印度

在印度教育母亲们培养健康习惯

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
彩色的海报欢迎妇女们来到“Anganwadi”(意为保健中心)。作为在印度古吉拉特邦瓦尔萨德开展的马姆塔.迪瓦斯(母亲日)项目的一部分,妇女们在那里学习了如何照顾好她们自己以及她们的孩子。

印度古吉拉特邦,2009年9月4日 – 曼娜本.加沃特(Mennaben Gavit)骄傲地抱着她一岁大的健康儿子说:“我真希望我生第一个孩子的时候有马姆塔.迪瓦斯(Mamta Divas)项目。我的女儿今年13岁了,可她看起来就像是八九岁。而我儿子的情况就完全不同。”

印度政府于2005年启动了联合国儿童基金会支持的马姆塔.迪瓦斯(母亲日)项目。印度各邦每月都选择一天为母亲和儿童们提供至关重要的保健服务。

虽然古吉拉特邦最近出现了令人印象深刻的经济增长,但是三岁以下儿童中有45%体重中度或严重不足,55%的妇女贫血。

帮助偏远地区

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正共同努力改善母亲们和她们孩子的健康——尤其是生活在难以到达的偏远地区的人口。自2006年以来,这个项目就一直在瓦尔萨德开展。

瓦尔萨德首席地区卫生官员玛德哈维齐.贾杰拉(Madhavji Gajerasaid)博士说:“我们看到覆盖率方面有了明显的进步,尤其是在偏远地区。”

瓦尔萨德区的保健中心(anganwadi)外面有一张很大的横幅欢迎戴着彩色纱丽的妇女们。她们中有些是孕妇,有些则背着孩子或者抱着孩子来到中心。在保健中心内,大厅里展示着有关营养和个人卫生的海报。

营养和产前保健

卫生工作者们为儿童们量体重并将他们的身高记录在图表上,而妇女和儿童们则在一旁等待。检查员告诉母亲们相对于社区里其他的儿童她们孩子发育的情况,并向她们提供有关如何健康地喂养婴儿和儿童的建议。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
在印度古吉拉特邦瓦尔萨德开展的马姆塔.迪瓦斯项目中,一名儿童接种了免疫疫苗。

经过特殊设计的“马姆塔卡片”上包含有关妊娠、哺乳和照料五岁以下儿童的易于理解的信息。参加这个项目的妇女们可以与卫生工作者们交换手机号码,以便在紧急情况中联系到他们。

与此同时,加沃特女士很高兴地看到她幼小的儿子生长状况良好。他证明了这个项目的成功,而古吉拉特邦的其他地区也正纷纷效仿这一项目。

加沃特女士说:“我怀他的时候做了三次产前检查,拿到了所有的营养补充剂还接种了疫苗。我的儿子是在医院出生的。”


 

 

搜索

India

Teaching mothers healthy habits in India

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
Colourful posters welcome women to the ‘anganwadi’, or health centre, where women are taught to care for themselves and their children as part of the Mamta Divas programme in Valsad, Gujarat, India.

GUJARAT, India, 4 September 2009 – “I wish the ‘Mamta Divas’ were there when I had my first child. She is 13 years old and looks eight or nine. My son is a different story,” says Mennaben Gavit, proudly holding her healthy one-year-old boy on her lap. 

The UNICEF-supported Mamta Divas (Mother’s Day) programme was launched by the Government of India in 2005. One day each month, every state in the country provides essential health services for mothers and children. 

Despite recent impressive economic growth in Gujarat State, 45 per cent of children under the age of three are moderately or severely underweight, and 55 per cent of women are anaemic. 

Reaching remote areas
UNICEF and its partners are making a concerted effort to improve the health of the mothers and their children – especially those in hard-to-reach regions. The programme has been running in Valsad since 2006.

“We have seen a marked improvement in coverage, especially in the remote areas,” said Valsad Chief District Health Officer Dr. Madhavji Gajera.

Outside the ‘anganwadi’, or health centre, in the Valsad District, a large banner announcing the Mamta Divas  welcomes women in colourful saris, some pregnant, others carrying children on their hips and in their arms. Inside, posters on nutrition and hygiene are displayed in the main room.

Nutrition and antenatal care
Women and children wait while health workers weigh children and record their growth on a chart. The supervisor shows the mothers how their children’s progress compared to the rest of the community and provides advice on how to feed infants and children healthily. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
A child receives his vaccination as part of the Mamta Divas programme in Valsad, Gujarat.

A special ‘Mamta Card’ has been designed with easy-to-understand information covering pregnancy, lactation and caring for children under the age of five. Women in the programme can exchange mobile phone numbers with health workers so they can be easily reached in emergencies.

Ms. Gavit, meanwhile, is delighted at the progress her infant son is making. He is a testament to the success of the programme, which is being replicated in other districts and in different parts of the state.

“I had three antenatal check-ups when I was pregnant with him, got all my supplements and immunizations,” said Ms. Gavit. “My son was born in a hospital.”


 

 

New enhanced search