伊拉克

改善伊拉克孕妇及婴儿的产前保健服务状况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ03-0019/Noorani
巴士拉妇产儿童医院的门诊部正在给一名婴儿进行发育跟踪检查,在联合国儿童基金会提供的婴儿秤上测量体重。

苛莱尔.哈扎报道

约旦安曼2007年1月30日报道 - 对于21岁的娜萨来说,她怀孕的这最后几个月是焦虑期。她还有一个需要照顾的刚会走路的幼儿,再加上这个要出世的婴儿,娜萨担心她将如何应付得了她家庭人口的增加。她要确保顺利分娩,以及新生儿会健康。 

许多年轻的母亲都有类似于娜萨的担心。 不过,娜萨面临着比大多数母亲更多的麻烦。伊拉克目前的形势已使妇女的生育过程往往成为一场危险的经历。

因为数以百计的医生和护士逃到安全的地区, 对成千上万的伊拉克妇女来说,越来越难找到对她们和婴儿健康至关重要的产前保健服务。

娜萨说:“大多数妇女都知道怀孕期间,特别是如果这是她们的第一胎的话,要想得到良好的照顾和建议就应该去医院,但我的社区的医生不够,不能照顾所有的孕妇。”

隐性暴力成本

伊拉克的医疗保健系统曾经是被中东各国所羡慕的。 1990年以前, 妇女在怀孕或分娩过程中的死亡率是十万分之一百一十七。   但由于多年的战争、经济匮乏和当前的暴力冲突,2004年妇女在怀孕或分娩过程中的死亡率是十万分之一百九十三。

巴格达大学护理学院助理教授、雷拉.法克.阿布.瑞赫夫博士说:“因为害怕路上被卷入暴力冲突,很多孕妇都不愿去妇产和婴儿保健中心。 有些时候,医生只有在孕妇要进产房了,或是孕妇因严重并发症被送到医院时,才第一次见到她们。 

像雷拉博士这样的卫生保健工作者决心捍卫伊拉克孕妇的权益,联合国儿童基金会也会在那里帮助她们。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ03-0020/Noorani
卫生员正在给一位母亲讲解母乳喂养新生儿的最好方法。

加强母婴关系

联合国儿童基金会与世界卫生组织和联合国人口基金会一起,正在伊拉克重建遍布全国的数百个妇产婴儿保健中心。他们还提供了包括儿科静脉注射业液和生命攸关药品在内的医疗物资,以提高儿童的成活率。

一项由联合国儿童基金会支助的国家项目,用叶酸和铁等增强家用面粉的营养成分,有助于提高健康和安全怀孕。

为了能够给伊拉克的新生儿提供更高质量的护理,本周联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织启动一项提高全国范围内数百名医生、护士和助产士技能的培训活动。
雷拉博士说:“对新生儿的照料是形成人类坚强的母婴关系纽带的起点。如温暖、清洁、母乳喂养和爱都可以大大有助于减少伊拉克儿童每年死亡人数。”

产前保健先行

联合国儿童基金会卫生部门主任亚历山大.玛利亚文博士说,即使在目前的条件下,改善伊拉克的母亲与婴儿的保健服务仍然必须是一个国家的优先任务。

他说:“不管我们所听到和看到的是什么样的新闻, 大多数伊拉克孕妇依然想到保健中心做产前检查,她们不畏环境,要为她们的婴儿争取得到最好的照顾。 我们一定要支持她们,及那些仍致力于帮助她们的医生和护士。”

对于像娜萨一样的母亲来说,这些服务就是生命线。 娜萨说:“我做检查时,医生和护士测量胎儿的成长情况,给我服用补养品,并教我有关母乳喂养和免疫计划的知识。 我希望伊拉克能有更多的孕妇得到这样的保健服务,那伊拉克就会有更多的健康宝宝出生。”


 

 

搜索

Iraq

Improving antenatal care for mothers and newborns in Iraq

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ03-0019/Noorani
A baby being weighed on a UNICEF-supplied paediatric scale during a growth-monitoring session at the out-patient department of the Basra Maternity and Paediatric Hospital.

By Claire Hajaj

AMMAN, Jordan, 30 January 2007 – For Nadtha, 21, her last few months of pregnancy were an anxious time. With one toddler demanding attention and another baby on the way, Nadtha was worried about how she would cope with the demands of her growing family. She wanted to be reassured that the delivery would go smoothly and that her baby would be healthy.

Many young mothers share Nadtha’s fears. However, she is facing more than most mothers have to deal with. The current environment in Iraq has turned giving birth into an often dangerous experience for women. 

With hundreds of doctors and nurses having fled to safer areas, thousands of women are in turn finding it harder to access the antenatal care services that are critical to keeping themselves and their babies healthy.

“Most women know that they must go to the doctor during pregnancy to get good care and advice, particularly if it is their first baby,” said Nadtha. “But there are not enough doctors to care for all the pregnant women in my community.”

Hidden cost of violence

Iraq’s medical care used to be the envy of the Middle East. Before 1990, a woman’s chance of dying during pregnancy or delivery in Iraq was 117 per 100,000 live births. But due to years of war, economic deprivation and the current violence, the rate as of 2004 was 193 per 100,000.

“Many pregnant women are reluctant to travel to maternal and newborn health centres because they are afraid of being caught up in violence,” said Dr. Leila Fakhir Abu Ragheef, Assistant Professor at the College of Nursing, University of Baghdad. “Some doctors see the mothers for the first time only when she is admitted to the delivery room or when expectant mothers are brought to the hospital with serious complications.” 

Health care providers such as Dr. Leila are determined to take a stand for Iraq’s pregnant women – and UNICEF is there to help them.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ03-0020/Noorani
A health worker counsels a mother about the best way to breastfeed her newborn.

Strengthening mother-child bonds

Together with the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Population Fund, UNICEF is rebuilding hundreds of maternal and newborn health centres across the country. In addition, they are delivering critical medical supplies – including paediatric IVs and vital drugs – to improve the odds of child survival.

A UNICEF-supported national programme is also fortifying household flour with folic acid and iron, essential nutrients that increase the prospects of a healthy, safe pregnancy. 

This week, UNICEF and WHO launched a training campaign to improve the abilities of hundreds of doctors, nurses and midwives throughout the country to provide a higher quality of care to Iraq’s newborn babies.

“Newborn care is the starting point for the strong human bonding between the mother and the baby,” said Dr. Leila. “Simple things like warmth, cleanliness, breastfeeding and love can significantly help to reduce the number of Iraqi children who die each year.”

Antenatal care at the forefront

UNICEF Chief of Health, Dr. Alexander Malyavin, said that improving care for Iraq’s mothers and newborns must remain a national priority, even under the current conditions.

“Despite what we hear and see on the news, most pregnant women in Iraq still want to come to health centres for antenatal care,” he said. “They are defying the circumstances to get the best possible care for their babies. We must support them and the dedicated doctors and nurses who are still determined to help them.”

For mothers like Nadtha, these services are a lifeline.  “During my check-ups, the doctors and nurses monitored my baby’s growth, gave me tonics and taught me about breastfeeding and immunization,” she said. “I wish more mothers could have this kind of care, so that more babies can be born healthy in Iraq.”


 

 

New enhanced search