印度尼西亚

保护班达亚齐孤儿和弱势儿童的基本权利

UNICEF Photo
© International Development Law Organization
在班达亚齐,流动法庭在奖励海啸致孤儿童监护人和护理人员合法身份前召开听证会。

伊芙.素散缇报道

印度尼西亚班达亚齐,2008年1月11日。2004年班达亚齐的提帮村被地震和随后发生的海啸摧毁。许多儿童在灾难中成了孤儿,从此和亲戚生活在一起。

2007年5月,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴国际发展法律组织着手改善为受海啸影响,失去父母的儿童提供法律保护的工作。最近,18位亚齐男女来到新的社区中心。在那里他们被宣布成为在灾难中失去父母的儿童的合法监护人。到目前为止,155个家庭得到了监护人的证明。

“女士们,先生们,你们已经被授予承担照顾这些孤儿的光荣任务,”祖贝鞑.哈努姆法官宣布。

哈努姆法官解释道法律监护人必须以照顾儿童利益的承诺为荣,确保他们接受良好的教育和卫生保健。例如,法律监护人身份允许成年人获得儿童的遗产但是监护人可能因涉嫌滥用财产而被起诉。

许多儿童仍处在易受伤害的境地

在班达亚齐有将近2800名孤儿和弱势的儿童,2004年以来,有1300多名已经和最初照顾儿童的人组成了新的家庭。

如何保护本社区失去父母的儿童,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴国际发展法律组织,已经对监护人、护理人员和村长进行了培训。

自从蜜塔哈.吉楠在海啸中失去了父母和三个手足,艾努尔.麦特妲赫一直照顾她的这位12岁的侄女。麦特妲赫女士参加了法庭的听证会,被裁定为监护人身份。

“对这种服务我感到很高兴,” 麦特妲赫女士说。“最重要的是,我丈夫也很有同情心。他对待蜜塔哈就像对待我们另外五个孩子一样。我们努力给她我们负担得起的最好的教育。”和当地政府,非政府组织一起,联合国儿童基金会已经起草了一个儿童保护法规。在不久的将来,当法规生效时,在海啸中失去亲人的亚齐儿童的权利就能确实地受到法律的保护。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Indonesia

Protecting the basic rights of orphaned and vulnerable children in Banda Aceh

UNICEF Image
© International Development Law Organization
In Banda Aceh, a mobile court carries out hearings before awarding legal status to guardians or caregivers for children who were orphaned by the tsunami.

By Ivy Susanti

BANDA ACEH, Indonesia, 11 January 2008 ─ In 2004, Tibang Village in Banda Aceh was devastated by the earthquake and subsequent tsunami. Many children were orphaned in the disaster and have been living with relatives or extended families ever since.
 
In May 2007, UNICEF and their partner International Development Law Organization started working on improving the legal protection afforded to tsunami-affected children without parental care. Recently, eighteen Acehnese men and women gathered at their new community centre where they were declared legal guardians of children who lost their parents during the disaster. So far, 155 families have received proof of guardianship.

“Ladies and gentlemen, you have been entrusted with the noble task to take care of the orphans,” said judge Zubaedah Hanoum.

Judge Hanoum explained that legal guardians must honour their commitment to look after a child’s welfare by ensuring a good education and health care. For example, legal guardianship status permits an adult to access the child’s inheritance but a guardian could stand trial for suspected misuse of this wealth.

Many children still vulnerable 

There are approximately 2,800 orphaned and vulnerable children which have been identified in Banda Aceh. More than 1,300 of have been reunited with their primary caregivers since 2004.

UNICEF’s partner, the International Development Law Organization, has trained guardians, caregivers and village leaders to protect children without parental care in the community.

Ainul Matdhiah has been caring for her 12-year-old niece, Miftahul Jinan, since she lost her parents and three siblings in the tsunami. Ms. Matdhiah attended a court hearing and was awarded guardianship status.

“I am pleased with this service,” Ms. Matdhiah said. “Most important of all, my husband is also sympathetic. He gives Miftahul the same treatment as our own five children. We will try to give her the best education we can afford.”

Together with the local authority and the other non-governmental organizations, UNICEF has drafted a child protection bylaw. When the bylaw takes effect in the future, Acehnese children who lost loved ones during the tsunami can rest assured that their rights are legally protected.


 

 

New enhanced search