印度

新医疗中心帮助印度应对婴儿高死亡率问题

中央邦的儿童营养不良患病率很高,这是母亲高度营养不良、儿童出生后最初两年的喂养不当及儿童生存环境中高传染病率共同作用所造成的后果;许多儿童患营养不良症是由粮食危机、家庭贫困及缺乏母婴基本服务所致。”

—— 维克多.阿克雅 (Victor Aguayo),联合国儿童基金会驻印度营养和发展主任

普里扬卡.普鲁第(Priyanka Pruthi)报道

印度中央邦(MADHYA PRADESH),2013年2月4日 —— 在希沃布里(Shivpuri)地区医院的新生儿特护室中,一名儿童呼吸急促。她是一名早产儿,出生时十分虚弱,体重仅705克,还不到正常体重的一半。

© UNICEF VIDEO
贫困、粮食安全和营养不良席卷印度中央邦,导致大量儿童死亡,令人触目惊心。联合国儿童基金会通讯员普里扬卡.普鲁第报道为提高儿童生存机会而付出的努力。 在Realplayer中播放

她的父母焦急万分 —— 却只能在门外期盼好消息,他们祈祷自己的女儿能够挺过来。

他们还没来得及为她取名。几个小时过后,他们发现已经再也没有机会了。

婴儿死亡率

中央邦是印度第二大邦,矿产资源丰富,钻石储量居全国之首。此外,它还是印度主要小麦出口地区之一。然而,广袤无限的地域基本上看不到任何“发展”,粮食也做不到自给自足。许多农村社区仍然缺乏安全的饮用水、环境卫生设施和公共交通。

在被贫困和粮食问题困扰的中央邦,挽救低体重新生儿的战斗往往以失败告终。中央邦的婴儿死亡率居全国之首。

提供便利的医疗服务

在中央邦农村地区,缺少医院和医疗中心,偏远地区求医问药困难重重,使得该邦陷入医疗服务危机。邦政府及联合国儿童基金会正通过建立连接农村社区与地区医院的医疗设施链,在没有医疗中心的地区开设医疗中心,努力扭转局面。

希沃布里区是该邦最大的区之一,医疗服务形势严峻。希沃布里区前收款员约翰.金斯利(John Kingsly)称,“在联合国儿童基金会的技术支持下,我们已经开设了医疗中心分院和孕妇分娩点。”这一举措在邦内某些地区收效显著,如科哈慈(Chharch)。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2012/Pruthi
在印度中央邦希沃布里地区医院的产科病房中,一名婴儿睡在妈妈旁边。最近,政府和联合国儿童基金会携手改善医院的基础设施,新增了一个拥有80张床位的产科病房和一个全新的分娩室。

改造地区医院

希沃布里地区医院一度面临缺乏工作人员且技术过时的窘境,现在完成了全新的改造。目前,该医院新增一个新生儿特护室 —— 能够治疗患严重并发症的新生儿重症监护室,还有一个拥有80张床位的产科病房,从私人医院高薪聘请了合格的医生和护士。

该医院还具备一个“7天24小时”全天候呼叫中心,安装了GPS设备的救护车可以为偏远村庄提供服务 —— 患者无需支付任何费用。

这所医院改造至今已有四年,取得了显著的成绩。仅新生儿特护室就挽救了超过6000名儿童的生命。其“随访”系统令特护室独树一帜。

联合国儿童基金会健康专员加甘.古普塔(Gagan Gupta)介绍了该系统中的创新。“今天,随着技术的普及,即使在最偏远的村庄也能够使用移动电话,因此我们开发了短信服务(SMS)系统和跟踪软件。政府为我们提供了数据操作人员,数据操作人员负责记录所有曾经进入新生儿监护室的新生儿的全部信息。他们会定期向这些孩子的父母发送短信,提醒进行体检。社区工作者负责监控儿童在家时的身体状况。到了应该接受医生检查的日期,我们会向曾经的小患者提供免费的交通服务。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2013/Gulati
在希沃布里地区医院新生儿特护室内,一位护士正在为一名婴儿进行体检。这个特护室建立四年以来,已经挽救了约6000名新生儿的生命。

生存的机会

在中央邦,现有39个新生儿特护室提供全天候婴儿护理服务。

在希沃布里地区医院的新生儿特护室内,全身插满管子的婴儿几乎无法移动。其中一些是早产儿,许多婴儿出生时体重很轻。

一些婴儿存活几率渺茫,甚至来不及起名字便已夭折。

但对医疗服务的投资正逐渐改变现状。医生们告诉我们,重症监护室的支持质量至关重要,在正确的时间提供正确的干预措施 —— 一定能够挽救生命。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影:图片报道

搜索

India

New health centres help India battle high infant mortality rates

In the Indian State of Madhya Pradesh, the 'storm' of poverty, food insecurity and malnutrition leads to an alarming number of child deaths. UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi reports on efforts aimed at giving these children a chance at life.

