联合国儿童基金会执行局

联合国儿童基金会执行局关注平等和国家项目

2011 年度会议:第 2 日

美国纽约,2011 年 6 月 22 日 —— 联合国儿童基金会执行局在其 2011 年度会议的第二天,重点讨论了向各地儿童输送的各个项目的进展成果,其中包括全球最贫穷且最边缘化的儿童。

视频:2011 年 6 月 21 日 —— 墨西哥常驻联合国代表团二等秘书诺埃尔.冈萨雷斯.塞古拉向联合国儿童基金会执行局报告跨机构实地考察菲律宾的成果。 在Realplayer中播放

此次联合国总部会议重点讨论两个代表团进行实地考察的报告 ——  具体为菲律宾和加纳 —— 以及进行超过24份拟定的联合国儿童基金会国家项目文件的审议。这些文件详细说明联合国儿童基金会在几年时间内同时与若干特定国家政府进行的合作。

项目主任尼克.阿利普伊指出,在联合国儿童基金会设有办事处的大多数国家中,实现千年发展目标的总体进展良好,但是,“证据和分析结果清楚地表明,国家之间和国家内部存在很大差距。”对与会者而言,这些差距在执行局讨论的两大考察实地都很明显。

阿利普伊先生指出,为缩小差距,更好地维护每一个孩子的生存、健康和发展权,在所有联合国儿童基金会国家项目中,“更加专注于平等是必要的”。

在菲律宾“改变生活”

执行局对菲律宾的实地考察于3 月 26 日至4 月 2 日进行,成员包括来自联合国儿童基金会、联合国开发计划署、联合国人口基金、联合国项目事务厅和世界粮食计划署的跨机构代表团委员会成员。

视频:联合国儿童基金会的罗布.麦克布赖德报道来自联合国儿童基金会和其他联合国机构的执行局成员于2011 年3月至 4 月对菲律宾的考察,在执行局年度会议第二天对菲律宾的考察进行了讨论。 在Realplayer中播放
代表们深入了解如何将菲律宾政府项目与民间社团合作伙伴项目结合,正协助受国内冲突和自然灾害影响的地区进行重建与发展。布赖恩阁下,作为代表团团长、马拉维常驻联合国代表,在考察期间说道:“我认为,联合国所做的一切应该都是 —— 让生活变得更美好。”

该代表团的首席报告员诺埃尔.冈萨雷斯.塞古拉,墨西哥常驻联合国代表团二等秘书,提交了执行局会议的主要结论。

冈萨雷斯先生指出,菲律宾虽然最近已跻身世界各国低中等收入水平,但是仍面临促进平等和可持续经济增长的挑战。他补充道,代表团指出了具体的不利因素 —— 包括自然灾害、气候变化和人口的快速增长 —— 这进一步突出了联合国驻该国各组织之间协调和合作的必要性。

在加纳实现平等

加纳与菲律宾相似,最近已渐渐跻身中等收入水平,但仍存在个别贫困区。执行局代表团在 9 日至 14 日期间考察了西非国家,评估联合国儿童基金会与政府和其他合作伙伴正在合作的、实现平等权的工作。

视频:2011 年 6 月 21 日 —— 利比里亚常驻联合国代表团参赞盖尔提供了联合国儿童基金会执行局代表团加纳考察报道的重点内容。 在Realplayer中播放

利比里亚常驻联合国代表团参赞盖尔提供了代表团向执行局做的报告的重点内容。 Farngalo 女士指出,加纳正处于将极端贫困人口减半的千年发展目标的实现轨道上。它同时是这个大陆上小学入学率最高的国家之一。她表示,加纳仍然存在很多障碍。

值得注意的是,Farngalo 女士的报道称,加纳还未处于实现千年发展目标 5 和目标 7 的轨道上,这两大目标分别需要降低产妇死亡率和增加安全饮用水和环境卫生设施的使用。她指出,联合国儿童基金会加纳国家方案草案将争取在未来数年内缩小这些领域和其他关键领域的差距。

国家方案文件

执行局 26 份拟定国家和地区(包括菲律宾和加纳国家方案)方案文件的审议在这两大实地考察报告之后进行。联合国儿童基金会所有七个区域办事处的主任都提交了来自各自区域的文件,以供讨论和评审。(参见右边列表框——审议中的国家和地区方案列表。)

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖伊.哈伯德报道联合国儿童基金会执行局于 2011 年 5 月对加纳的考察,在执行局年度会议第二天对加纳考察进行了讨论。 在Realplayer中播放

此外,在昨天的会议上,联合国儿童基金会执行局主席 Sanja Štiglic 阁下,斯洛文尼亚常驻联合国代表,宣布了在针对坦桑尼亚联合共和国的通用国家方案文件中该委员会正式成为联合国儿童基金会的组成部分。

执行局 2011 年第一届常会已对该文件进行了讨论。此文件阐述了联合国儿童基金会与坦桑尼亚政府截至 2015 年 6 月的合作方案,此合作方案在联合国与其他联合国合作伙伴合作的综合活动的发展援助计划中组织安排。


 

 

搜索

UNICEF Executive Board

UNICEF Executive Board focuses on equity and country programmes

2011 Annual Session: Day 2

NEW YORK, USA, 22 June 2011 – On the second day of its 2011 Annual Session, the UNICEF Executive Board yesterday focused on programmes delivering results for children in the field, including those who are the poorest and most marginalized worldwide.

