印度

联合国儿童基金会培训的少年记者从多角度反映印度农村的社会问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2011/ Crouch
16 岁的鲍莎.玛德哈瑞亚 (Pausha Madharia) 在《Bal Swaraj》(儿童的共和国)报发表了关于童工的文章。该报的发行是联合国儿童基金会在印度恰蒂斯加尔邦开展的“少年记者行动”工作的一部分。

‘2011 年世界儿童状况报告 – 青春期:一个充满机遇的年龄’,这是联合国儿童基金会新发布的一篇代表性报告,其核心内容是关于全世界年龄在 10 至 19 岁之间的十几亿青少年的成长与权力问题。报告中包含系列报道、文章及多媒体文件,旨在促进和提高青少年应对贫穷、不平等及性别歧视的能力。本文即报道之一。

戴安娜.库特报道

印度恰蒂斯加尔邦,2011年5月6日 – 当16岁的鲍莎.玛德哈瑞亚(Pausha Madharia) 发言时,她传递了印度恰蒂斯加尔邦每个孩子的希望、梦想和恐惧。

最近,她在一次集会中,分享了有关童工、女孩面临的性别歧视以及部分学生在去学校的途中遭遇到的麻烦。鲍莎对议员们大声疾呼,一些醉汉经常横躺在穆尔牧达村 (Murmunda) 一家酒馆外的路上,这样的情景对当地学生造成了威胁。

“这些醉汉会对路过此地去上学的孩子们造成影响。”她呼吁说:“所以,我请求有关部门把这些酒馆搬到远离公共场所的地方。”

鲍莎还在恰蒂斯加尔邦一家每月两期的报刊《Bal Swaraj》(儿童的共和国)上发表了类似报道。该报刊是联合国儿童基金会“少年记者行动”的一部分,于 2007 年创刊。

自由表达的权利

“少年记者行动”招聘并培训儿童志愿者,来充分履行《联合国儿童权利公约》第 12 条中赋予儿童自由发言和表达其所关心问题的权利。

这是联合国儿童基金会在恰蒂斯加尔邦的一项重要工作。该邦大部分地区的政治局势动荡不安,使儿童和家庭获取社会服务变得更加困难。

在由非政府组织 Mayaram Surjan 基金会援助的“少年记者行动”支持下,迄今已有约 1,200 名像鲍莎这样的青少年正在撰写影响其自身、家庭以及邦内社区问题的文章。

揭示严重问题

鲍莎在她的朋友 - 另一位 16 岁的少年记者普迦.德瓦干 (Puja Dewangan) 的帮助下,报道了当村里有人生病时,村民求助于巫医而不是专业医生的危险做法。据普迦和鲍莎的报道,在他们的村里,一个孩子由于没有得到及时的治疗而去世。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2011/Crouch
14 岁的阿玛山卡尔.乔斯 (Umashankar Joshi) 发表了一篇 10 岁男孩坠入印度恰蒂斯加尔邦某村庄水井的报道。报道发表后,村子做出积极响应,填埋了这口井。

普迦最近为了庆祝一个节日,在她家门口用粉笔绘制了一幅色彩斑斓的“蓝果丽”彩图。她帮忙设计了有关巫医那篇文章的漫画插图。插图中画着一位长胡子教徒,正在病人头顶上方挥舞着一根木棍,还画了一个骷髅和两根交叉的人骨,警告人们这种看病方法是非常危险的。

最近一期的《Bal Swaraj》揭示了其他一些严重问题,包括一个女孩正陷于患有脊髓灰质炎的困境、咀嚼烟草的危险性、非法雇佣儿童做木工和旅店服务员的问题、以及儿童由于贫困无法上学的问题。

父母亲为少年记者感到自豪

在莫坶恩达 (Murmunda) 政府中学,有六位学生经常为报纸撰写文章。14 岁的阿玛山卡尔.乔斯 (Umashankar Joshi) 撰写了那篇有关10 岁男孩跌入井中的报道。

在一个炎热的下午,一个名叫德伍热斯.山德拉 (Devrath Chandel) 的孩子把手伸进井水中向伙伴们泼水,他突然失去平衡,失足跌入井中。男孩的伙伴们手拉手形成一个人链,才将其救上来。

阿玛山卡尔发表了这篇事故文章后,村里的长老会首脑(村长)阅读了这篇文章,并立即派人将那口在废弃院落外面的井填埋了。

“能够以这种方式帮助其他孩子们,我感到非常开心。”阿玛山卡尔说。他的父母都没有受过教育,深深地为他而感到非常自豪。“爸爸妈妈要我把这件有意义的工作坚持下去!”他补充说。

