印度

纪录片探讨的主题“患艾滋病期间的爱(和婴儿)”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
纪录片“患艾滋病期间的爱(和婴儿):印度之旅”的主角艾滋病活动家23岁的辛比.恩古贝。

印度孟买,2008年1月31日。纪录片“患艾滋病期间的爱(和婴儿),印度之旅”纪录了23岁的艾滋病活动家辛比.恩古贝,从南非卡叶利察简陋的家来到印度孟买宝莱坞繁华的中心旅行的经历。

电影的开头表现了去年非洲世界艾滋病日的纪念活动,影片集中表现了16岁时发现感染了艾滋病毒的辛比。她的前男友已经被艾滋病夺去了生命。影片表现了辛比从一个无忧无虑的花季少女变成一个关注自己腹中未出生孩子健康的少妇的过程,同时向人们宣传这种致命病毒和预防艾滋病毒教育的重要性。

“当你和某人约会,你正值豆蔻年华,这个人很帅,你觉得你是他的唯一。你日思夜想的只有爱,”辛比在纪录片中说。“我相信我是从他那儿感染的病毒。”

化悲痛为决心

辛比和她现在的男友共渡情感难关以弥补她最初的感情绝望。他们决心要成为社区的榜样式的人物 — 不仅要健康的生活,积极的生活而且他们还下决心要有一个健康的宝宝。

“我尽我所想参加[预防]母婴传播计划,”辛比说。“我定期去检查身体和进行心理咨询。我的男朋友已开始了作父亲的计划。我们一起努力并且接受了奈韦拉平和叠氮胸苷的药物治疗,以防止母婴传染。”

今天,他们的宝贝已是一个聪明且可爱的3岁宝宝。

跨越文化的鸿沟

自从辛比知道了她感染了艾滋病毒后,她的故事出现世界各地的媒体上。有关她生活的系列故事在美国全国公共广播电台播出。联合国儿童基金会还邀请她参加了去年在柏林举行的少年8国峰会,并受到了参加8国峰会的各国领导人的接见。

当联合国儿童基金会邀请辛比前往孟买同其他感染艾滋病毒的年轻妇女分享她的经历时,另一个转折点出现了。她访问了孟买附近的联合国儿童基金会支持的项目,这些项目主要是艾滋病预防和生活基本技能教育,疾病的流行如何从不同的环境对妇女产生影响。

纪录片表现了辛比如何能够跨越语言和文化鸿沟,深入感染艾滋病毒的印度妇女中。她和她们中的一些人建立了联系,成为了孟买的一个联合国儿童基金会支持的组织‘阳性网络’一部分。

面对疾病的流行,影片‘患艾滋病期间的爱(和婴儿):印度之旅’充满了希望和勇气 — 以及年轻妇女在防止艾滋病毒蔓延斗争中的力量和动力。今年该纪录片将在印度的电视节目中播放。

感谢来自约翰内斯堡和纽约的莎拉克劳和米丽.卡米姆拉对本篇文章所作的贡献。


 

 

视频(英文)

观看由萨拉.克洛导演的纪录片“患艾滋病期间的爱(和婴儿)”,该纪录片由五个部分组成。

第一段
 视频 高速 | 低速

第二段
 视频  高速 | 低速

第三段
 视频  高速 | 低速

第四段
 视频  高速 | 低速

第五段
 视频  高速 | 低速

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

India

Documentary film explores the topic, ‘Love (and Babies) in the Time of AIDS’

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
HIV/AIDS activist Thembi Ngubane, 23, is the focus of the documentary, ‘Love (and Babies) in the Time of AIDS: A Journey to India’.

MUMBAI, India, 31 January 2008 – The doumentary ‘Love (and Babies) in the Time of AIDS, A Journey to India’ follows HIV/AIDS activist Thembi Ngubane, 23, as she travels from her humble home in Khayelitsha, South Africa to the bustling centre of Bollywood in Mumbai, India.

The movie, initially shown in Africa this past year to commemorate World AIDS Day, focuses on Thembi’s discovery at the age of 16 that was living with HIV. Her ex-boyfriend had died from the disease. The revelation transformed Thembi from a carefree girl into a young woman focused on staying healthy for her unborn child while spreading awareness about the deadly virus and the importance of education in HIV prevention.

”When you are dating a person, you are young and you think this person is cool and you think you are the only one. All that love stuff is all you think of,” Thembi says in the documentary. “I was sure I caught the virus from him.”

Turning tragedy into purpose

Instead of letting her initial feelings of hopelessness take over, Thembi and her current boyfriend tackled their emotions together. They were determined to become role models in their community – not only for living healthy, positive lives but also for their determination to have a healthy baby.

“I found out everything I could and went to the [prevention of] mother-to-child transmission programme,” Thembi says. “I went for regular check-ups and counselling. My boyfriend was on the fathers’ programme. We were working together and I was given Nevirapine and AZT.”

Today, their baby Onwabo is a bright and lovely three-year-old.

Across cultural divides

Since Thembi learned of her HIV status, her story has appeared in media outlets around the world. A series on her life was featured on National Public Radio in the US. UNICEF also invited her to the Junior 8 summit held in Berlin last year to meet world leaders at the G8.

Another turning point came when UNICEF asked Thembi to go to Mumbai to share her experiences with other young women who are living with HIV. The UNICEF-supported projects she visited around Mumbai emphasized HIV prevention and life skills-based education, and focused on how the epidemic affects women from very different environments.

The documentary shows how Thembi was able to cross linguistic and cultural divides to reach some of the Indian women living with HIV. She formed bonds with quite a few of them as part of the Positive Network, an organization in Mumbai supported by UNICEF.

‘Love (and Babies) in the Time of AIDS: A Journey to India’ is filled with messages of hope and courage in the face of the epidemic – and of young women’s strength and empowerment in the fight to prevent the spread of HIV. The documentary is due to be shown on Indian television this year.

Sarah Crowe and Malli Kamimura contributed to this story from Johannesburg and New York, respectively.

 


 

 

Video

Watch the documentary 'Love (and Babies) in the Time of AIDS', directed by Sarah Crowe. In five parts.

Part 1
 VIDEO  high | low

Part 2
 VIDEO  high | low

Part 3
 VIDEO  high | low

Part 4
 VIDEO  high | low

Part 5
 VIDEO  high | low

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search