印度

印度北方邦的儿童友好学校在促进卫生设施改善方面取得进展

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2010/Crouch
印度北方邦苏克里小学,11岁的钱德拉.普拉芭(左)和10岁的钱德拉.库玛丽在新修建的卫生食堂里吃午餐。

安琪拉.沃克报道

印度苏克里,2010年10月14日 – 拉姆.拉坦.辛格.亚达夫(Ram Ratan Singh Yadav)是个肩负使命的人,但这位政客的热情可能令你吃惊不已:他把当地政府资金投入学校,以确保所管辖范围内的学校清洁卫生并有益于儿童。

亚达夫先生是印度北方邦松巴得拉地区的一名“潘查亚特”(Panchayat Raj),即当地的行政官员。在苏克里小学,他骄傲地向大家展示当地政府投资建设的午餐食堂,学生们可以在食堂里安心地吃午饭。

促进卫生

这座食堂里用混凝涂土砌了很多餐桌和凳子,并安装了不同高度的糖果色水龙头,学生们可以在吃饭之前用肥皂洗手并冲洗餐盘。

亚达夫先生说:“在这之前,学生们只能在外面到处找地方坐着吃饭,很不卫生,现在他们能坐在一起吃午饭了。”他还说几年以前学校甚至连厕所也没有。

在国际家具零售商宜家公司的慈善部门——“宜家社会事务机构”的资金援助下,联合国儿童基金会自2009年起,在北方邦的八个地区开展工作,松巴得拉就是这八个地区其中之一。儿童友好学校突出卫生问题的重要性,地方一线工作者挨家挨户地宣传并促进卫生条件的改善。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2010/Crouch
拉姆.拉坦.辛格.亚达夫(中) 把当地政府资金投入学校,确保小学清洁卫生并有益于儿童。

“宜家社会事务机构”负责人玛丽安娜-巴尔纳(Marianne Barner)说:“宜家社会事务机构与联合国儿童基金会合作,致力于促进所有儿童获得健康、安全的童年和优质教育的权利,该机构起初是为了支持宜家在供应链中反对雇用童工的行为,现在已经逐渐发展成为为北方邦及印度所有儿童创造更美好生活的广泛承诺。”

促进卫生卓有成效

政府部门数据最初显示,北方邦94%的学校里有公厕供学生使用,但是实际调查表明,仅有57%的厕所可以使用。

为解决这一问题,联合国儿童基金会支持并向学校引进了适合儿童的厕所设施,到目前为止,松巴得拉地区已有210所学校配备了改善的卫生设施。学生们也逐渐认识到养成饭前洗餐盘和用肥皂洗手等良好卫生习惯的重要性。

亚达夫先生解释说,印度政府向苏克里学校提供了约900美元用于修建厕所,他还从当地政府预算中拨款450美元用以完成修建工作。厕所墙上贴了明亮有趣的壁纸,让使用厕所的学生们心情愉快。

联合国儿童基金会为学校设计儿童友好型厕所提供技术支持,充分考虑到男生和女生的不同需求。儿基会还资助为学校开发了“健康卫生教育包”(内含一系列书籍和活动式学习材料)。

联合国儿童基金会驻北方邦实地办事处负责人阿戴勒.库德尔(Adele Khudr)说:“儿童友好学校有助于吸引儿童接受教育,健康的学习环境和课堂知识的学习同样重要。学生们现在认识到了良好卫生习惯的重要性,学校里也配备了应有的设施,让他们保持卫生和健康。”

产生影响

改善学校的安全用水和卫生条件是均衡地实现联合国千年发展目标的重要组成部分,千年发展目标是联合国全体成员国为到2015年减少全球贫困而制定的一系列目标。

11岁的钱德拉.普拉芭和她的朋友——10岁的钱德拉.库玛丽高兴地吃着盘子里的米饭和扁豆。她们在食堂里同77名男孩和81名女孩一起吃饭,不用再经受阳光的灼晒。

女孩们互相依靠着,镜子里的她们穿着蓝色的校服,梳着小辫,戴着小鼻环,用手从盘子里舀起食物吃,她们一边相互耳语,一边开心地笑着。当问到她们是否喜欢新食堂时,她们异口同声地回答“喜欢”。

钱德拉说:“我们以前在操场吃饭,泥土容易进入盘子。老师告诉我们饭前要洗手杀菌,这样我们才不会生病。”


 

 

图片报道

搜索

India

In India's Uttar Pradesh state, child-friendly schools make gains in improving sanitation and hygiene

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2010/Crouch
Chandra Prabha (left), 11, and Chandra Kumari,10, eat their lunch in a hygienic new structure at the Sukrit Primary School in Uttar Pradesh state, India.

