印度

在印度中央邦,提供全天候服务的村医疗保健中心成为成千上万人的生命线

2012年9月,联合国儿童基金会发布了 “致力于儿童生存:重申承诺, 该报告显示,在过去二十年里,五岁以下儿童的死亡人数急剧下降。
点击 这里 了解“重申承诺”的更多信息。

普里扬卡.普鲁第(Priyanka Pruthi)报道

印度中央邦(MADHYA PRADESH),2012年11月1日 —— 当我们来到这个与不毛之地拉贾斯坦邦接壤的科哈慈(Chharch)村时,尽收眼底的是龟裂的大地、万里无云的天空和贫瘠土地上萎蔫的农作物。从最近的小镇希沃布里(Shivpuri)出发,在酷热中行驶在泥路上的两小时车程令人非常难熬 —— 徒步完成这样的旅程是令人难以想象的。

然而,成千上万人生活在这个我们陌生的地区。在这里,公交车难得一见,干净的饮用水是奢侈品,卫生设施尚未建成,村民必须徒步至少40公里去往最近的卫生机构。

© UNICEF VIDEO
视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员普里扬卡.普鲁第报道医疗保健服务如何进入交通最落后的印度地区。 在Realplayer中播放

长路艰难,搭建桥梁

在很难通往城镇和城市的村庄,距离给生命带来巨大风险。太多中央邦的妇女儿童因得不到及时的医疗服务,失去了生命。

现在,在科哈慈,有一个妇幼保健中心为患病的妇女儿童带来一线生机。中央邦政府和联合国儿童基金会于2010年携手共建了该医疗中心,旨在让医疗保健服务进入那些一直处于与世隔绝状态下的社区以及一直未享受到为印度带来诸多机遇的快速经济增长权益的社区。

科哈慈妇幼保健中心每周7天,每天24小时提供医疗服务,有三名助理助产士,提供救护车服务,在医疗机构间接送住院孕妇和儿童,为并发症患者提供转诊服务,最近的医院有75公里路程。

“妇女来这里做定期检查,同时,我们治疗像肺炎、腹泻和疟疾这样的儿童疾病。人们来这里进行初步治疗,如果病情严重,我们会将他们转到地区医院就诊。”助理助产士万寿.米什拉(Manju Mishra)说。

使不可能之事成为可能

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2012/Pruthi
印度中央邦科哈慈村的村民在打井水。在这个与不毛之地拉贾斯坦邦接壤的村庄,干净的饮用水、卫生设施和正常运作的公共交通严重稀缺。

该中心开放之前,在科哈慈及周边社区,一年四季每天24小时都能获得免费医疗服务是不能想像的。

我们在这个保健中心遇见了潘乔.白(Pancho Bai)。就在前晚,她生下了一个女儿 —— 这是她在卫生机构受过培训的接生员的看护下生下第一个孩子。

“以前,如果遇到问题,我们不得不去波利(Pohri)镇。我们必须徒步去找公交车或租一辆拖拉机......真的很难找到交通工具......如果怀孕或带小孩外出,真的很艰难。”她说。

在过去两年里,科哈慈保健中心已为650多名孕妇接生。现在,3万多人的医疗需求依赖于这个保健中心。在这里,电力供应是一个大问题。这里已安装太阳能灯,使这个中心能够夜间维修疫苗存储装置,并应对夜间突发事件。

更多社区的生命线

据报道,印度每10分钟就有一名产妇死亡。该国距实现2015年的“千年发展目标”还很远。但是,像科哈慈妇幼保健中心这样的工作在社会统计中初显成效。多项计划将在越来越多这样的中心开展。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2012/Gulati
在科哈慈妇幼保健中心,助理助产士万寿.米什拉在太阳能灯光下整理病人的文件。该中心为村民提供全天候医疗服务,包括救护车、转院和送往地区医院的服务。

“这是中央邦政府和联合国儿童基金会间的合作。”联合国儿童基金会卫生专家加甘.古普塔(Gagan Gupta)说, “中央邦政府在联合国儿童基金会的技术支持下,正在该邦设立其他这样的中心。我们在该邦设有125个这样的中心,正惠及很多来自边缘化群体的妇女。”

印度的其他地区也正扩大这种医疗服务链模式,其中包括基本妇幼保健服务,妇幼保健中心配备转诊至设有全天候服务医疗中心的大医院的系统。

漫漫长路第一步

潘乔.白坐在她的孩子旁,告诉我们,这种随时的医疗服务是前所未有的。

但是当你在炎炎夏日看到婴儿的皮肤被暴晒时,很难看出她如释重负的样子。温度达110ºF,在病房里,没有风扇或冷却器。

有些新生儿因难以忍受的温度严重脱水,连哭闹的体力都没有了。这是一种令人愤恨的境况。它时刻提醒我们,这个中心的设立只是漫长艰辛的发展过程中最初的一步。


 

 

社交媒体

搜索

India

In the State of Madhya Pradesh, India, an around-the-clock village health centre proves to be a lifeline for thousands

In September 2012, UNICEF released the 2012 Progress Report on Committing to Child Survival: A Promise Renewed. The report shows that the number of children dying before the age of 5 has drastically declined over the past two decades.

