UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

印度尼西亚

在印度尼西亚受到2004年海啸重创的地区,对儿童抗灾能力的投资取得了长期成效

© UNICEF Video
“印度尼西亚向世界证明了如何在灾难之后重建更好的生活,加强在紧急人道主义事件中对儿童的保护。”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在最近一次对2004年印度洋大海啸中受到严重影响地区的访问中说道。  下载视频

 

迈克尔.克劳斯(Michael Klaus)报道

印度尼西亚班达亚齐(BANDA ACEH),2014年3月4日 —— 当位于印度尼西亚西端的亚齐省经历印度洋大海啸时,卡特.阿德利亚(Cut Adelia)尚未出生。但是与阿德利亚的会面,让人能够目睹在2004年12月26日的海啸摧毁了亚齐大部分地区之后,包括沙璜岛(Sabang)在内的大范围救灾工作的长期成果。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2014/Estey
2月28日,一名学生欢迎联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克来到班达亚齐的努尔胡达(Nurul Huda)儿童早期发展中心。儿基会在海啸后的初期响应中建立了这家机构,作为临时学校使用。

2011年,卡特.阿德利亚得了疟疾。这可能是沙璜岛的最后一个本土病例。疟疾曾是亚齐患病率最高的疾病之一。

灾难过后,“重建更好的生活”

印度洋海啸是人们记忆中最严重的灾难之一,波及9个国家。仅在亚齐省就造成约17万人死亡。

这次海啸引发了联合国儿童基金会最大的紧急行动之一,得到了各方资助。联合国儿童基金会国家委员会捐款3.28亿美元。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克最近访问了班达亚齐和沙璜岛,以了解以“重建得更好”为原则的恢复和重建成果,以及该省在降低灾难风险(DRR)*方面的投资情况。雷克先生与联合国儿童基金会美国基金会主席皮特.拉姆(Peter Lamm)及联合国儿童基金会日本委员会副主席藤后义久(Yoshihisa Togo)一同进行了访问。这两个委员会在海啸之后的捐款最多。

在联合国儿童基金会及其它合作伙伴的支持下,印度尼西亚在应急准备和降低灾难风险方面进行了大量投资。目标是定期降低自然灾害对超过17500座岛屿组成的群岛所产生的风险。这些项目包括通过整合免疫、产检、疟疾控制及其它卫生干预措施加强本国的卫生系统,培养儿童及其家人的恢复能力。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2014/Estey
在访问沙璜岛期间,雷克先生参与了一项疟疾测试。“多亏了这些项目,沙璜岛儿童不再受到疟疾威胁。我们需要利用这些经验教训,在印度尼西亚及其它国家的疟疾多发地区复制沙璜的成功案例。”他说。

消除疟疾

消除沙璜岛的疟疾是一项巨大成就,这得益于包括高效疟疾控制在内的综合卫生项目。该项目最初通过海啸救灾基金资助。

联合国儿童及合作伙伴选择沙璜岛作为一个定点项目的起点。此项目的最终目的是消除印度尼西亚的疟疾。活动包括进行广泛的室内滞留喷洒,大规模分发以长效杀虫剂处理的蚊帐,定位确诊的疟疾病例以及策略改变,即将基于青蒿素的组合疗法(ACT)作为无并发症病例的一线治疗方法。

目标是通过消除寄生虫本身来消除疟疾爆发的危险。高度的政治承诺、通过系统血液筛查的有效监测以及社区参与共同促进了成功。

发病率从2004年的每1000居民约88例染病下降到2011年的每1000人少于1例。

“多亏了这些项目,疟疾再也不能夺去沙璜岛儿童的生命。我们需要利用这些经验教训,在印度尼西亚及及其它国家的疟疾多发地区复制沙璜的成功案例。”雷克先生在看望卡特.阿德利亚及其家人时说道。

寄生虫再次出现仍然是一个持续威胁。就在雷克先生访问沙璜岛的前两天,一名来自班达亚齐的游人在沙璜岛的一所医疗中心被诊断出患有疟疾。志愿卫生工作者们挨家挨户收集血液样本,在确保沙璜3万居民远离疟疾的工作中继续发挥着重要作用。

