides children and families with counselling and financial support for several months after a child returns home, to help the family adapt and make sure the child can go back to school.

“We are thankful for the rations provided by the social worker because we are very poor even now,” said Afrah’s mother. “If it were not for this I could not have had my children home, despite my love for them.”

So far, 150 children like Afrah have been re-united with a family by the Child Re-integration Project. Within the next few months it will roll out across Iraq to give other displaced and lost children the chance to change their lives for the better.

Building for the future

“When I was without my family I missed them. I could not imagine living a moment more without them,” said Afrah.  “I hope that this project can bring other children back home and help their families.”

“All Iraqi children deserve the care of a family home,” Ms. di Giovanni said. “A family is the best chance they have to grow into confident, educated adults – and to contribute to the nation-building that Iraq needs.”

For today, Afrah is safe and dreaming of becoming an engineer.

“I will build my family a home first, before I work on any other building,” she says, as her mother and brothers sit beside her.


 

 

Video


24 August 2007:
Afrah Ibrahim Mohammed, 13, talks about her experience living in an institution and later being reunited with her family.
 VIDEO  high | low


24 August 2007:
UNICEF Iraq Chief of Child Protection Patrizia di Giovanni discusses how poverty and violence force Iraqi children into the streets and institutions.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search