伊拉克

麻疹疫苗接种员冒着危险在伊拉克工作

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
疫苗接种员在伊拉克为每个一至五岁孩子免疫接种。 这个孩子在街上与家人一起。

在过去两年伊拉克最大的人道主义行动中,八千名疫苗接种员 - 包括讲述下面故事的伊拉克妇女 - 致力于防止麻疹在儿童中爆发的可能性,因为冲突和不安全,很多儿童还没有接种常规疫苗。

伊拉克米桑省2007年4月23日 - 我已经做了15年的疫苗接种员,但是从来没有觉得像现在这么困难。 我将参加未来两个多星期的大规模免疫行动。

我家在靠近伊朗边界的米桑省阿马拉附近 - 是伊拉克最贫穷的地区之一。 这里的很多人是从伊朗回来的,包括我的丈夫,他在伊朗做了许多年的战俘。 两伊战争结束后,他们回到这个地区。

我们需要保护那些还没有接种疫苗的孩子,因为麻疹非常危险,而且是可以致命的。 我们都希望这次的行动可以顺利进行,上次在去年12月的免疫运动中,警察表示太危险,我们不能出去完成我们的任务。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
一位母亲和婴儿免疫后的微笑。有时,这样的运动是伊拉克母亲给婴儿免疫接种的唯一机会。

每天100名儿童

我们在边境附件的阿提伯和阿施特工作。 我是队伍中唯一的女性,与其他六男疫苗接种员编在一队。 因为我是女的,他们为了我的安全,想让我留在保健中心。 如果我留下,确实会舒服安全的多,但我坚持和他们一起去。

免疫运动开始的第一天,我早晨七点半到达保健中心,在疫苗箱中放足为100名儿童接种需要使用的药瓶。 这是我们每人每天的工作量。

药箱里有冰,这样疫苗可以保持在冷冻状态。  这很重要,因为现在米桑气温很高,我们还要在太阳下走很长的路。

接种员成攻击的目标

我们出发的时候有些紧张。阿马拉今年比较平静,很多家庭从其它危险的地区逃到这里。 有很多孩子和新来的家庭我们不认识,他们也不知道我们。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
防疫队正在巴格达的一家门口敲门。因为不安全,在伊拉克首都巴格达进入人家中是非常危险的。但接种员必须找到每一个儿童。

我们不知道他们是欢迎我们,还是会给我们找麻烦。 我们听说,在其它省,有的接种员被绑架,甚至有被射杀的。

我们带着登记表,记录我们接触的儿童。 我还有一张手画的地图,标着我应该访问的家庭,这样我就不会错过任何一个该接种疫苗的孩子。 如果错过一名儿童,我们还得再回来。

现在,每当你敲门的时候,永远不知道将要面对的是什么。我们希望开门的是位母亲,这样,我们就可以问她是否有年龄在一至五岁之间的孩子。 如果有,我们当场就可以在门口给她的孩子们注射疫苗。 然后我们会在他们的门上和我们的登记表上做标记,以确保我们接触到我们所有的目标儿童。

“我希望我可以睡觉”

现在许多母亲没有足够的知识让他们的孩子健康成长;她们没有受过教育。 有些母亲 - 特别是新来这里的人 - 害怕接种疫苗,她们不给我们开门。

在这种情况下,你要坚持不懈,不恐惧。 我相信我正在做的事对伊拉克的未来非常重要。

第一天,我们没有遇到任何敌意,如释重负。 傍晚之前,我带着空药瓶和用过的注射器回到保健中心登记。 以后我还要再回去,给那些未注射的孩子接种疫苗。

明天,我们要去另一个地区,比阿马拉远。 我们需要到农村去,有些流离失所的家庭在那里住。  这种情况很难,因为他们经常搬家。 今天他们在这里,明天就不见了。

感谢上帝我们今天很顺利-没有恐吓,而且为很多孩子接种了疫苗。 明天还有更多的事情要做。 我希望今晚睡个好觉。


 

 

视频

2007年4月25日:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员安吾利卡.欧卡夫就八千名疫苗接种员参加的伊拉克免疫运动报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量视频

搜索

Iraq

Despite dangers, measles vaccinators fan out across Iraq

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
Vaccinators immunize every Iraqi child they find between one and five years of age. This child was out on the street with his family.