持续建设学校

与此同时,政府在降低灾难风险方面的投资还包括紧急教育和数百所抗震学校的建设。其中约300所学校位于亚齐省和尼亚斯的北苏门答腊岛上,在海啸之后三个月遭受了大地震,现在已在联合国儿童基金会的支持下重建。

班达亚齐的穆罕默德迪亚(Muhammadiyah)小学被海啸完全摧毁。在就读于这所学校的约300名学生中,只有17人幸免于难。穆罕默德迪亚是在班达亚齐重建的第一所永久性学校,根据可承受最高里氏8.0级地震的安全标准建造。新建学校的教室通风条件好,出口宽敞。建筑物建造在高架平台上,可避免在雨季遭受洪灾。

2013年,一场里氏6.7级的地震几乎未使学校墙壁上出现一条裂痕。

雷克先生亲自观看了在穆罕默德迪亚小学开展的一项常规紧急演习,演习内容包括急救培训及歌唱帮助牢记地震求生注意事项的歌曲。“如果学校没有以这种方式重建,那么这里的一些儿童今天可能就不会活着了。”他说。

儿童是降低灾难风险的核心

雷克先生与印度尼西亚政府在雅加达开展了讨论,其中一个主要话题便是从海啸吸取的经验教训。他向外交部长拉登.穆罕默德.马蒂.穆里亚纳.纳塔莱加瓦(Raden Mohammad Marty Muliana Natalegawa)对印度尼西亚在降低灾难风险事业方面的投资表示祝贺,强调联合国儿童基金会将继续与该国政府合作,在印度尼西亚及其它国家充分利用从海啸后重建工作中获得的知识。“印度尼西亚已经向世界展示了如何在灾难过后重建得更好,以加强儿童免受人道主义紧急情况影响的保护。”他说。

在谈及印度尼西亚在海啸过后几年内的强劲经济增长势头时,他强调了将儿童作为降低灾难风险和发展议程的核心以及确保儿童从工作进展中受益的需要。

“投资于儿童,投资于儿童的教育、健康及保护,不能只看作是经济增长的好处。”他说,“这是增长的驱动因素。如果下一代儿童,尤其是最弱势儿童,不能接受良好教育、不能保持身体健康,那你们又如何有一个健康的经济和社会呢?”

*降低灾难风险以假设没有“自然”灾难、只有自然灾害为前提,旨在通过道德预防手段降低由地震、洪水、干旱和飓风造成的危害。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影: 灾后90天(儿基会在海啸后的响应工作)

搜索

At a glance: Indonesia

In areas of Indonesia hit hard by the 2004 tsunami, investment in children’s resilience yields long-term results

© UNICEF Video
"Indonesia has shown the world how to build back better after disasters to strengthen children's protection from the impact of humanitarian emergencies," said UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake during his visit to some of the areas hit hardest by the 2004 tsunami.  Download this video

 

By Michael Klaus

BANDA ACEH, Indonesia, 4 March 2014 – Cut Adelia had not even been born, when the Indian Ocean tsunami hit Aceh province in Indonesia’s far west. But to meet Cut Adelia is to catch a glimpse of the long-term outcomes of the massive relief effort that followed – after the tsunami devastated large parts of Aceh, including her home of Sabang island, on 26 December 2004.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2014/Estey
On 28 February, a student welcomes UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake to Nurul Huda early childhood development centre in Banda Aceh. UNICEF built this facility as a temporary school during the early post-tsunami response.

In 2011, Cut Adelia had malaria. It would be the last indigenous case in Sabang, which had once had one of the highest rates of the disease in Aceh.

After devastation, ‘building back better’

The Indian Ocean tsunami was one of the worst disasters in living memory. It affected nine countries. It killed about 170,000 people in Aceh province, alone.

The tsunami triggered one of UNICEF’s largest emergency operations, funded by a variety of donors. UNICEF National Committees contributed US$328 million.

UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake recently visited Banda Aceh and Sabang to learn about the results of recovery and reconstruction based on the principle of ‘building back better’, as well as the province’s investment in disaster risk reduction (DRR)*. Mr. Lake was joined by Chair of the U.S. Fund for UNICEF Peter Lamm and Vice-Chair of the Japanese Committee for UNICEF Yoshihisa Togo. Both Committees had been among the biggest donors after the tsunami.

