印度尼西亚

海啸以后的一个里程碑:亚齐和尼亚斯已建或在建的一百所新学校

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2007/Stechert
SDN96是海啸以后由联合国儿童基金会在印尼亚齐和尼亚斯支助并建成的14所永久性学校之一。

安娜.斯戴彻特报道

印尼亚齐和尼亚斯2007年5月7日 - 最近,班达亚齐的市长玛瓦蒂.诺丁在白托拉曼的纽苏亚齐社区为SDN96小学揭幕 - 至此已经达到自2004年12月海啸摧毁该地区教育设施以后建成或正在兴建的一百所新学校的里程碑。

SDN96是联合国儿童基金会将在班达亚齐支助兴建的第四所学校,在北苏门答腊岛亚齐省和尼亚斯岛兴建的第14所学校。目前还有86所学校正在建设中。

SDN96小学所有的130名学生和16名教师与家长、社区成员、教育部官员以及其它地区学校的校长参加了庆祝典礼。 他们一起倾听五年级学生阿童朗诵一首关于新的亮蓝色学校的诗。 他们观看了传统的“飘斯竹克(Peusijuk)”仪式,这意味着带来好运,并将邪恶挡在楼外。

他们还一起观看联合国儿童基金会驻亚齐和尼亚斯的现场办公室主任埃都阿德.贝伯德将一把巨大的蓝钥匙交给SDN96的校长,象征着开启这所拥有两层新楼六间教室的学校。

爱幼与防震

贝伯德先生说:“我们走了很长的一段路才迎来了这一重要的时刻,我衷心欢迎大家来到你们的新学校,我希望大家能够积极地维护并使用学校的各项设施,这样今后的学生能够继续拥有一个美好的学习场所。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Indonesia/2007/Stechert
在亚齐伯萨的SDN缪纳萨涂同学校,学生们庆祝他们的新爱幼抗震学校的启用。

像联合国儿童基金会的所有学校一样,SDN96是一所爱幼学校,并且设计上考虑到一定程度的防震因素。 建造整个学校花费大约16万美元,还包括老师的办公室、图书馆、操场、卫生间及许多其它设施。

2004年12月26日海啸引发的地震摧毁了学校原来的教学楼,残垣断壁第二年被拆除。 灾后老师和学生们在联合国儿童基金会援助的急救帐篷里上课,然后搬入该组织提供的两个半永久性学校单位,直到永久学校落成。

伊布.贺琳校长说:“联合国儿童基金会自地震以后一直帮助SDN96小学的学生,一步步改善他们的学习环境和生活。 整个社区都为我们的新学校而感到骄傲。”

现在那两个半永久性学校单位将分别成为幼儿园和社区中心。

“更高的安全标准”

联合国儿童基金会正计划在亚齐和尼亚斯建设367个学校单位。在今后的几个月内,将有很多设施开始启用。通过与爱幼且防震的学校开展“重建得更好”项目,联合国儿童基金会要在学校的建设上设更新更高的标准。

联合国儿童基金会驻印度尼西亚代表詹佛朗蔻.罗提连诺博士说:“在这些地震易发区建立拥有更高安全标准的学校非常重要。 在质量上不能妥协。”

2006年中期,联合国儿童基金会成立了自己的建筑单位,监督永久性学校项目。 根据印度尼西亚政府批准的协议,联合国儿童基金会的实施合作伙伴 - 联合国项目服务办公室,将建造170所学校。Nippon-Koei和Bita这两个设计和监理公司将分别建67所学校 - 包括在亚齐受武装冲突影响长达32年之久的地区的设施。

在学校建设过程中,联合国儿童基金会积极鼓励社区的参与,从选址和设计到由当地居民长期管理和维护学校。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Indonesia

A post-tsunami milestone: 100 new schools built or under construction in Aceh and Nias

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2007/Stechert
SDN 96 is one of 14 permanent schools completed since the tsunami with UNICEF’s support in Aceh and Nias, Indonesia.

By Anna K. Stechert

ACEH AND NIAS, Indonesia, 7 May 2007 – The mayor of Banda Aceh, Mawardi Nurdin, recently opened SDN 96 Primary School in the community of Neusu Aceh, Baiturrahman – thereby reaching a milestone of 100 new schools either completed or under construction since the December 2004 tsunami devasted the education infrastructure in this region.

SDN 96 is the fourth school in Banda Aceh and the 14th school overall in Aceh Province and Nias Island, North Sumatra to be completed with UNICEF’s support. Eighty-six more schools are under construction.

All 130 students and 16 teachers at SDN 96 joined the celebration, along with parents, community members, Ministry of Education officials and principals from other area schools. Together, they listened to Atun, a fifth-grade student, reciting a poem about her new bright-blue school. They saw the traditional ‘peusijuk’ ceremony, which is meant to bring good luck and keep bad spirits away from the building.

And together, they watched as UNICEF’s Chief of Field Office in Aceh and Nias, Edouard Beigbeder, handed a giant blue key to the principal of SDN 96 to symbolically unlock the new two-story, six-classroom school.

Child-friendly and quake-resistant

“We have come a long way together to reach this important moment,” said Mr. Beigbeder. “I sincerely welcome you to your new school, and I encourage you to be actively involved in its maintenance and use, so that many generations in the future can continue to have a beautiful space to learn in.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Indonesia/2007/Stechert
The students of SDN Meunasah Teutong in Aceh Besar celebrate the opening of their new child-friendly and earthquake-resistant school.

Like all UNICEF schools, SDN 96 is child-friendly with a degree of earthquake resistance factored into its design. The facility, which cost approximately $160,000 to build, also includes a teachers’ office, a library, a courtyard where students can play and separate toilets for boys and girls, among many other features.

The orginal school building was badly damaged by the 26 December 2004 earthquake that triggered the tsunami; it had to be demolished the following year. Teachers and students held classes in UNICEF emergency tents after the disaster and later moved into two semi-permanent school units provided by UNICEF until the permanent school was completed.

“UNICEF has been helping the students of SDN 96 since the earthquake, and with every step improved their learning environment and thus their lives,” said Principal Ibu Hurin. “The whole community is very proud of our new school.”

The two semi-permanent units will now be used as a kindergarten and a community centre.

’Higher levels of safety’

UNICEF is planning to build a total of 367 school units in Aceh and Nias, with more set to open in the coming months. The organization is committed to setting new and higher standards in school construction by ‘building back better’ with schools that are earthquake-resistant and child-friendly.

“It is important that we build schools with higher levels of safety in these areas so prone to earthquakes,” said UNICEF Representative in Indonesia Dr. Gianfranco Rotigliano. “There can be no compromise on this quality issue”.

In mid-2006, UNICEF established its own Construction Unit to oversee the permanent school project. Under an agreement approved by the Government of Indonesia, UNICEF’s implementing partner, the United Nations Office for Project Services, will build 170 schools, and two design and supervision companies, Nippon Koei and Bita, are to build 67 schools each – including facilities in areas affected by Aceh’s 32-year-long armed conflict.

UNICEF actively promotes community participation throughout the school construction process, from site selection and design to long-term school management and maintenance by local residents.


 

 

New enhanced search