印度

茶园俱乐部填补印度女孩们的空白

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/ Ferguson
在印度阿萨姆邦的迪布鲁格尔,女工们走在娜哈托利茶园里。联合国儿童基金会在被边缘化的茶园社区里建立了少女俱乐部。

安吉拉.沃克报道

印度迪布鲁格尔,2009年12月15日 – 在印度东北部阿萨姆邦的山上,女人们分散在各处摘茶叶。她们大多用手采摘茶叶,这些茶叶占该国名茶总数的80%之多。

阿萨姆邦茶社区的人口占全邦总人口的20%,但是这些社区里的居民经常被边缘化或被排斥。很少有人去上学,工作也很艰辛。在某些茶园里,工人们必须摘至少20 公斤的茶,这样才能赚到每日的薪水。大多数的采茶工人是女人。

年轻女孩们所面对的挑战

在茶园里工作的妇女和她们女儿的生活通常很艰难。56岁的加纳斯瓦利.贝格姆(Janaswari Begum)已经在娜哈托利茶园里干了30年了。但是,当问她是否希望自己的女儿也到茶园里干活时,她摇了摇头。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/ Ferguson
在印度阿萨姆邦迪布鲁格尔的娜哈托利茶园里,21岁的鲁帕里(左)和16岁的纳宜佳是少女俱乐部的成员。俱乐部成员每周见一次面,重点讨论有关儿童的问题,尤其是少女问题。

她说:“我已经干这个了,但是我不想让我的孩子也干同样的工作。”

然而,虽然大家都希望拥有更好的未来,但是对这里的很多女孩子来说,困难依然存在。娜哈托利茶园的福利官员阿格纳.乌郎(Aghna Urang)说:“在茶园里,父母们总是忽略他们的女儿。他们不想送女孩子去上学。他们想让女孩们在家照顾婴儿、做饭。”

太阳下山后,酒精便在种植园里自由流动开来。结果,对妇女及她们的家人实施的酒后暴力行为很常见。茶园中的女孩们往往13岁就早早结婚了。

虽然有国家法律规定禁止使用童工,但还是经常有十几岁的少女最终来到茶园工作。

新建立的自信

联合国儿童基金会正在阿萨姆邦的茶园里努力帮助女孩们改变她们的生活。联合国儿童基金会及其当地合作伙伴,印度茶叶协会(ABITA)的阿萨姆邦办事处,支持能够为年轻女性提供避风港的少女俱乐部。他们的目标是让少女们上学并且留在学校。

贝格姆的女儿苏乐卡(Sulekha)是她种植园里的女孩俱乐部的部长。她说俱乐部给了她新的自信。

苏乐卡说:“我想要自力更生。我想自己养活自己。我想把我所知道的一切教给比我年幼的女孩们。”

女孩们每周日见面。她们钩针编织、用珠子装饰衣服并与朋友们聊天。他们还学习有关健康和卫生的重要技能。

女孩们“最好的平台”

帮助女孩们自助是在茶园背景下逐渐促成改变的方法。但是,这也可能是最有效的方法。

联合国儿童基金会阿萨姆邦办事处的杰罗.马斯特尔(Jeroo Master)说:“我们觉得需要让少女们参与进来。你能看到新兴的领导力量。少女俱乐部正越来越起到促成改变的催化剂的作用。”

随着俱乐部成员生活水平的不断提高,在种植园里也看到了体制变革的迹象。苏乐卡说,种植园的工会实际上已经联系上了俱乐部的成员来帮助他们一起制止饮酒和童婚。

苏乐卡说:“俱乐部对我们来说是最好的平台。我们要让别人看看我们一起努力所能取得的成就。”


 

 

儿童权利公约

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

India

Tea garden clubs fill gaps for girls in India

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/ Ferguson
Female labourers walk in Nahartoli Tea Estate, in Dibrugarh, Assam, India, where UNICEF-supported Adolescent Girls’ Clubs have been established in marginalised tea garden communities.

By Angela Walker

DIBRUGARH, India, 15 December 2009 – In the hills of Assam, a state in north eastern India, women scattered across the landscape pick more than 80 per cent of the country’s famous tea – largely by hand.

Tea communities in Assam represent about 20 per cent of the state’s population, but their residents are often marginalized and excluded. Few go to school, and the work is difficult. On some tea estates, workers must pick at least 20 kilos in order to make their daily wages. Most of the pickers are women.

Challenges for young girls

Life for women and their daughters is often hard on the tea estates. Janaswari Begum, 56, has been working on the Nahartoli Tea Estate for 30 years. But when asked if she wants her daughter, Sulekha, to follow in her footsteps into the fields, she shakes her head.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/ Ferguson
Rupali (L), age 21, and Nahija age 16, are members of the Adolescent Girls’ Club, at Nahartoli Tea Estate in Dibrugarh, Assam, India. Clubs meet weekly to focus on children’s issues, especially adolescent girls.

“I have done it, but I don’t want my kids to do it,” she said.

But despite hopes for a better future, difficult conditions persist for many girls here. “In the tea gardens, parents neglect their girls,” said Welfare Officer for Nahartoli Tea Estate Aghna Urang. “They don’t want to send them to school. They want to use them as baby sitters and cooks.”

Alcohol flows freely when the sun goes down on the plantations and as a result, drunken violence against women and their families is common. Girls in the tea gardens often marry as young as age 13.

Despite a national law that regulates the use of child labour, teen-aged girls often wind up working in the fields themselves.

Newfound confidence

On Assam’s tea estates, UNICEF is making strides to help girls change their lives. Along with its local partner, the Assam Branch of the Indian Tea Association (ABITA), UNICEF supports Adolescent Girls’ Clubs that provide a haven for young women. Their goal is to get teens to go to school and stay enrolled.

Begum’s daughter, Sulekha, is a leader of her plantation’s girls’ club. She says the club has given her a newfound confidence.

“I want to stand on my own feet,” said Sulekha. “I want to earn my own living. I want to teach the younger girls whatever I know.”

The girls meet on Sundays to crochet, decorate tunics with beads and chat with friends. They also learn important skills about health and hygiene.

The ‘best platform’ for girls

Helping girls to help themselves is a progressive method of change against the backdrop of tea estates. But it could also be the most effective.

“We felt the need to bring adolescent girls on board,” said head of UNICEF’s Assam office Jeroo Master. “You can see emerging leadership. The Adolescent Girls’ Clubs are acting as catalyst for change.”

Along with improvements in the club members lives, there is also evidence of institutional change on the plantations. Sulekha says the labour union on the plantation has actually approached the club members to help work with them to curb drinking and stop child marriages.

“The club is the best platform for us,” said Sulekha. “We will show what we can achieve together.”


 

 

CRC @ 20

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search