海地

联合国儿童基金会支持的电台培训鼓励海地青少年表达自己的心声

斯蒂芬妮.鲍尔 (Stephanie Power) 报道

海地太子港,2011 年 11 月 18 日 — 在联合国儿童基金会及其海地合作伙伴帕诺斯加勒比 (Panos Caribbean) 的培训和支持下,海地青少年在电台节目中谈论他们自己的生活小故事。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者米歇尔.马瑞恩 (Michelle Marrion) 报道在太子港为海地青少年举办的电台培训班。  在Realplayer中播放
“儿童应该有权公开表达自己的心声,”14 岁的让.皮埃尔.雷本 (Jean Pierre Layben) 说。他是太子港电台培训班的一名学员,他讲述的故事主要关注挽救生命的医疗服务。“有时孩子有重要的事要说,但他们的父母不让他们说。我觉得这是不对的,儿童也有表达自己心声的权利。”
太子港青年电台培训的举办恰逢《儿童权利公约》周年纪念日,而《儿童权利公约》旨在维护所有儿童的权利,包括他们表达自己心声的权利,和对那些影响他们的事物发表意见的权利。

接受了写作、录制和编辑的辅导后,在基本数字电台设备的帮助下,海地青少年制作了一系列故事,内容涉及所有儿童都有受教育的权利、所有儿童都受保护、不受性暴力影响、不被抛弃,都有权获得清洁水、卫生设施和医疗服务等权利。

“通过进行报道、选择主题、将自己的声音录进广播、用自己的语言表达自己认为所存在的问题、并请成年人和权威人士回答为什么自己的社区存在这些问题,这些练习本身就能够为青少年赋权,”领导此次培训的电台记者诗雅.乐维特(Shia Levitt) 说。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Haiti/2011/Levitt
14 岁的让.皮埃尔.雷本 (Jean Pierre Layben) 参加联合国儿童基金会支持的太子港电台培训班。

青少年捍卫自己的权利

乐维特和培训团队都鼓励青少年运用自己的语言、拿出自己独到的见解、并就他们报道的问题提出解决方案。培训团队还对每个青少年进行单独辅导,而青少年之间也相互帮助。

当海地人民正在努力从国家灾难中恢复、建立美好未来之时,联合国儿童基金会采取各种方式,确保该国青少年的权利得到捍卫和保护,例如,为青少年赋权,让他们勇于表达自己的心声、讲述自己的故事、发表自己的意见。帮助海地青少年树立信心、学习技术,对于宣传和捍卫他们的权利至关重要。

“有机会报道儿童权利的故事对我非常重要,因为儿童不会真正去行使他们的权利,”15 岁的伊瑟尔.卡斯纽威 (Esther Casneuve) 说,他讲述的故事主要关注与垃圾有关的健康问题,“即使不是所有的时间都可以,我仍然想帮助儿童获得他们的权利。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

UNICEF-supported radio training encourages Haiti’s youth to tell their own story

By Stephanie Power

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 18 November 2011—Young people in Haiti are speaking up about issues that are important in their lives and their stories are being broadcast on Haitian radio, with the help of training and support from UNICEF and its Haitian partner Panos Caribbean.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Michelle Marrion reports on a radio training workshop for young Haitians in Port-au-Prince.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“Children should have the right to speak in public,” said Jean-Pierre Layben, 14, a radio trainee from Port-au-Prince whose story focuses on life-saving health care. “Sometimes children have something important to say, and adults don’t let them. I don’t think that’s right - children have the right to speak.”

The youth radio training was organized in Port-au-Prince around the anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, which upholds all children’s rights, including their right to express themselves and be heard on issues that affect them.

With the help of some basic digital audio equipment and mentoring in writing, recording and editing, Haitian youth produced stories on the rights of all children to go to school and to be protected from sexual violence and abandonment, the need for clean water and sanitation, and access to medical care.

“The exercise of doing the reporting, of choosing the subject, of putting your own voice on the radio, and saying in your own words what you think the problem is and also asking adults and folks in authority to answer the questions you have about why such problems exist in your community – that in itself can be empowering for youth,” says Shia Levitt, a radio journalist who led the training.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Haiti/2011/Levitt
Jean Pierre Layben, 14, at a UNICEF-supported radio training workshop in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Young people defend their rights

Levitt and the training team encouraged the young people to use their own words, to come up with their own original ideas, and propose solutions for the challenges they reported on. The training team spent time with each young person, and the youth helped each other with their stories. 

At a time when Haitians are working hard to recover from severe shocks to their country and build a better future, empowering youth to speak up, tell their own stories and be heard is one of the ways UNICEF is working to ensure that every Haitian young person’s rights are upheld and protected. Building the resilience and skills of Haitian young people to promote and defend their own rights is essential.     

“I think it’s important for me to work on child rights because children don’t really get to exercise their rights,” says Esther Casneuve, 15, whose story focuses on the health problems related to garbage. “Even if it’s not all the time, I would like to help children obtain their rights.”


 

 

New enhanced search