By Claire Hajaj

AMMAN, Jordan, 26 April 2007 – In one of the biggest humanitarian operations in Iraq in the last two years, 8,000 vaccinators are working to prevent a possible outbreak of measles among children, many of whom have not received routine immunization due to violence and conflict.

Iraq’s Ministry of Health is heading up the measles, mumps and rubella campaign with support from UNICEF, the World Health Organization and the European Commission. According to UNICEF Special Representative for Iraq Roger Wright, the timing of the two-week vaccination drive, which began on Sunday, is critical.

“One million Iraqi children now have no protection against measles, as a result of insecurity and falling immunization rates,” he noted. “This vaccine will certainly save many young lives, and we are calling on everyone in Iraq to ensure vaccinators reach children safely.”

Protection for all

While special attention is being paid to Baghdad’s most violence-ravaged areas, Diyala and Anbar, the vaccinators are setting out to reach children in all parts of the country. Some trained medical staff stay in health centres to immunize children brought in by their mothers, but the majority of vaccinators move door to door in teams.

“I have been a vaccinator for 15 years but never in times as difficult as this,” said Fatima, one of a team of heading out each day to reach children near the Iran-Iraq border.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
A mother and baby smile after immunization. Campaigns such as these are sometimes the only chance Iraqi mothers have to get critical vaccines for their babies.

“We have to protect all children who have not been immunized, because measles is dangerous and deadly,” she added. “We are all hoping that it goes well, because last time we tried a vaccination campaign here last December, the police said it was too dangerous for us to go out and do our work.”

100 children per day

Fatima (not her real name) and others who go on foot to reach these vulnerable children take great risks by being seen out in the open, helping children.

“I am the only female vaccinator in a team with six men,” she remarked. “Because I am a woman they wanted to keep me back at the Primary Health Centre for my safety. It is true that if I stayed behind I would be much more comfortable and secure. But I insist on going with them.”

On the first day of the campaign, Fatima arrived at the health centre at 7:30 a.m. and put enough vials in her vaccine carrier to immunize about 100 children. “Each of us is supposed to immunize this many every day,” she said.

Vaccinators targeted

Many people from other parts of Iraq have come to the area around the border with Iran to escape the worst of the violence in their country. This situation sometimes creates tensions between the vaccinators and those they are approaching, simply because they are not known to one another.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2007
Vaccination team knocks at a door in Baghdad. Entering homes in the Iraqi capital is extremely dangerous because of insecurity, but vaccinators have to find every child.

“We don’t know if they will welcome us or make trouble for us,” explained Fatima. “We have heard that vaccinators have been kidnapped or even shot in other provinces.

“You never know what you will face when you knock on a door these days,” she continued. “We hope it will be a mother, so we can ask her if she has any children between one and five years old. If so, we immunize the children then and there, at their doorstep.”

The vaccinators travel with a hand-drawn map to mark down which houses they have reached and which ones they must come back to another day. They also mark the doors of the families whose children have been successfully inoculated.

‘Crucial for Iraq’s future’

Unfortunately, due to constant insecurity, many Iraqi children have fallen through the cracks of seemingly routine immunizations. Living in a state of fear, many people have become isolated even from basic services.

“Some of the mothers – particularly the newly arrived ones – are afraid of vaccination. They won’t open the door,” observed Fatima. “In these situations, you have to be persistent and unafraid. I believe that what I am doing is crucial for Iraq’s future.”

The importance of this work cannot be overstated; nor can its potential dangers be denied. It will go on each day of the campaign, however, because courageous vaccinators like Fatima are committed to providing a simple chance for survival to children in Iraq under the age of five – children who have never known a life without conflict.

Blue Chevigny contributed to this story from New York.


 

 

Video

25 April 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Anwulika Okafor reports on the efforts of 8,000 vaccinators involved in the current immunization campaign in Iraq.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search