Click here for more information on A Promise Renewed.

by Priyanka Pruthi

MADHYA PRADESH, India, 1 November 2012 – Parched earth, cloudless skies and crops wilting on a barren landscape are all the eye can see when we travel to the Chharch village in Madhya Pradesh, bordering the desert State of Rajasthan. The dirt roads and sweltering heat make the two-hour drive from Shivpuri, the closest town, extremely uncomfortable – a journey that’s unimaginable to cover by foot.

Yet, for thousands living in this neglected region, where public buses are a rare sight, where clean drinking water is a luxury and sanitation facilities are yet to be built, there has been no option but to travel at least 40 km to reach the closest health facility.

© UNICEF VIDEO
VIDEO:UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi reports on how healthcare reaches hardest-to-reach India.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Bridging a dangerous distance

Distance is dangerous in villages poorly connected to towns and cities. Too many women and children in Madhya Pradesh have lost their lives because they couldn’t get help in time.

But now, a maternal and child health centre in Chharch is giving them a fighting chance. The centre was set up by the government of Madhya Pradesh and UNICEF in 2010 with the aim of taking healthcare services to the doorstep of communities that have been socially isolated and continue to be untouched by the booming economic growth that has brought so much opportunity to India.

The Chharch Maternal and Child Health Centre runs 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  It’s staffed by three auxiliary nurse midwives and an ambulance service that transports pregnant women and children to and from the facility and takes patients with complications to the nearest referral hospital, 75 km away.

“Women come here for regular check-ups, and we treat children for illnesses like pneumonia, diarrhoea and malaria, as well. People come here for primary treatment, and we refer them to the district hospital if the condition is serious,” says auxiliary nurse midwife Manju Mishra.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2012/Pruthi
Villagers at the Chharch village in Madhya Pradesh, India, draw water from a well. This village, which borders the desert State of Rajasthan, lacks access to clean drinking water, sanitation facilities and effective public transport.

Making the unthinkable possible

Before the centre was opened, the possibility of having free medical assistance on call every minute of the day, every day of the year, had been unthinkable for communities in and around Chharch.

We meet Pancho Bai at the health centre. She has delivered a daughter the night before – her first child to be born at a health facility under the supervision of trained birth attendants. 

“Earlier, if we had a problem, we had to go Pohri town. We had to walk, find a bus or hire a tractor…it was very difficult to find transport…It was very hard to travel if you were pregnant or traveling with children,” she says.

Over the past two years, the Chharch health centre has handled more than 650 deliveries. More than 30,000 people now depend on it for their medical needs. Because electricity supply is a huge problem, solar-powered lights have been installed that allow the centre to maintain vaccination storage units and to attend to emergencies at night.

A lifeline for more communities

With one maternal death reported in India every 10 minutes, the country is still far from achieving the Millennium Development Goals by 2015. But efforts like the Chharch Maternal and Child Health Centre are beginning to make dents in the social statistics. And plans are to roll out more and more such centres.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2012/Gulati
Auxiliary nurse midwife Manju Mishra works on documents for a patient's release by light of a solar-powered lamp at the Chharch Maternal and Child Health Centre. The centre provides 24/7 care for villagers, including both a local ambulance service and referrals and transport to area hospitals.

“This is a partnership between the government of Madhya Pradesh and UNICEF,” explains UNICEF Health Specialist Gagan Gupta. “[The] Government of Madhya Pradesh, with technical support of UNICEF, is setting up other such centres across the State. We have 125 such centres in the State, and a lot of women from the marginalized groups are benefiting from them.”

Other states in India are also scaling up this chain model, which includes a primary maternal and child health service with a referral system for bigger hospitals that have around-the-clock call centres.

First step down a long road

Sitting by her baby, Pancho Bai tells us that the comfort of knowing help is at hand is unparalleled.

But it’s not easy to identify with her sense of relief when you can almost see the brutal summer heat pierce through the baby’s skin. It’s 110º F, and there are no fans or coolers in the ward.

Drained by the unbearable temperature, some of the other newborns have no energy even to cry. It’s an infuriating image, but also a reminder that this centre is a first and much-needed step down a long, desolate road to ‘development’.


 

 

Social media

New enhanced search