青少年

联合国儿童基金会旗舰年度出版物“世界儿童状况报告”聚焦青少年

美国纽约,2011年2月24日 - 17岁的莫哈默德和16岁的哈森站在国际移民组织也门办事处外的队伍中。这两个埃塞俄比亚男孩和数千名其他移民一样,自去年起就在也门逗留。

视频:2011年2月24日 - 联合国儿童基金会普利延卡.普鲁提报道联合国儿童基金会的旗舰出版物:《2011世界儿童状况报告》,该报告强调了投资于青少年的发展可以打破根深蒂固的贫困和不平等的循环。 在Realplayer中播放

受够了埃塞俄比亚的失业状况和渺茫前景,莫哈默德和哈森决定踏上前往沙特德漫长征程,希望能找到更好的生活。从邻居和朋友这里借钱之后,他们都在一艘装载了70名其他移民的小船上得到一个座位。“在整个坐船的过程中,我一直都很害怕。到处一直是漆黑一片,海浪很大,不断有水进来。”莫哈默德说。

可惜德是,莫哈默德和哈森没有见到沙特城市的明媚阳光。他们在边境被沙特警方逮捕,并在待了几天之后被遣返回也门。现在,哈拉得阴霾的街道成了他们的家。他们正在等待并盼望着有一天能和他们的家人重逢。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Yemen/2011/Gudmarsson
16岁的哈森和17岁的莫哈默的,两个年轻的来自埃塞俄比亚的移民,在也门的国际移民组织咨询工作人员关于遣返回国的建议。

聚焦青少年

正在不断加剧的人道主义危机和冲突、经济衰退、气候变化以及快速的城市化进程对年轻人的抱负带来新的威胁,而且这种状况将在未来十年内恶化。意识到“下一代”面对的前所未有的挑战,联合国儿童基金会将青少年置于其旗舰年度报告“世界儿童状况报告”(SOWC)的中心。

”这个群体已经成为全世界儿童福利和发展的关键。这个群体经常在政策中、项目中、群体中被忽视……因此我们认为将青少年作为今年“世界儿童状况报告”的重点是非常重要且及时的决定,” 联合国儿童基金会政策与实践主任理查德.摩根说道。

全世界有超过12亿处在青春期的青少年,年龄在10至19岁之间,他们正站在儿童和成人世界的交界路口 - 这是一个他们需要支持引导他们进入新空间的时刻,也是一个他们需要感到被社会接受的时刻。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-2036/Sweeting
2009年,在喀麦隆,12岁的哈瓦.马摩多(左二),和朋友站在佩马村里。哈瓦两年前辍学,因为她的家庭支付不起所需费用。

打破循环

在世界儿童状况报告中,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴将关注重点放在许多青少年在无法完成从校园到有成效且受人尊重的工作岗位的过度而产生的挫败感上。

这份报告强调了投资于青少年是我们打破根深蒂固的贫困循环的最大希望。研究调查表明,贫困和被边缘化的年轻人更不会在青春期做向中学教育的过渡,他们也更可能遭受剥削、虐待和暴力。

联合国儿童基金会相信将青少年置于决策制定的过程中,为他们提供一个表达的平台,以及理解他们作为积极的公民(而不是被动的接受者)的角色,是当务之急。

“年轻人当然需要希望,他们需要机会,” 摩根先生说,“与青少年合作,鼓励他们参与及解决包括紧急事件、人道主义危机等问题,我们能做的有很多。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Coen
16岁的克里斯蒂安.杜博斯和他的母亲艾斯黛拉站在他们家仅存的一面墙前。他们的房子在2010年1月的海地大地震中被摧毁了。

创造机遇

为青少年创造机遇是联合国儿童基金会的优先任务之一。“我们必须更多关注青少年。”联合国儿童基金会驻海地代表弗朗索瓦丝.古洛斯-阿克曼(Francoise Gruloos-Ackerman)说。“我们忘记了这部分没有学上、没有工作的人群。他们的声音没有人听。他们有那么多精力和创造力。他们只是在等待我们说,‘去吧,建设你的国家。跟我们一起建设你的国家。’ ”

在可怕的地震毁了他的家乡一年之后,克里斯蒂安.杜博斯(Christian Dubois) 不知道自己是否能够重拾信心,面对生活现实。他的家庭全靠他母亲微薄的收入生活,他本人也因为无法支付学费而辍学了。

“有许多才华横溢的年轻人本来能有很多令人震惊的成就,但是他们因为现况受到了挫折,” 克里斯蒂安说,“想一下发生在我们身上的事情,我就非常心疼。生活有起有伏,你必须经历才能明白。但是我的母亲常说,‘只要活着,就有希望。’”


 

 

搜索

Adolescents and youth

UNICEF dedicates 'The State of the World's Children 2011' to adolescents

'The State of the World's Children 2011 – Adolescence: An Age of Opportunity,' UNICEF's flagship report, focuses on the development and rights of more than a billion children aged 10 to 19 worldwide. This series of stories, essays and multimedia features seeks to accelerate and elevate adolescents' fight against poverty, inequality and gender discrimination. Here is one of the stories.