 

Since 1990, the number of children under 5 who die every year, mainly from preventable causes, has reduced by nearly 50 per cent – from 12.6 million in 1990 to 6.6 million in 2012. Roughly 44 per cent of those deaths occur in the first 28 days of life. Although the neonatal mortality rate fell from 33 deaths per 1,000 live births in 1990 to 21 per 1,000 in 2012, still 2.9 million newborn babies died in 2012.

Reducing infant mortality is just one of the 25 achievements we are celebrating as we approach the 25th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) in November. Learn more about the progress we’ve made and what still needs to be done.

“The high levels of child malnutrition seen in Madhya Pradesh are the result of a ‘perfect storm’ for children that associates high levels of malnutrition in mothers, poor child feeding practices in the first two years of life and high levels of infection in children’s environments; for many children, this is compounded by food insecurity and poverty in their households and limited access to basic services for them and their mothers.” -Victor Aguayo, UNICEF India Chief of Nutrition and Development

By Priyanka Pruthi

MADHYA PRADESH, India, 4 February 2013 – A baby takes sharp, rapid breaths at the Special Newborn Care Unit in the Shivpuri District Hospital. Born weak and premature, at 705 grams she weighs less than half of what she should.

It’s a tense time for her parents – left waiting for some good news at the door, they hope and pray that their daughter will make it through. 

They haven’t had the chance to name her yet.  A few hours later, we find out that they never will.

Infant mortality

Madhya Pradesh is the second largest state in India, with rich mineral resources and the largest reserves of diamonds in the country. The state is also among the main exporters of wheat in India. However, its vast expanses often remain untouched by any kind of ‘development’, and its food often doesn’t make its way to the plates of its own people. Many communities in rural areas still lack access to safe drinking water, sanitation facilities and public transport.

In a state plagued by poverty and food insecurity, the battle to save lives of low-birth-weight babies is often lost. Madhya Pradesh has the highest infant mortality rate in the country.

Making healthcare accessible 

Straining hospitals, a dearth of health centres in rural Madhya Pradesh and difficult access to the remotest regions pulled the state into a healthcare crisis. The state government and UNICEF are trying to turn things around by setting up a chain of healthcare facilities linking rural communities to district hospitals, and establishing health centres where there are none.

Shivpuri district is one of the largest in the state, which poses challenges related to access to healthcare. According to former Shivpuri district collector John Kingsly AR, “[W]e have started sub-health centres, and delivery points for pregnant women, with technical support of UNICEF. This has worked very well in interior in areas like Chharch.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2012/Pruthi
A child sleeps by his mother in the maternity ward of the Shivpuri District Hospital, Madhya Pradesh, India. Recently, the government and UNICEF have improved facilities and created an 80-bed maternity ward with a brand new labour room.

Revamping a district hospital

The Shivpuri District Hospital, which struggled with a shortage of staff and outdated technology, has also had a recent makeover. Now, it boasts a Special Newborn Care Unit – an intensive care unit for newborns with severe complications, an 80-bed maternity ward and well-qualified nurses and doctors who have been drawn in from private hospitals through higher salaries.

The hospital also has an impressive 24/7 call centre that services remote villages through its GPS-enabled ambulances – at no cost to patients.

Since the hospital was revamped four years ago, there has been marked progress.  The Special Newborn Care Unit alone has saved more than 6,000 children.  And what has set the unit apart is its ‘follow-up’ system.

UNICEF Health Specialist Gagan Gupta describes the innovations involved in the system. “Now, with technology available, even in the remotest village you have mobile phones, so we have developed an SMS system and tracking software. The government has given us these data operators in all these [newborn care] units who make all the entries of all the patients. They send regular SMS reminders to the parents of the baby for check-ups. And the community workers make sure that they monitor the baby’s condition at home. And whenever the doctor’s examination is due, we provide free transportation for the patient to be brought here.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2013/Gulati
A nurse examines an infant at the Special Newborn Care Unit in the Shivpuri District Hospital. Six thousand newborns have been saved since the unit was established four years ago.

A chance at life

Thirty-nine Special Newborn Care Units are now providing round-the-clock care to babies across Madhya Pradesh.

Hooked up to a myriad of tubes, the infants at the Shivpuri District Hospital’s Special Newborn Care Unit can barely move their muscles. Some were born premature. Many have low birth weight. 

With the odds stacked against them, some will not live to bear a name.

But the investment in healthcare is making a difference. Doctors tell us the quality of support being provided at the intensive care unit is critical, and the right interventions – at the right time – do bring a chance at life.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Photo Essay

New enhanced search