印度

印度最贫穷的儿童遭受粮食危机的蹂躏

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在希瓦普里的营养康复中心,印度营养不良的儿童在吃午饭。对大多数儿童来说,这是他们一天中唯一的一餐。

莎拉.柯劳报道

印度中央邦古拉瓦尔村,2008年6月9日。在季风前热浪袭击的日子里,阿库什瓦一家因一年前一个男孩儿在这个家庭诞生,聚集在印楝树下举行他们最重要的活动。

这些人在从博帕尔到新德里的主要道路边,等候机动三轮车,他们兴奋地谈论他们如何将留了整整一年的用于盛宴的恰巴提、扁豆糊、鳢和鹰嘴豆装满了大钢桶。

如果不是因为大范围的食品价格飙升已经使印度最贫困家庭陷入最困难的境地,他们只用一半的时间就可以做完。像50%以上的所有印度人一样,阿库什瓦一家每天的生活开销仅一美元左右。但这并不能阻挡他们一家乘坐出租车来到象征希望的蓝寺,在那里他们为众神供奉了盛宴,以感谢神赐予他们一个男孩儿。

即使在危机中,数百年的传统和信仰仍然难以动摇。

食品价格居高不下带来的影响

“生了三个女孩后,终于得到了这个男孩儿,我们真是太感激了。我们不买药品,因为物价如此昂贵,我们不得不削减食物,”父亲巴达利纳斯.阿库什瓦说。“但我们知道,如果我们供奉了众神,这就是我们的药品。”

尽管近年强劲的经济年均增长率保持在9%,印度目前的通货膨胀和粮食危机,使许多此间已经取得的成果有削减的危险。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
焦急的母亲们把患营养不良的儿童带到希瓦普里的营养康复中心,它是印度中央邦100个营养康复中心之一。

为了解决因儿童营养不良的比率居高不下而导致的复杂局面,在今后五年,零售业巨头宜家为联合国儿童基金会驻印度代表处提供了8千万美元的包括健康,营养,水和卫生等一揽子方案的援助。

该国的中央邦是儿童死亡率和儿童营养不良率最高的地区,政府补充计划正受到威胁。社区工作人员抱怨说,他们不能从政府得到每天为每个孩子提供的2卢比,就不能再给严重营养不良的儿童提供健康,均衡的膳食。

联合国儿童基金会成立营养中心

即使在最好的时候,在中央邦将近一半的3岁以下儿童患营养不良。两年前,为了回应严重的旱灾,联合国儿童基金会帮助政府在全邦成立了100个营养康复中心。接连几次季风没有带来降雨,现在又加上粮食危机造成的‘完美风暴’,给最无助儿童带来了影响 — 特别是那些被排除在种姓和部落之外的人。

在希瓦普里的卡尔雅尼营养中心,焦急的母亲轮流为那些体重勉强够大的婴儿秤体重。一个3个月大的男婴秤量的体重为2公斤。而营养不良的儿童过去常常是由政府送到该中心,现在基本上都是由母亲亲自把婴儿送到中心。

“以前,我们常常出去找那些婴儿,并把他们带到中心来。因为他们的孩子正经受更多的痛苦,现在母亲们主动地带孩子到中心来。”医疗工作者迪乃什.哈娜说。

家庭应付严酷的抉择

苏尼塔.阿迪瓦什一家正在完成小麦的储存。如大米一类的其他主要产品价格在6个月内几乎翻了一番,留给她的是严酷的抉择。

“只有我的丈夫能工作,我们家有7口人,所以我们不能给我们的孩子提供适当的衣、食,”她说。“我们真的非常担心,我们不知道该如何去应付。”

苏尼塔的儿子2岁了,但还不会走路。在社区中心,他和他的姐妹们品尝着午餐。这是他们得到的全部,他们并不孤单。今年,古拉瓦尔村72%的儿童患有营养不良,而去年只有60%。

“虽然家庭收入没有改变,食品价格的涨幅令人难以置信,”联合国儿童基金会中央邦营养官员万达纳.阿古尔瓦说,同时指出在一些乡村普遍存在儿童营养不良的比率高达80%。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年5月:
联合国儿童基金会记者莎拉.柯劳就粮食危机如何对印度最贫穷的儿童产生影响进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

India

Food crisis ravages India’s poorest children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Malnourished Indian children eat lunch at the nutritional rehabilitation centre in Shivpuri. For most it will be the only meal of the day.