With support from UNICEF and other partners, Indonesia invested heavily in emergency preparedness and DRR. The goal was to reduce risks that stem from the natural hazards that affect the archipelago of more than 17,500 islands on a regular basis. Programmes included strengthening the country’s health system by integrating immunization, antenatal care, malaria control and other health interventions that build the resilience of children and their families.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2014/Estey
Mr. Lake participates in a malaria test during his visit to Sabang island. “Thanks to these programmes, children are no longer lost to malaria in Sabang. We need to build on these lessons and replicate the Sabang success story in other malaria-prone areas in Indonesia and beyond,” he said.

Eliminating malaria

The elimination of malaria in Sabang is an enormous achievement made possible thanks to an integrated health programme that includes highly effective malaria control. The programme was originally financed through tsunami relief funds.

UNICEF and partners selected Sabang island as the starting point for a targeted programme whose ultimate aim is to eliminate malaria in Indonesia. Activities included extensive indoor residual spraying, large-scale distribution of nets treated with long-lasting insecticide, mapping of confirmed malaria cases, and a change in policy towards artemisinin-based combination therapy (ACT) as first-line treatment for uncomplicated cases.

The aim was to eliminate the danger of malaria outbreaks by eradicating the parasite, itself. A combination of high-level political commitment, effective surveillance through systematic blood screening, and community involvement made the success possible.

The incidence decreased from almost 88 infections per 1,000 inhabitants in 2004 to less than 1 case per 1,000 in 2011.

“Thanks to these programmes, children are no longer lost to malaria in Sabang. We need to build on these lessons and replicate the Sabang success story in other malaria-prone areas in Indonesia and beyond,” said Mr. Lake, who visited Cut Adelia and her family.

Reintroduction of the parasite remains a constant threat. Just two days before Mr. Lake’s trip to the island, a visitor from Banda Aceh had been diagnosed with malaria in one of Sabang’s health centres. Going door to door to collect blood samples, volunteer health workers or ‘kaders’ continue to play an important role in ensuring Sabang, with its 30,000 inhabitants, remain malaria free.

Building schools built to last

Meanwhile, the government’s investment in DRR includes emergency education and the construction of hundreds of earthquake-resistant schools. About 300 of these schools, in Aceh province and on the North Sumatran island of Nias, which was hit by a major earthquake three months after the tsunami, have been built with support from UNICEF.

Muhammadiyah primary school, in Banda Aceh, was completely destroyed by the tsunami. Only 17 pupils survived the disaster of the some 300 who had attended the school. Muhammadiyah was the first permanent school rebuilt in Banda Aceh, based on safety standards to withstand earthquakes of up to 8.0 on the Richter scale. The new schools have well-ventilated classrooms with wide exit doors. The buildings are built on an elevated platform to prevent flooding during the rainy season. 

In 2013, an earthquake of 6.7 on the Richter scale left hardly a scar on the school walls.

Mr. Lake witnessed one of the regular emergency drills at Muhammadiyah school, which include training in first aid and songs to remember what needs to be done when the earth starts to shake. “Some of the children here probably wouldn’t be alive today if their school hadn’t been rebuilt that way,” he said.

Children at the heart of DRR

One key topic of Mr. Lake’s discussions with the Government of Indonesia, in Jakarta, was lessons learned from the tsunami. He congratulated Foreign Minister Raden Mohammad Marty Muliana Natalegawa for the country’s investment in DRR, stressing that UNICEF will continue to work with the Government to leverage knowledge gained from the post-tsunami reconstruction work, in Indonesia and other countries. “Indonesia has shown the world how to build back better after disasters to strengthen children’s protection from the impact of humanitarian emergencies,” he said.

Referring to Indonesia’s strong economic growth in the years after the tsunami, he highlighted the need to put children at the heart of the DRR and development agenda and to ensure that all children benefit from the progress.

“Investment in children, in their education, health and protection, should not just be seen as a dividend of economic growth,” he said. “It is a driver of growth. If the next generation of children, especially the most disadvantaged, are not well educated and healthy, how will you have a healthy economy and society?”

*Following the premise that there are no ‘natural’ disasters, only natural hazards, DRR aims to reduce the damage caused by such natural hazards as earthquakes, floods, droughts and cyclones through an ethic of prevention.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: 90 days after: UNICEF response to the tsunami

New enhanced search