海地

一名海地女孩希望能继续学业,让流离失所的家人走出贫困

海地地震:一年报告

一年后,海地的儿童们仍在应对2010年1月12日发生的地震所造成的挥之不去的影响。以下是讲述从救灾到灾后恢复的漫漫长路的系列故事之一。

托马斯.奈博报道

海地太子港,2011年1月19日 – 当联合国儿童基金会的通讯小组找到14岁的莎莎.丽莎时,她一个人正在帐篷里切鸡爪,好让她妈妈做好之后拿到街上去卖。自2010年1月的地震摧毁了她的家以后,莎莎就一直住在这间帐篷里。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者托马斯.尼博报道海地地震一年后,一名海地女孩希望能继续学业的故事。  在Realplayer中播放

 

十个月前,我们在营地里遇到莎莎,她带我们参观了她一天的生活:准备食物、取水、洗衣服、和朋友见面。当时她们一家十口人挤在一间脏帐篷里,帐篷里只容得下摆一张床,莎莎非常想回到学校上课。

现在她和六个亲戚一起住在一间帐篷里,她想上学的愿望愈发强烈了。去年莎莎的爸爸去世了,她想不到办法来帮助她自己和家人。

“走出贫困”

莎莎说道:“我想怎样改变我的生活?我希望有机会继续完成学业,成为一个有用的人,我很希望我的妈妈能走出贫困。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Nybo
自2010年1月海地地震摧毁了她的家以后,14岁的莎莎.丽莎就一直和亲戚住在太子港营地的帐篷里。

莎莎告诉我们,自从雨季时她家的帐篷被淹没后,生活就变得异常艰辛。后来她又得了传染病,咳嗽不断,在医院住了三个月。

当我们见到莎莎的时候,她还有几小时的活要干:给妈妈准备要卖的食物。她们卖东西挣的钱是家里唯一的收入来源。莎莎很清楚单身母亲为养活孩子要付出很多,她感到很难过。

她说:“如果我能告诉全世界,我想说海地有很多母亲都在承受很大的痛苦,她们独自挑起照顾孩子的担子,因为孩子的父亲都不在了。我希望大家能帮助这些母亲,尤其是这个营地的母亲,孩子失去了父亲,都得让母亲一个人养活。”

梦想和一首歌

莎莎想以后成为一名参议员,对海地政府内部进行改革。在准备食物的这些天,她还说,她也喜欢唱歌和跳舞,希望能成为电影明星。在我们的鼓励下,她为我们唱了一首夏奇拉(Shakira)的“Waka Waka”。

唱完歌之后,莎莎和我们告别。她还有活要干,由于供电不足,她必须在晚上之前把事情做完。


 

 

回到正轨

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Shasha's story: UNICEF revisits a Haitian girl in a camp for the displaced

Haiti earthquake: one-year report

Children in Haiti are still reeling from the impact of the 12 January 2010 earthquake. Here is one in a series of stories on the long road from relief to recovery, a year later.

By Thomas Nybo

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 19 January 2011 – When the UNICEF communications team caught up with Shasha Liza, 14, in early December, she was alone in a tent, cutting up chicken feet, which her mother would cook and sell on the streets. Shasha was still in the camp where she had been living since her home was destroyed in the January 2010 earthquake.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on a young Haitian girl's hope for continued education, a year after the earthquake.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Ten months earlier, we had met Shasha in the camp and followed her throughout a day in her life: preparing food, fetching water, washing her clothes, meeting up with friends. At the time, she was sharing a dirt-floor tent with nine family members, even though there’s only room for one bed, and she was anxious to get back in school.

She now shares the tent with six relatives, and her commitment to education is even stronger. Her father died last year, and she sees no other way to help herself and her family.

‘Out of poverty’

“What do I want to change in my life?” asked Shasha. “I want to have the opportunity to continue my education so I can become something in life. I would really like to get my mother out of poverty.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Nybo
Shasha Liza, 14, has been living in a tent with her relatives in Port-au-Prince, Haiti since the January 2010 earthquake destroyed her home.

Life had been particularly difficult since her family’s tent was flooded in the rainy season, Shasha told us. She later developed an infection and was hospitalized for three months as she battled a persistent cough.

When we caught up with Shasha, she had several hours of work ahead of her, preparing different foods for her mother to sell. The money they earn is the family’s only source of income. Shasha is painfully aware of how much work is required for single mothers to raise their children.

“If I could talk to the world, I would say there are a lot of mothers in Haiti who are suffering,” she said. “They are taking care of the kids themselves because the fathers are gone. I would ask for help for the mothers, especially in this camp. There are so many of them raising their children with no help from the fathers.”

Dreams and a song

Shasha dreams of becoming a senator and changing Haiti’s government from the inside. During long days preparing food, she confided, she also dreams of singing and dancing, and maybe becoming a movie star. After a little encouragement, she sang for us – Shakira’s ‘Waka Waka.’

When the performance ended, Shasha bid us farewell. She still had work to do, and because of the scarcity of electricity, she had to finish before night fell on the camp.


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search