VIDEO: 21 June 2011 – Noel González Segura, Second Secretary of the Permanent Mission of Mexico to the UN, reports to the UNICEF Executive Board on the findings of an inter-agency field visit to the Philippines.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The meeting at UN headquarters featured presentations on two delegation visits to the field – specifically, to the Philippines and Ghana – as well as consideration of over two dozen proposed UNICEF country programme documents. The documents chart UNICEF’s cooperative efforts with governments in specific countries for several years at a time.

In most of the countries where UNICEF works, overall progress towards the Millennium Development Goals is promising, but “evidence and analysis clearly show that there are wide disparities between and within countries,” said Director of Programmes Nick Alipui. These disparities were apparent to participants in both field visits discussed at the Executive Board.

To narrow the gaps and better safeguard the survival, health and development of every child, Mr. Alipui said, “a sharper focus on equity is essential” in all UNICEF country programmes.

‘Transforming lives’ in the Philippines

The Executive Board field visit to the Philippines, which took place from 26 March through 2 April, involved an inter-agency delegation of board members from UNICEF, the United Nations Development Programme, the United Nations Population Fund, the United Nations Office for Project Services and the World Food Programme.

VIDEO: UNICEF's Rob McBride reports on a March-April 2011 visit to the Philippines by Executive Board members from UNICEF and other UN agencies, which was discussed on the second day of the Executive Board's Annual Session.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Delegates gained insight into how joint projects with government and civil-society partners in the Philippines are assisting development in the aftermath of civil conflict and natural disasters there. As His Excellency Brian Bowler, the delegation leader and Permanent Representative of Malawi to the UN, said during the visit: “This is what I believe the UN should be all about – transforming lives positively.”

The delegation’s chief rapporteur, Noel González-Segura, Second Secretary of the Permanent Mission of Mexico to the UN, presented its main findings at the Executive Board meeting.

Although the Philippines has recently attained lower-middle-income status among the world’s nations, said Mr. González-Segura, it still faces challenges in fostering equitable and sustained economic growth. He added that the delegation noted specific vulnerabilities – including natural disasters, climate change and rapid population growth – which reinforce the need for coherence and cooperation in the country’s UN team.

Building equity in Ghana

Like the Philippines, Ghana has recently edged into the middle-income bracket, yet pockets of poverty remain there as well. An Executive Board delegation visited the West African country from 9 to 14 May to assess equity-building efforts undertaken by UNICEF – in tandem with the government and other partners.

VIDEO: 21 June 2011 - Gail Farngalo, Counsellor to the Permanent Mission of Liberia to the UN, provides highlights from the report of a UNICEF Executive Board delegation to Ghana.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Gail Farngalo, Counsellor to the Permanent Mission of Liberia to the UN, provided highlights of the delegation’s report to the Executive Board. Ms. Farngalo pointed out that Ghana is on track to reach the Millennium Development Goal of halving extreme poverty. It also has one of the highest primary school enrolment rates on the continent. Still, she said, many obstacles remain.

Notably, Ms. Farngalo reported that Ghana is not on track to achieve MDGs 5 and 7, which call for reducing maternal mortality and expanding access to safe water and sanitation, respectively. She said the draft country programme for UNICEF Ghana would seek to close disparities in these and other critical areas in the coming years.

Country programme documents

The Executive Board’s consideration of 26 proposed country and area programme documents – including programmes for the Philippines and Ghana – followed the reports on the two field visits. The directors of all seven UNICEF Regional Offices presented documents from their regions for discussion and comment. (See box at right for a list of the pending country and area programmes.)

VIDEO: UNICEF's Guy Hubbard reports on a May 2011 UNICEF Executive Board visit to Ghana, which was discussed on the second day of the Executive Board's Annual Session.  Watch in RealPlayer

Also at yesterday’s meeting, UNICEF’s Executive Board President, Her Excellency Sanja Štiglic, Permanent Representative of Slovenia to the UN, announced the Board’s adoption of the UNICEF component in the common country programme document for the United Republic of Tanzania.

The document had been discussed at the Executive Board’s first regular session of 2011. It lays out UNICEF’s programme of cooperation with the Tanzanian Government through June 2015, mapped out within a United Nations Development Assistance Plan of integrated activities with other UN partners.


 

 

UNICEF country programmes

At the 2011 Annual Session of the Executive Board, UNICEF Regional Directors presented proposed country and area programmes for the following countries and areas, listed by region.

Americas and the Caribbean: Chile, Eastern Caribbean multi-country programme, El Salvador, Honduras, Jamaica

Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States: Albania, Croatia, Kyrgyzstan, Montenegro, Ukraine

East Asia and the Pacific: Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Mongolia, Philippines

Eastern and Southern Africa: Ethiopia, Zimbabwe

Middle East and North Africa: Morocco, Oman

South Asia: Bangladesh

West and Central Africa: Central African Republic, Chad, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Mauritania, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal

Ongoing country programmes are to be extended in the following countries.

One-year extensions (approved by Executive Director): Belize, Bhutan, Guinea, Haiti, Madagascar, Republic of Moldova, Tunisia

Two-year extension (to be approved by the Executive Board): Paraguay

Second consecutive one-year extension (to be approved by Executive Board): South Africa

New enhanced search