印度

比哈尔邦140万人遭受洪灾

UNICEF Photo: India, Bihar, Flood
© UNICEF/2008/ Khanna
印度比哈尔邦索包的彬姬.德维在戈西河的洪水冲走了她的家园一天后生下了她的第一个孩子。

印度比哈尔邦,2008年8月27日 — 上周,比哈尔邦戈西河(Kosi)东堤决开了一个两公里长的缺口,导致数百个村庄被洪水淹没,其中包括以前从没有经历过大洪水的地区。

迄今为止,据统计已有33人死亡,并且这个数目可能还会上升。

“20多万户家庭被毁,至少140万人受到影响,比哈尔邦的洪水非常紧急,”联合国儿童基金会紧急沟通官员麦考密克(Patrick McCormick)说。

道路已经被损坏,受影响地区的水和电力供应已遭到严重的破坏。铁路路轨已被淹没,包括食品在内的基本日用品只能由船来运送。

由于发生洪水的河流位于边界地区,在尼泊尔也有大约5.5万人无家可归。

背井离乡

因比哈尔邦洪灾而流离失所的人们,要在等两到三个月的时间,等堤坝修复、河流回复正常之后才可以返回他们的家园。由于流离失所者的人数持续增加,救援营地可能会变得过度拥挤,将导致传染病的蔓延。

此外,天气一直非常炎热,加剧了无家可归者的痛苦,尤其是儿童和孕妇。

“在这些情况下儿童尤其易受伤害,由于他们从家中被转移到救援营地,因此他们最容易受到疾病的危害,以及遭受身体和精神上的困扰,”麦考密克先生说。

分发物资

上周,联合国儿童基金会在受影响最严重的三个地区对形势作了快速评估。

在当地政府和其他合作伙伴的协作下,联合国儿童基金会提供了一些必需用品,并将继续与当地的合作伙伴一道,以满足受到这次危机影响的儿童和妇女的需要。

比哈尔邦政府已经在较易到达的难民营以及许多缺少医生的地区,为受到影响的人们分发了基本药品。州政府正在被淹的村庄空投食品包。地方组织也在许多难民营分发食品。

饮水和卫生需要

在大部分救援营,人们用手压水泵来获得饮用水。不过,目前水泵还不够用。而滞留在河支流的人们则正饮用着可能已被污染了的河水。

由于厕所数量不足,导致露天排便,因此难民营的卫生条件通常都非常差。发烧及腹泻的病例时有发生。

“联合国儿童基金会的工作重点是为受影响的儿童提供诸如药品、饮用水、卫生设施等挽救生命的用品,以帮助他们抵御疾病的威胁,”麦考密克先生说。


 

 

搜索

India

1.4 million people affected by flooding in Bihar

UNICEF Image: India, Bihar, Flood
© UNICEF/2008/ Khanna
Pinky Devi of Sopaul in Bihar, India, gave birth to her first child a day after her house was washed away by the floods from the Kosi River.

BIHAR, India, 27 August 2008 – A two-kilometre breach in the eastern embankment of the Kosi River in Bihar last week has resulted in the inundation of hundreds of villages, including areas that have not previously experienced major flooding.

To date, 33 deaths have been reported, but this number is likely to rise.

"With over 200,000 homes destroyed and at least 1.4 million people affected, the flooding in Bihar is a serious emergency," said UNICEF Emergencies Communication Officer Patrick McCormick.

Roads have been damaged and water and electricity supplies in the affected districts have been seriously disrupted. Railway tracks have been submerged and essential commodities, including food, are being transported by boat.

The flooding of this transboundary river has also displaced approximately 55,000 people in Nepal.

Displaced from their homes

Those displaced by the flooding in Bihar are not expected to be able to return to their homes for another two or three months when the embankment is repaired and the river moves back to its normal course. As the number of displaced continues to grow, relief camps may become overcrowded, leading to the spread of communicable diseases.

In addition, the weather has been extremely hot, aggravating the suffering of the displaced population, particularly for children and pregnant women.

"Children in these situations are especially vulnerable. They are most at risk from disease and suffer physical and mental distress from being moved from their homes houses to relief camps," said Mr. McCormick.

Distributing supplies

Last week, UNICEF conducted a rapid assessment of the situation in the three worst-affected districts.
 
In collaboration with local government and other partners, UNICEF has provided some essential supplies and will continue to work with its partners on the ground to meet the needs of the most vulnerable children and women affected by the crisis. 

Essential medicines distributed by the Government of Bihar have reached some of the more accessible relief camps and other affected populations, but there is a lack of doctors in many of these areas. The state government is air-dropping food packets in inundated villages. In many relief camps, local organizations are also distributing food.

Water and sanitation needs

In most of the relief camps, drinking water is available through hand pumps. However, additional pumps are needed. Some people, who are staying along river tributaries, are drinking potentially contaminated river water.

Hygiene conditions in the camps are generally very poor, with an insufficient number of toilets, resulting in open defecation. Cases of fever and diarrhoea are being reported.

"UNICEF focuses its response on delivering life-saving supplies like medicines, drinking water and sanitation equipment to ward off the threat of disease amongst the affected children," noted Mr. McCormick.


 

 

New enhanced search