印度

印度改变对营养不良和两性平等的态度

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
戈拉勒斯的营养康复中心教家长学习照顾自己孩子的营养所需要的技巧,并呼吁他们在社区中传播这些救生知识。

埃米.班尼特报道

印度戈拉勒斯,2007年10月30日。 当九个月大的双胞胎黛夫吉和拉胡尔被母亲带到位于中央邦戈拉勒斯的营养康复中心时,拉胡尔的体重和身长都正常,但是他的妹妹黛夫吉的体重却只是同龄孩子正常体重的一半多一点。黛夫吉的情况是严重营养不良造成的。

这两个婴儿的体重和健康情况差距如此之大,医生怀疑是喂给黛夫吉的食物少,这是在印度一些地区很普遍的问题,男孩往往比女孩受到更多的重视。

当黛夫吉刚被带到中心来的时候,她的体重严重过轻。医生说她只能活一个星期。专家认为,这个案例反映了在城市和农村的一个很常见的社会问题。生男孩时往往是欢天喜地,而如果生女孩,好的情况是被容忍,不好的话,则会被粗暴对待。

妇女地位低下

总体来说,印度和其它南亚国家在营养充足方面做得很不好。造成这个问题是因为妇女地位低,以及缺乏营养知识,这加剧了该地区儿童体重过轻的问题。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
一位母亲在营养康复中心学习如何准备健康食品。

根据联合国儿童基金会的一份报告,世界上一半营养不良的儿童居住在南亚。在印度,30%的婴儿出生时体重就过轻,他们中有一半人到三岁的时候体重还是过轻。

千年发展计划中的一项任务是要在2015年以前消除极端的贫穷和饥饿。这意味着要使体重过轻的儿童占同龄正常体重人数的比例减半。联合国儿童基金会已经预警,全世界还没有踏上实现此目标的轨道。

教导健康和救生的方法

对于在戈拉勒斯村的营养不良的儿童来说,造成这种令人虚弱且构成生命危险的疾病的原因包括缺乏健康食品和性别歧视。营养康复中心教授母亲们如何准备健康的、高热量且蛋白质丰富的食品,并且呼吁将新的食谱和烹饪手法带回村里去。

双胞胎黛夫吉和拉胡尔已经回到戈拉勒斯的家,每周有两位卫生顾问来检查女孩的恢复情况。如果黛夫吉的状况恶化,她会再被带到中心接受更加直接的治疗。但是希望通过改变态度和更好的护理,黛夫吉能和她的双胞胎哥哥一样健康。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员报道严重营养不良对儿童的影响,尤其是对印度女孩的影响。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

India

Changing attitudes about malnutrition and gender equality in India

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
At the Nutrition Rehabilitation Centre in Kolaras, parents are taught skills to care for their children’s nutritional needs and urged to pass the life-saving information on to their communities.

By Amy Bennett

KOLARAS, India, 30 October 2007 – When nine-month-old twins Devki and Rahul were brought by their mother to the Nutrition Rehabilitation Centre in Kolaras – located in the Indian state of Madhya Pradesh  Rahul was a normal weight and size for his age, yet his sister Devki weighed just over half of what she should have. Devki’s condition was the result of severe malnutrition.

Both babies showed such varied weight and health that doctors suspected less food was given to Devki, a common occurrence in some areas of India where boys are often given more attention than girls.

When Devki was initially brought to the centre she was severely underweight, and doctors said she was a week away from death. Experts believe this case exemplifies a far more widespread social problem in cities and villages where, in many cases, the birth of boys is celebrated while newborn girls are at best tolerated and at worst, treated harshly.

Low status of women

India and other South Asian countries are doing poorly overall in areas of adequate nutrition. Contributing to this problem is the perceived low status of women and the lack of nutritional knowledge, which adds to the high prevalence of underweight children in the region.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A mother learns how to prepare healthy food at the Nutrition Rehabilitation Centre.

According to a UNICEF report, half of the world's undernourished children live in South Asia. In India, 30 per cent of children are born with low birth weight and almost 50 per cent remain underweight by the age of three.

One of the Millennium Development Goals is to eradicate extreme poverty and hunger by 2015, which would mean halving the proportion of children who are underweight for their age. UNICEF has warned that the world is not on track to meet that goal.

Teaching healthy, life-saving practices

For undernourished children in villages like Kolaras, the causes of this debilitating and life-threatening condition range from lack of access to healthy food to gender discrimination. At the Nutrition Rehabilitation Centre, mothers are taught how to prepare healthy, high-calorie, high-protein food – and are urged to take new recipes and cooking practices back with them to their villages.

Meanwhile, twins Devki and Rahul have arrived back home in Kolaras, where two health advisers are to monitor the girl’s progress every week. If Devki’s condition deteriorates, she'll be taken back to the centre for more direct care. But the hope is that with changing attitudes and better care, she will be just as healthy as her twin brother.


 

 

Video

UNICEF’s Anwulika Okafor reports on severe levels of malnutrition affecting children, especially girls, in India.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search