幼儿生存和发展

‘非洲儿童的状况’呼吁采取联合行动,增强儿童的生存能力

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ06-0197/Kamber
一个女孩从她的家门口向外探望,她家在吉布提被干旱蹂躏了的塔朱拉区。在‘2008非洲儿童的状况’的报告中,联合国儿童基金会认为,非洲儿童的生存问题必须作为一个全世界必须关注的问题。

中川美穗子报道

日本横滨,2008年5月28日。在日本横滨市举行的第四届东京非洲发展国际会议(TICAD IV)上,联合国儿童基金会向全球发布了‘2008非洲儿童的状况:儿童的生存’的报告。

主持发布该项有史以来第一份此类报告的是利比里亚共和国总统埃伦.约翰逊.瑟利夫阁下;坦桑尼亚联合共和国总统贾卡亚.姆里绍.基奎特阁下和非洲联盟主席;日本外务省副大臣小野寺充则阁下。

在场的还有联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼,亲善大使优索.恩杜和世界银行非洲区域副总裁欧比亚吉里.艾泽克韦斯利。

非洲儿童的生存

每年,有近1000万儿童在5周岁前夭折,其中有一半的死亡发生在非洲,维尼曼女士指出。

在撒哈拉以南非洲地区,在1990年到2006年之间,5岁以下儿童的死亡率,降低了14%。然而,每6个儿童中就有一个死于5岁前,撒哈拉以南非洲地区仍然是世界儿童生存最艰难的地方。

“有记录显示,非洲的许多儿童死于诸如疟疾、腹泻和急性呼吸道感染之类的可预防的疾病,”瑟利夫女士指出。“为实现千年发展目标的第4项和第5项,有太多的工作要做了” — 这项千年发展目标是关于降低儿童死亡率和改善产妇保健。

“为儿童,我们希望非洲成为开始他们生活的最好的地方,”基奎特先生说。

以证据为基础的做法

在2006年,5岁以下儿童年度死亡总数下降到970万人,自1960年以来,儿童死亡率下降了60 %。因为采用正确的战略,足够的资源,政治的承诺和广泛的合作,全世界儿童死亡率的迅速降低是有理由的。

几个非洲国家已经被取得了重大的进展,包括世界上最不发达国家。例如,阿尔及利亚、埃及、利比亚、摩洛哥和突尼斯最近已使儿童死亡率至少减少了45 %,而厄立特里亚、埃塞俄比亚、马拉维和莫桑比克也已减少了40%还多。

已确定了必要的服务和所需的行动以避免非洲儿童死亡。

以社区为基础的综合保健的方法需要加以扩大,维尼曼女士说。这种做法,包括拯救生命的干预措施,例如免疫接种、驱虫蚊帐、维生素A补充剂和对母亲在母乳喂养的重要性和良好的个人卫生习惯方面的教育。

与合作伙伴一起向前迈步 

‘2008非洲儿童的状况’敦促所有参与者 — 各国政府、国际机构,、非政府组织、社区和私营部门 — 为了儿童的生存团结起来。

“这些人士有着某种责任。为实现目标我们都需要作出反应,”恩杜先生说。

“国际社会必须支持为儿童生存所做的努力,”小野寺先生补充说。

与联合国儿童基金会和其他部门合作,在未来的五年内,日本政府将支持健康干预措施,例如免疫接种和提供维生素A,以挽救40万以上的儿童生命。

维尼曼女士宣称,非洲儿童的生存,必须成为一个全球性刻不容缓的问题。距离2015年实现千年发展目标的最后期限只有7年了,她说,进程需要加速。


 

 

搜索

Young child survival and development

‘The State of Africa’s Children’ calls for united action to boost child survival

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ06-0197/Kamber
A girl peeks out from the doorway of her home in Djibouti’s drought-ravaged Tadjoura District. In ‘The State of Africa’s Children 2008’, UNICEF argues that child survival in Africa must become a global imperative.

By Mihoko Nakagawa

YOKOHAMA, Japan, 28 May 2008 – UNICEF globally launched ‘The State of Africa’s Children 2008: Child Survival’ in Yokohama City, Japan, on the occasion of the Fourth Tokyo International Conference on African Development (TICAD IV).

Presiding over the launch of this first-ever report of its kind were H.E. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President of the Republic of Liberia; H.E. President Jakaya Kikwete, President of the United Republic of Tanzania and Chairperson of the African Union; and H.E. Itsunori Onodera, Japan’s Senior Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Also on hand were UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, Goodwill Ambassador Youssou N’Dour and World Bank Vice-President for the Africa Region Obiageli Ezekwesili.

Child survival in Africa

Every year, nearly 10 million children die before their fifth birthday, and half of these deaths occur in Africa, Ms. Veneman pointed out.

In sub-Saharan Africa, the mortality rate for children under the age of five decreased by 14 per cent between 1990 and 2006. However, with one in every six children dying before their fifth birthday, sub-Saharan Africa still remains the most difficult place in the world for a child to survive.

“As the record shows, many children in Africa die from preventable diseases such as malaria, diarrhoea and acute respiratory infections,” noted Ms. Sirleaf. “So much more needs to be done for the achievement of Millennium Development Goals 4 and 5” – the MDGs on reducing child mortality and improving maternal health.

“For children, we want Africa to be the best place to begin their life,” said Mr. Kikwete.

Evidence-based approach

In 2006, the total number of annual deaths among children under five fell to 9.7 million, representing a 60 per cent drop in the rate of child mortality since 1960. This rapid reduction in child mortality worldwide was feasible because of sound strategies, adequate resources, political commitment and broad collaboration.

And significant progress is already being made in several countries in Africa, including the world’s least developed ones. For example, Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia have recently reduced their child mortality rates by at least 45 per cent, while Eritrea, Ethiopia, Malawi and Mozambique have cut theirs by 40 per cent of more.

The essential services and practices required to avert child deaths in Africa are well established.

The community-based, integrated health approach needs to be scaled up, said Ms. Veneman. This approach includes life-saving interventions such as immunization, insecticide-treated mosquito nets, vitamin A supplementation, and education for mothers on the importance of exclusive breastfeeding and good hygiene.

Moving forward with partners

‘The State of Africa’s Children 2008’ urges all stakeholders – governments, international agencies, non-governmental organizations, communities and the private sector – to unite for child survival. 

“The public has some of the responsibility. We all need to respond for the achievement of goals,” said Mr. N’Dour.

“The international community must support the efforts for child survival,” added Mr. Onodera.

In partnership with UNICEF and others, the Government of Japan will support health interventions such as immunization and provision of vitamin A to save the lives of 400,000 children over the next five years. 

As Ms. Veneman asserted, the survival of Africa’s children must become a global imperative. With just seven years before the 2015 deadline for achieving the MDGs, she said, progress needs to be accelerated.


 

 

New enhanced search