NEW YORK, USA, 24 February 2011 - Mohamed, 17, and Hassan, 16, stand in a queue in front of the International Organization for Migration in Haradh, Yemen. The two Ethiopian boys are among the thousands of migrants that have been stranded in the country since last year.

VIDEO: 24 February 2011 - UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi reports on UNICEF's flagship publication, 'The State of the World's Children 2011,' which is dedicated to investing in the development of adolescents to help break the cycles of poverty and inequity.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Fed up with unemployment and bleak prospects in Ethiopia, Mohamed and Hassan decided to embark on a long and perilous journey to Saudi Arabia hoping for a better life. After borrowing money from neighbors and friends, they both managed to secure a place on a small boat carrying over 70 other migrants. “I was terrified during the ride. It was pitch-dark the whole time, and the sea was so rough that the water kept flowing in,” said Mohamed.

Sadly, Mohamed and Hassan never made it to the bright lights of Saudi Arabia’s cities. Instead, they were caught at the border by Saudi police and returned to Yemen after spending a few days in a prison cell. The gloomy streets of Haradh have now become their home. They’re waiting and hoping to be re-united with their families someday.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Yemen/2011/Gudmarsson
Hassan, 16, and Mohammed, 17, two young migrants from Ethiopia, seek advice about repatriation from International Organization for Migration staff in Yemen.

Focus on adolescents

Worldwide, escalating humanitarian crises and conflicts, economic recession, climate change and rapid urbanization have posed new threats to the aspirations of young people – and the situation is only expected to worsen over the next decade. Recognizing the unprecedented challenges faced by ‘generation next,’ UNICEF has placed adolescents at the center of its annual flagship report, ‘The State of the World’s Children 2011 – Adolescents: An Age of Opportunity.’

“This is the group that has become very critical to the welfare and development of children around the world. It's a group that's often neglected in policy, in programmes.... And therefore, we felt adolescents as a focus of this year's SOWC report was a very important and timely one to make,” said Richard Morgan, Director of the UNICEF Division of Policy and Practice.

Globally, there are more than 1.2 billion adolescents aged 10-19 who stand at the crossroads between childhood and the adult world. It is a pivotal time in their lives, when they need support in navigating new paths. But it is also a time when they need to feel integrated into society.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-2036/Sweeting
In November 2009 in Cameroon, Hawa Mamoudou (second from left), 12, stands with friends in Perma village. Hawa dropped out of school two years before, when her family could no longer afford the fees.

Breaking the cycle

Through ‘The State of the World’s Cildren 2011,’ UNICEF and its partners are drawing attention to the frustration and limitations many adolescents may feel once they are unable to transition from school to productive and dignified employment.

The report highlights the fact that investing in adolescents offers the best hope of breaking the entrenched cycle of poverty. Research clearly shows that children who are marginalized or poor are less likely to make the transition to secondary education and are more likely to experience violence, abuse and exploitation.

UNICEF believes that the need of the hour will be met by involving adolescents in the decision-making process, providing them with platforms of expression and understanding their role as active citizens and not just as passive recipients.

“Young people certainly need hope, they need opportunities,” said Mr. Morgan. “We can do a lot by working with adolescents and encouraging them as participants in addressing and solving the problems, including in emergency and humanitarian crisis situations.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Coen
Christian Dubois, 16, stands with his mother, Estelle, next to the only remaining wall of their home, which was destroyed in the January 2010 earthquake in Haiti.

Creating opportunities

Creating opportunities for adolescents is a major priority for UNICEF. “We have to involve adolescents much more,” said UNICEF Representative in Haiti Françoise Gruloos-Ackermans. “We forget this part of the population who are not going to school, who do not have jobs. They are not listened to. They have so much energy, so much creativity. They are just waiting for us to say, ‘Go, build your country. Build your country with us.’’’

A year after the devastating earthquake in Haiti destroyed his home, Christian Dubois, 16, wonders if he will find a way to turn his ambitions into reality. His family is living hand-to-mouth from his mother’s meagre earnings, and Christian has not been able to attend school because they cannot afford the fees.

“There a lot of young people who are really talented who do some really incredible things, but they are discouraged by the situation,” said Christian. “When I think about what happened to us, it makes my heart ache. In life there are high points and low points. One has to experience that to understand it. But my mother always said, ‘As long as there is life, there is hope.’”


 

 

New enhanced search