印度

联合国儿童基金会印度乳品合作社建立创新的合作关系

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
乳品合作及自助团体的女性成员聚集在瓦尔萨德区东格里.瑞利亚村的信息中心。

印度古吉拉特,2009年8月11日 – 在欠发达的古吉拉特瓦尔萨德区,联合国儿童基金会与Vasadhara奶厂建立了一个特殊且创新的伙伴关系。

古吉拉特是一个面对着发展矛盾的进步州。虽然这个州的经济、工业和城市发展令人瞩目,基础设施状况良好,但是有关儿童生存、发展和保护的人类发展指数却没有显示出相应的改观。

古吉拉特的婴儿死亡率在过去10年中没有任何减少,而区域调查显示出营养不良影响了该地区45%的儿童。从一定程度上讲,这些问题的出现是由于缺乏社区权力和知识造成的。社区权力和知识可以帮助家庭采取行动确保社会发展

“行为改变交流”

为了给社区赋权,联合国儿童基金会在该地区启动了行为改变交流(BCC)项目。

作为该项目的一部分,瓦尔萨德区的469个村庄接到了通知,2000名村志愿者(大多数为妇女)接受了培训以培养他们的人际沟通技巧。他们还接受了五种具体行为的培训:全母乳喂养;用肥皂洗手;女童教育;预防艾滋病;食用加碘盐。

通过家访和定期在村信息中心举办小组会议,志愿者们使用特别制作的海报、传单、小册子、歌曲、电影和其他宣传材料来扩大有关适当行为做法的意识。他们现在已将工作扩展到动员有小孩的家庭使用外展服务。

协同合作

当联合国儿童基金会找到机会将BCC倡议与Vasadhara奶厂联系起来时,该组织便能够整合该地区以妇女为主的牛奶生产合作社的强大网络,并兼顾推行始于2001年的奶厂清洁牛奶运动的倡议。倡议起初的宗旨是在家庭层面上促成行为的改变,并将外展服务带到社区。

联合国儿童基金会驻古吉拉特实地办事处主管尤甘达辛.马图尔(Yogendra Mathur)博士说:“当我们开启与Vasadhara奶厂的特殊合作时,我们的意图是促进简单的行为改变,从而对该地区儿童的生存和发展产生有意义的影响。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
在古吉拉特的瓦尔萨德区,妇女们在晚间收集牛奶。联合国儿童基金会鼓励这个乳品合作社里的妇女们形成自助小组、根据自身需要获得小额信贷并教育女儿。

从一开始,这个伙伴关系就是天作之合。

联合国儿童基金会驻古吉拉特新闻官员古林德尔.辛格.古拉蒂(Gurinder Singh Gulati)说:“奶厂清洁牛奶运动和联合国儿童基金会倡导的行为改变交流之间存在着固有的协同作用。例如, 在喂儿童牛奶之前,还要注意挤奶的卫生问题,也就是要用肥皂洗手。”

迈向成功

这个隶属瓦尔萨德区合作社牛奶生产者联盟有限公司的奶厂也受益于与联合国儿童基金会的合作。

Vasudhara奶厂合作社发展项目经理苏雷什.德赛(Suresh Desai)说: “自2005年以来,奶厂在瓦尔萨德区的业绩指标显示出了喜人的改善,因为我们和联合国儿童基金会在那里开展了合作,包括建立额外的合作社。其中的一些合作社建在我们以前都没有去过的村庄。”

所有参与合作的人都致力于实现伙伴关系的重点目标,即通过奶制品合作社赋予妇女社会和经济权力,并促进实现更多的进展。

Vasadhara奶厂合作社发展高级官员及联合国儿童基金会乳制品合作伙伴关系地区协调员碧安娜.德赛(Beena Desai)说:“我们鼓励妇女们形成自助小组、根据自身需要获得小额信贷并教育女儿。基本上,我们帮助妇女帮助她们自己、她们的家庭、她们的孩子和社区。”


 

 

搜索

India

An innovative partnership between UNICEF and a dairy collective in India

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
Women members of the milk co-operative and self help groups gather at the village information centre in Dungari Reliya, Valsad District.

GUJARAT, India, 11 August 2009 – In the underdeveloped Valsad district of Gujurat, a unique and innovative partnership has been established between UNICEF and the Vasadhara Dairy.

Gujurat is a progressive state that faces a development paradox. Despite its impressive economic, industrial and urban growth, and its good infrastructure, the human development indices of child survival, development and protection have not shown commensurate improvement.

Infant mortality rates have been stagnant for the last 10 years in Gujurat and regional surveys indicate that malnutrition affects 45 per cent of the area’s children. Such issues can be attributed, in part, to a lack of community empowerment and knowledge, which could help to enable families to take action to ensure social development.

‘Behaviour Change Communication’

In an effort to empower the community, UNICEF launched a Behaviour Change Communication (BCC) programme in the area.

As part of the programme, 469 villages of the Valsad district were apprised and 2,000 village volunteers - mostly women - were given training that focussed on developing their interpersonal communication skills. They were also trained in five specific behaviours: exclusive breast feeding; hand washing with soap; education of girls; prevention of HIV/AIDS; and use of iodised salt.

The volunteers use specially developed posters, leaflets, booklets, songs, films and other communication materials to spread awareness about appropriate behaviour practices through household visits or regular group meetings at Village Information Centres. They have now expanded their work to mobilize families with young children to use outreach services.

Synergistic partnership

When UNICEF had the opportunity to link the BCC initiative to the Vasadhara Dairy, it was able to integrate the dairy’s strong network of predominantly women’s cooperative societies for milk production across the district, and to piggy-back the initiative on the Dairy’s Clean Milk Campaign, which began in 2001. The initial mandate was to bring about behaviour change at the family level and to bring outreach services closer to the community.

“Our intention, when we began this unique partnership with Vasudhara Dairy, was to advocate simple behaviour change that would have a significant impact on child survival and development in the district,” said UNICEF Chief of Field Office in Gujarat Dr. Yogendra Mathur.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2009/Vishvanath
Evening milk collection in the Valsad District of Gujarat. Women in the dairy collective are encouraged by UNICEF to form self-help groups, get microfinance for their needs, and educate their daughters.

From the start, the partnership was a natural fit.

“There is an innate synergy between the Clean Milk Campaign of the Dairy and Behaviour Change Communications advocated by UNICEF,” said UNICEF Communications Officer in Gujurat Gurinder Singh Gulati. “For example, the hygiene aspects of milking – the need to wash hands with soap – are equally applicable before feeding children.”

Aligned for success

The dairy, which belongs to the Valsad District Cooperative Milk Producers’ Union Limited, was also able to benefit from its association with UNICEF.

“Since 2005, the Dairy’s performance indicators have shown remarkable improvement in Valsad district where we are associated with UNICEF,” said Project Manager of Cooperative Development for the Vasudhara Dairy Suresh Desai. “This includes the formation of additional cooperative societies, some of which are in villages we had not even been to before.”

All involved are committed to the partnership’s focus on the social and economic empowerment of women through the dairy cooperative, and expect even more progress to be made.

“We encourage women to form self-help groups, get microfinance for their needs, and educate their daughters,” said Senior Officer of Cooperative Development with Vasadhara Dairy and District Coordinator for the UNICEF-Dairy partnership, Beena Desai. “Basically we help women to help themselves, their families, their children and their communities.”


 

 

New enhanced search