关于联合国儿童基金会

《世界志愿行动状况报告》 发布,承认全世界志愿者做出的巨大贡献

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Guatemala/2011
联合国儿童基金会志愿者朱莉娅.纳西格(居中,身穿蓝色背心),在危地马拉帮助年轻人处理涉及暴力、教育匮乏和艾滋病病毒的问题。首例《世界志愿行动状况报告》将志愿者的贡献视为发展议程的一部分。

克里斯.内尔斯报道

纽约,2011年12月5日 —— 今天,联合国大会在一次特别会议上首次发布了《世界志愿行动状况报告》,感谢“无名英雄”作出的贡献。

10 年前,联合国大会根据众多的政策建议通过了提倡并支持志愿服务的决议 —— 志愿服务被视为发展工作的一个重要组成部分。

但是,十年过去了,志愿者的贡献却没有得到充分的重视。

“在我们见证国际志愿者年十周年的同时,志愿者的贡献仍然没有得到普遍认可。”联合国志愿人员组织执行协调员弗拉维亚.潘谢里 (Flavia pansieri) 说道。

“志愿者可以改变世界”

据估计,每年约有 8,000 名志愿者自愿为各个联合国机构服务。潘谢里女士在大会上说,志愿者工作可以为国家的国内生产总值 (GDP) 作贡献,但这不仅仅是个简单的经济问题。

“志愿者不仅能够促进和平、增强社会凝聚力,还有助于参与和社会融合。他们通过见证自己的行动来促成社会康乐,而这是他们异于单纯的自我利益之外的价值观的体现,”她说。

联合国秘书长潘基文未能参加此次大会,但是他向志愿者发来了支持的信息。

他说:“他们通过热情和承诺,帮助证明了志愿者是能够改变世界的。”

联合国大会还通过了进一步支持并推动联合国志愿者工作的决议。通过发布此次报告,联合国开发计划署署长海伦.克拉克说,她希望志愿者的贡献可以充分融入到发展战略思想中。

解决发展中面临的主要挑战

该报告的着眼点在于,志愿者以何种方式帮助解决当代和平和发展面临的主要挑战。报告也陈述了志愿者群体的特征。调查发现,他们大多来自于当地各行各业的小型组织工作人员。他们中有富人也有穷人,技能各有差异,无论男女都提供同等的志愿时间。

报告也揭示了一些惊人的数据。

克拉克女士说:“自1998年起,全球根除脊髓灰质炎计划共招募了2000 万名之多的当地志愿者。他们共计帮助全世界 25 亿名儿童接种了疫苗。”

她接着说道,虽然志愿服务不能取代国家照顾其公民的责任,但它也是重要的辅助部分;虽然它是个被忽视的要素,但它有助于实现“千年发展目标”。

该报告也强调了志愿活动可以给双方都带来好处。这是一种互益,为志愿者本身获得激励,并且能够得到满足感、自身价值和尊严的实现。

“他们的付出不是一种高高在上的施舍式慈善行为,”潘谢里女士说,“而是一种互惠互利的关系体现,双方都是共同利益的受益人,同时也都是付出者。”


 

 

相关链接

《世界志愿行动状况报告》
(外部链接,在新窗口打开)

搜索

About UNICEF: Who we are

Inaugural ‘State of the World’s Volunteerism Report’ recognizes contributions of volunteers worldwide

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Guatemala/2011
UNICEF volunteer Julia Noethiger (centre, blue vest) works with young people in Guatamala, helping them deal with issues including violence, lack of education and HIV. The first-ever State of the World's Volunteerism Report looks at volunteers' contributions to the development agenda.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 5 December 2011 – The United Nations General Assembly paid tribute to the work of its ‘unsung heroes’ today, launching the first-ever State of the World’s Volunteerism Report during a special General Assembly session.

Volunteerism was recognized as an important factor in development work ten years ago when the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution with many policy recommendations to promote and support volunteerism.

But a decade later, the contributions made by volunteers are seldom given their full due.

“At the same time as we mark the tenth anniversary of the International Year of Volunteers, the contribution of volunteerism is still only partially recognized,” said Executive Co-ordinator of United Nations Volunteers Flavia Pansieri.

'Volunteers can change the world'

It is estimated that each year about 8,000 people volunteer with UN agencies. Speaking at the General Assembly, Ms. Pansieri said volunteers’ work contributes to countries’ gross domestic product (GDP), but it is not just a matter of simple economics.

“Volunteers contribute to peace and social cohesion, to participation and social inclusion. They contribute to the well-being of a society by proving with their actions that there are other values driving human beings than simple self-interest,” she said.

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon was unable to attend the assembly but sent a message of support to volunteers.

“With passion and commitment, they are helping to show how volunteers can change the world,” he said.

The General Assembly passed a further resolution to support and promote the work of UN volunteers. Launching the report, United Nations Development Programme Administrator Helen Clark said she hopes that the contribution of volunteers will be fully integrated into strategic thinking about development.

Solving main development challenges

The report looks at how volunteers can help solve some of the main peace and development challenges of our time. It also reveals who volunteers are. It found that they are mostly working with small local groups across a range of development sectors. They are rich and poor, skilled and unskilled, and men and women volunteer equal amounts of time.

It also reveals some staggering statistics.

“Since 1998, 20 million mostly local volunteers have been recruited under the global polio eradication initiative,” Ms. Clark said. “Together, they helped to immunize more than 2.5 billion children worldwide.”

She went on to say that volunteerism cannot remove the responsibility of states to take care of their citizens, but it is a significant complement, and it is an overlooked factor in helping to meet the Millennium Development Goals.

The report also emphasized that the benefits of volunteering go both ways. It is a mutual exchange that leaves the volunteers empowered and with a sense of fulfilment, self-worth and dignity. 

“Their engagement is not a condescending act of charity,” said Ms. Pansieri, “but rather the expression of the relation of reciprocity where both parties at the same time are recipients and providers of shared benefits.”


 

 

New enhanced search