By Sarah Crowe

GURAVAL VILLAGE, Madhya Pradesh, India, 9 June 2008 – In the pre-monsoon heat, the Akushwah family gathered under a Neem tree on their most important mission since a boy was born to the family a year ago.

As the group waited for an auto rickshaw at the side of the main road from Bhopal to Delhi, they talked excitedly about how they had saved for a full year to fill their large steel bucket with a feast of chapattis, lentil dahl and channa, or chick peas.

If not for the huge food price increases that have hit India’s poorest families the hardest, it would have taken them half that time. The Akushwahs live on around $1 a day, but that didn’t stop the family from taking a taxi to a bright blue temple, where they offered the feast to the gods in thanks for their baby boy.

Even in a crisis, centuries-old traditions and beliefs die hard.

Effects of high food prices

“After three girls, we are so thankful for this boy. We don’t buy medicines and we had to cut back on our food because things are so expensive,” said the father, Badarinath Akushwa. “But we know that if we feed the gods, that will be our medicine.”

Despite a robust economy with 9 per cent annual growth in recent years, inflation and the food crisis in India now threaten to erode many of the gains made here.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Anxious mothers bring their malnourished children to the nutritional rehabilitation centre in Shivpuri, one of 100 in the state of Madhya Pradesh.

In order to address both the complex situation causing high rates of child malnutrition in India, the retail giant IKEA is supporting UNICEF India with an $80 million package of health, nutrition, and water and sanitation programmes over the next five years.

In the state of Madhya Pradesh, which has the highest child mortality and child malnutrition rates in the country, government supplementary programmes are under threat. Community workers have complained that they can no longer give severely malnourished children a healthy, balanced diet out of the 2 Rupees per day that they receive from government for each child.

UNICEF sets up nutrition centres

Even at the best of times, nearly half the children under the age of three in Madhya Pradesh are undernourished. Two years ago, in response to a severe drought, UNICEF helped the government set up a 100 nutrition rehabilitation centres throughout the state. The monsoon rains have continued to fail, and now with the food crisis that failure has created a 'perfect storm' affecting the most marginalized children – especially those from excluded castes and tribes.

At the Kalyani nutrition centre in Shivpuri, anxious mothers take turns weighing their babies, who are barely big enough to tip the scales. One three-month-old baby boy weighed in at exactly 2 kg. And whereas malnourished children used to be brought to the centre by government transport, now a steady stream of mothers are bringing in their babies on their own.

“Before, we used to have to go and find those babies and bring them here. Now the mothers are motivated to come, because their children are suffering more,” said health worker Dinesh Khanna.

Families cope with stark choices

For Sunita Adivasi’s family, wheat stocks are running out. With the price of other staples such as rice having almost doubled in six months, she is left to make stark choices.

“Only my husband is able to work and we’re seven in the family, so we cannot feed and clothe our children properly,” she said. “We’re really very worried about things, we don’t know how we are going to cope.”

Sunita’s son is two years old but cannot walk. At the community centre, he and his sisters relish their midday meal. It’s all they’ll get, and they’re not alone. This year, 72 per cent of children in the village of Guraval are malnourished, compared to 60 per cent last year.

“While there is no change in the families’ income, the food prices have gone up incredibly,” UNICEF Nutrition Officer for Madhya Pradesh Vandana Agurwal said, adding that in some villages the prevalence of child malnutrition is as high as 80 per cent.


 

 

Video

May 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Sarah Crowe reports on how the food crisis is affecting India’s poorest children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search