印度

西孟加拉邦的习惯“正向偏差”导致的营养不良案例

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/ Khemka
在西孟加拉邦由政府支持的“安甘瓦迪”育儿中心,两岁的阿帕尔娜正在吃营养餐,她的母亲在一旁看着她。

安吉拉.瓦尔克尔报道

印度杜尔莫迪,2010年1月11日 - 巴拉蒂.曼迪每天都与她四个月大的儿子比斯瓦吉特和三岁的女儿莎姆帕一同前往当地的“安甘瓦迪”——一个由印度政府支持的妇幼中心。巴拉蒂与其他的母亲们一起,为自己烹制一顿含小扁豆、蔬菜和米饭的健康午餐。

巴拉蒂说:“我来这里学习儿童喂养知识,学习如何照料自己的孩子。我吃这种食物,会有更多的奶水,就能喂饱儿子了。吃这种食品,我的孩子们都更健康了。”

巴拉蒂和她的孩子们参加了“正向偏差”项目,在这个拥有565个居民的贫困村庄,动员社区资源来应对营养不良问题。这里的“正向偏差”是指育有健康儿童的家庭。

“我们为什么不行?”

在西孟加拉邦,“正向偏差”项目被称作“肯农帕尔伯纳”,意思是“我们为什么不行?”这个倡议活动旨在持久地改变家长的行为习惯,进而改善他们对三岁以下儿童的喂养行为。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/ Khemka
在西孟加拉邦的“杜尔莫迪安甘瓦迪”中心,一些妇女正在更新儿童“成长表”。

杜尔莫迪的所有家庭都在贫困和匮乏的生活中挣扎,但有些儿童的营养状况好于其他儿童。这个项目的基础是相信家庭的照料和喂养行为是改善儿童生活的关键。

“正向偏差”项目的核心,是相信社区充满有意义的智慧和未开发的古老资源,可以让村民采用已有的方法来解决复杂的问题。项目开展的方法是通过共同学习,发掘出个别家庭中有效的增加营养的方法,然后再在整个社区推广这一做法。

教给儿童营养知识

安甘瓦迪中心举办一些课程,让年龄较大的孩子做游戏、唱歌,以及开展其他活动,寓教于乐,在这些活动中,教给他们良好的保健、营养和卫生习惯。

杜尔莫迪中心的负责人莫妮卡.拉吉瓦尔说:“我觉得和儿童相处非常有趣,他们代表着未来的一代。”

社区居民贡献出鸡蛋和黄秋葵、南瓜、豌豆之类的蔬菜。母亲们学习如何烹制营养更加丰富的食品,从而使社区能够管理儿童的营养不良问题。

成功的诸多因素

拉吉瓦尔女士指出,基于错误信息而采取的营养方法,将导致营养不良的问题。性别歧视往往是一个因素,比如双胞胎中的女孩得到的母乳可能没有她的双胞胎兄弟多。

一些家庭对母乳的认识不正确。因为相信蜂蜜能让孩子讲甜言蜜语,有些母亲可能会给婴儿加喂蜂蜜,却破坏了纯母乳喂养。

联合国儿童基金会驻西孟加拉邦办公室负责人洛利.卡尔沃说:“社区的参与是解决营养不良问题的关键。”

政府的儿童综合发展服务负责人普如利亚.曼加里.查克拉伯尔提说:“开展‘正向偏差’项目,让母亲们认识到解决营养不良问题的重要性。赋予母亲们权力,使她们现在能够做出让家人接受的决定。”


 

 

搜索

India

Examples of 'positive deviance' in habits leading to malnutrition in West Bengal

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/ Khemka
Two-year-old Aparna eats a nutritious meal while her mother looks on at a government supported 'Anganwadi' childcare centre in West Bengal.

By Angela Walker

DUMURDI, India, 11 January 2010 – Bharati Mandi walks to her local  'Angawadi'  – a government sponsored centre for mothers and children in India – each day with her four-month-old son Biswajit and her three-year-old daughter Shampa. Together with other mothers, she prepares herself a healthy mid-day meal of lentils, rice and vegetables.

“I come here to learn about child feeding, to learn how to take care of my child,” she says. “If I consume this food, I will be able to breastfeed my son, because I’ll have more milk. By eating this food my children are healthier.”

Bharati and her children are part of a 'positive deviance' programme mobilizing community resources to tackle malnutrition in this poverty-stricken village of 565 inhabitants. The 'positive deviants', in this case, are families with healthier children.

'Why can't we do it?'

In West Bengal, the positive deviance program is popularly known as 'Keno Parbo Na', meaning 'Why can’t we do it?' The initiative works to bring about sustained behavioural change among parents to improve feeding practices for children three-years-old and under.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/ Khemka
Women updating a child's 'growth chart' at the Durmurdi Angawadi Centre in West Bengal.

All families in Dumurdi struggle equally with poverty and deprivation but some children are better nourished than others. The programme is based on the belief that understanding the care and feeding patterns of the families is key to helping all children.

At the core of positive deviance is the belief that there is significant wisdom and untapped resources inherent in communities, enabling villagers to use existing solutions to address complex problems. The approach uses collective learning to identify positive nutrition practices by individual families which can be adapted by the larger community.

Teaching children about nutrition

The classes are held at local Angawadi centres, where older children are occupied with games, songs and other activities which teach them in a fun way about good health, nutrition and hygiene practices.

“I find it very interesting to deal with children. They are the future generation,” says Monica Rajwar, who runs the Dumurdi centre.

Community members contribute eggs and vegetables, like okra, pumpkin and peas. Mothers learn how to cook more nutritious meals, which in turn creates community ownership in the management of child malnutrition.

Many elements to success

Nutrition practices based on false information can lead to malnutrition. Gender discrimination is often a factor. For instance, a girl twin may not get as much breast milk as her twin brother, noted Ms. Rajwar.

Some families have misconceptions about breast milk. A mother may introduce honey rather than exclusively breastfeed, based on a belief that honey makes your child 'talk sweetly'.

“Community engagement is key to addressing malnutrition,” said Chief of UNICEF’s  West Bengal office Lori Calvo.

“When positive deviance was developed, the mothers began to realize the importance of addressing malnutrition,” said the Government’s Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS) supervisor in Purulia, Monjary Chakraborty. “The mothers are empowered and now are able to make decisions that are accepted by the family.”


 

 

New enhanced search