印度尼西亚

印度尼西亚传统接生员和助产士合作共促妇女健康

UNICEF Photo: a Traditional Birth Attendant in Indonesia
© UNICEF Indonesia/2008
27岁的诺丽(左)和她的新生双胞胎男孩与印度尼西亚传统接生员珊洛.诺玛在一起。

印度尼西亚苏拉威西岛,2008年4月9日。约97位印度尼西亚妇女中就有一位死于分娩或死于与妊娠有关的并发症。值得庆幸的是,现年27岁的四个孩子的母亲诺丽,由于得到了当地医疗中心的及时救治而活了下来。

前几天,诺丽骄傲地抱着她的双胞胎新生儿和传统接生员(TBA)珊洛.诺玛亲切地交谈。作为传统接生员,诺玛女士在她家中给诺丽的前两个孩子接生。但给双胞胎接生要冒很大的风险,所以诺玛女士带着诺丽来到了位于南苏拉威西省的盖勒松医疗中心,以便借助医院的专业人士安全地接生这对婴儿。

“当听到我们要在医疗中心而不是在家里分娩的通知后,我们决定,临产时,我们就到最近的医疗中心寻求专业的帮助,”诺丽说。诺丽的丈夫是一名渔民,当双胞胎降生时,他出海不在家。

过去,同数百万的印度尼西亚母亲一样,诺丽只能靠接生员帮助接生。在今天的印度尼西亚,大约40%的分娩只靠传统接生员帮助。这种做法是该国产妇死亡率高的主要原因,使之成为该地区产妇死亡率最高的国家之一。

为孕产妇的健康而携手

2007年,‘改善印度尼西亚产妇医疗’项目带动了当地助产士和传统接生员的合作。

区政府和联合国儿童基金会为两组人士组织了一次会议,该会议分享大家对孕产妇死亡率和保证共同合作的关注。

根据协议,这些传统接生员的角色,包括背诵祈祷文,提供草药饮料,并提供产后服务,都将保持不变。但是,所有的医疗工作,将被移交给助产士,他们也同意从他们自己的报酬里支付费用给传统接生员。

积极的影响

现在,在盖勒松近100%的分娩都是在医疗机构助产士的帮助下进行的,这种新的合作已经起到了推动作用,并对社区产生了积极的影响。

“在合作关系确立前,助产士和传统接生员总是争抢客户,”联合国儿童基金会驻南苏拉威西省医疗干事威利.库姆勒博士解释道。“现在,他们为挽救母亲的生命而共同努力。传统接生员是社区的一部分,并提供了诸如心理和精神支持等重要的服务,所以这种合作关系,是旨在为尊重当地的价值观并寻求双赢的解决方案。”

全国有近350个区,其中有不少是偏远地区,要挽救印尼的母亲生命,仍有很多工作要做。

联合国儿童基金会正在与遍布全岛的近30个地方政府一道努力,以培训更多的助产士,并鼓励社区统筹安排,以寻求专业的产妇医疗保健。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Indonesia

Traditional Birth Attendants and midwives partner for women’s health in Indonesia

UNICEF Image: a Traditional Birth Attendant in Indonesia
© UNICEF Indonesia/2008
Noni (left), 27, with her newborn twin boys and Sanro Nurma, a Traditional Birth Attendant in Indonesia.

SULAWESI, Indonesia, 9 April 2008 – Approximately 1 in 97 women in Indonesia will die during childbirth or because of complications related to pregnancy. Thankfully, Noni, a 27-year-old mother of four, is alive and well due to proper medical treatment from her local health centre.

One recent day, Noni was proudly holding her newborn twin boys while making friendly conversation with Sanro Nurma, a Traditional Birth Attendant (TBA). As a TBA, Ms. Nurma delivered Noni’s previous two children in her home. But giving birth to twins involves some serious risks, so Ms. Nurma brought Noni to the Galesong Health Centre in South Sulawesi in orderto deliver the babies safely with the help of hospital professionals.

“After hearing an announcement that we should give birth at a health centre, not at home, we decided that we would go to the nearest health centre to seek professional help when the time to deliver came,” said Noni, whose husband, a fisherman, was away at sea when the twins were born.

In the past, like millions of other Indonesian mothers, Noni would have relied on a birth attendant alone to assist her during birth. Approximately 40 per cent of deliveries in Indonesia today are assisted only by TBAs. This practice is the predominant contributing factor to the country’s high maternal mortality rate – one of the highest in the region.

Uniting for maternal health

In 2007, a joint partnership between local midwives and TBAs was spearheaded by the ‘Improving Maternal Health in Indonesia’ programme.

A meeting was organized by the district government and UNICEF for the two groups to share their concerns about maternal mortality and to pledge to work together.

Under the agreement, the traditional roles of TBAs, which include reciting prayers, providing herbal drinks and providing postpartum care, would remain intact. However, all the medical procedures would be handed over to the midwives, who also agreed to pay the birth attendants’ fees out of their own compensation.

A positive impact

With close to 100 per cent of the deliveries in Galesong now being assisted by midwives at a health facility, this new partnership is already gaining traction and having a positive impact on the community.

“Before the partnership was established, midwives and TBAs would compete for clients,” explained UNICEF Health Officer in South Sulawesi Dr. Willy Kumulur. “Now they are working together to save mothers’ lives. TBAs are part of the community and provide important services like psychological and spiritual support, so the partnership aims to respect local values and seek win-win solutions.”

With nearly 350 districts, many of which are remotely located, there is still much work to be done to save the lives of Indonesian mothers.

UNICEF is working with nearly 30 local governments across the archipelago to train more midwives and to encourage the community as a whole to seek professional maternal health care.


 

 

New enhanced search