变革的推动力

这些少年记者都持有采访时可能要出示的正式记者证。当 14 岁的苏曼.琼斯 (Suman Joshi) 参观公共工程办公室时,就出示了她的记者证。她正在为一篇有关学校附近排洪管道的文章进行调研。

“人们能够意识到我们正在努力使这个地区发生改变。他们对我们的报道印象深刻。”苏曼说。

校长哈姆拉杰.萨苏 (Hemraj Sahu) 说,他经常阅读孩子们的报道,从中了解了社区的许多情况。“学生们不断提出问题,并且展现了很多成年人都无法拥有的自信。”萨苏先生说。

 


 

 

搜索

India

Young reporters trained by UNICEF tackle social issues in rural India

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2011/ Crouch
Pausha Madharia, 16, writes about child labour in the 'Bal Swaraj' newspaper that started as part of UNICEF's Child Reporters Initiative in the Indian State of Chhattisgarh.

‘The State of the World’s Children 2011 – Adolescence: An Age of Opportunity,’ UNICEF’s flagship report, focuses on the development and rights of more than a billion children aged 10 to 19 worldwide. This series of stories, essays and multimedia features seeks to accelerate and elevate adolescents’ fight against poverty, inequality and gender discrimination.

By Diana Coulter

CHHATTISGARH, India, 6 May 2011 – When Pausha Madharia, 16, speaks, she gives voice to the hopes, dreams and fears of every child in the Indian State of Chhattisgarh.

Standing before the State Assembly recently, she shared her concerns about child labour, discrimination faced by young girls and the troubles that some students encounter when they’re simply trying to attend school. Pausha told legislators that drunken men sprawled on the road outside a wine shop in Murmunda village were regularly threatening local schoolchildren.

“I said people consuming liquor were creating a nuisance for children trying to get past for classes,” she recalls. “I asked that these shops be moved away from any public place.”

Pausha also wrote about the issue in ‘Bal Swaraj’ (‘Children’s Republic’), a Chhattisgarh newspaper, published twice monthly, that started in 2007 as part of UNICEF’s Child Reporters Initiative.

Right to free expression

The initiative recruits and trains child volunteers in an effort to fulfil Article 12 of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, which gives children the right to speak freely and express their concerns.

It’s an important effort in Chhattisgarh. Large segments of the state face violent political unrest, making access to social services more difficult for children and families.

Under the aegis of the Child Reporters Initiative – assisted by the Mayaram Surjan Foundation, non-governmental organization – about 1,200 young people like Pausha are now writing about issues that affect them, their families and communities in the state.

Highlighting serious issues

With the help of another child reporter and friend, Puja Dewangan, 16, Pausha has also tackled the dangerous village practice of consulting faith healers rather than trained doctors. In their village, a child died because of inadequate treatment, according to Puja and Pausha.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2011/Crouch
Umashankar Joshi, 14, reported on the near drowning of a 10-year-old boy who fell into an uncovered well in a village in Chhattisgarh, India. After the report, the village leader had the well filled in.

Puja – who recently drew an intricate ‘rangoli’, a colourful chalk pattern, outside her home for a festival – helped design a cartoon to accompany the faith-healer article. It shows a long-haired holy man waving a wand over his patient’s head as a skull and crossed bones warn of danger.

A recent issue of ‘Bal Swaraj’ highlighted other serious issues, as well, including the plight of a girl suffering from polio, the perils of chewing tobacco, the problems of children working illegally as carpenters and in hotels, and the poverty that prevents them from attending classes.

Parents are proud

At Murmunda’s Government Middle School, six students have regularly submitted articles to the newspaper. Umashanker Joshi, 14, wrote about the near-drowning of a 10-year-old boy who fell into an uncovered well.

On a hot afternoon, the child, Devrath Chandel, was reaching into the well and splashing friends when he lost his balance and plunged into the water. The boy’s friends managed to make a human chain and pull him out.

After Umashanker wrote about the incident, the sarpanch (village head) saw his story and arranged to have the well outside an abandoned home filled in.

“I am feeling good that I am working like this to help children,” Umashanker says. His parents, both uneducated labourers, are also proud of him. “They tell me to keep doing this good work,” the boy adds.

Agents of change

All of the child reporters are issued official press passed that they can show to story subjects. Suman Joshi, 14, flashed hers when she visited the public works office to research an article about a flooding drain near the school.

“People understand that we’re trying to make changes here,” says Suman, “and they are impressed by our stories.”

School headmaster Hemraj Sahu says he reads the children’s paper regularly and learns a lot about his community from it. “The students are raising problems and showing confidence that most elders can’t display,” says Mr. Sahu.


 

 

New enhanced search