By Angela Walker

SUKRIT, India, 14 October 2010 – Ram Ratan Singh Yadav is a man on a mission. But this politician’s passion might surprise you – he is investing his local government’s money to make sure that schools under his jurisdiction are clean and child-friendly.

Mr. Yadav is a ‘Panchayat Raj,’ or local political officer in the Sonbhadra District of India’s Uttar Pradesh state. At the Sukrit Primary School, he proudly shows off the mid-day meal shed constructed with local government money. Because of the shed, students now have a safe place to eat their lunches.

Promoting proper hygiene

The sheltered structure, complete with candy-colored water taps at different height levels, has running water where students can wash their hands with soap along with their tin lunch plates before sitting down at the concrete tables and benches.

“Before, the students were just sitting here and there out on the open ground,” said Mr. Yadav. “It was not hygienic. Now they can all take lunch together.” He added that several years ago, the school also lacked toilets.

Sonbhadra is one of eight districts in Uttar Pradesh where UNICEF has worked since October 2009 to improve sanitation with funding from the IKEA Social Initiative, the corporate philanthropy arm of the international home-furnishings retailer. Hygiene and sanitation are emphasized at child-friendly schools, while frontline workers focus on promoting proper hygiene at the household level.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2010/Crouch
Ram Ratan Singh Yadav (centre) is investing local government funds to ensure that primary schools are clean and child-friendly.

“IKEA Social Initiative is partnering with UNICEF to promote the rights of every child to a healthy, secure childhood with access to quality education,” said Head of the Ikea Social Initiative Marianne Barner. “What once started as IKEA’s fight against child labour in the supply chain has developed into a broad commitment to create a better everyday life for the many children here in Uttar Pradesh and in communities throughout India.”

Strides made in hygiene

Initially, government data in Uttar Pradesh indicated that 94 per cent of the schools in the district had toilets for boys and girls. But monitoring revealed that in reality only 57 per cent of the toilets were in use.

To address this problem, child-friendly toilet facilities were introduced with UNICEF support and, to date, 210 schools in Sonbhadra have introduced improved sanitation. Children are also learning the importance of good hygiene like washing their plates and hands with soap before their mid-day meal.

Mr. Yadav explains that the national government provided about $900 to construct latrines at the Sukrit school. Another $450 was needed to complete the project, which he provided from his local government budget. Bright, whimsical murals adorn the latrine, making it inviting for the boys and girls who use it.

UNICEF is providing technical support for the design of child-friendly toilets in schools, taking into account the different needs of boys and girls. A Hygiene Education Package, with books and activity-based learning, has also been developed for schools with UNICEF support.

“Child-friendly schools help us attract children to go and stay in schools,” said UNICEF Chief of the Uttar Pradesh Field Office Adele Khudr. “Having a healthy learning environment is just as important as what happens in the classroom. Students now know the importance of good hygiene, and they have the facilities they need to keep themselves clean and healthy.”

Making a difference

Improving safe water access, hygiene and sanitation in schools is a major component of equitably achieving the United Nations Millennium Development Goals, a set of internationally recognized targets for reducing poverty worldwide by 2015.

Chandra Prabha, 11, and her friend Chanda Kumari, 10, hungrily dig into heaping plates of rice and lentils. In the lunch shed, they are safely sheltered from the hot sun as they eat with some 77 boys and 81 other girls.

The girls lean towards each other, mirror images in their blue uniforms, plaits and tiny nose studs, scooping up bites with their hands as they giggle and whisper together. Asked if they like their new lunch quarters they happily chime ‘yes’ in unison.

“We used to eat on the ground, and mud would get onto our plates,” said Chandra. “Our teacher tells us now to wash the germs off our hands before we eat so that we don’t get sick.”


 

 

Photo essay

View a UNICEF India photo essay on facebook [external link, opens in a new window]

New enhanced search