海地

海地青少年用街舞激励震灾后重建

海地地震:一年报告

一年后,海地的儿童们仍在应对2010年1月12日发生的地震所造成的挥之不去的影响。以下是讲述从救灾到灾后恢复的漫漫长路的系列故事之一。

托马斯.尼伯报道

海地太子港,2011年1月13日:在2010年1月地震后与父母离散的十名男童组成了一个演唱队,并采用街舞的形式激励他们的同胞重建家园。

视频:地震一周年后,联合国儿童基金会通讯员托马斯.尼伯报道海地一组男童利用街舞形式激励灾后重建。 在Realplayer中播放

这些男童来自太子港临时居住区的家乐福接待中心,那里有390名男孩。中心提供住宿、熟食、教育和职业培训,同时该中心的工作人员正想方设法寻找孩子们的家人帮助与其家人团聚。

这些男孩组合了一个叫“心连心”(Coeur à Coeur)的街舞队。他们最受欢迎的歌曲,‘我们正下定决心’号召大家不仅要做好事,还要以灾后重建的坚定决心来抑制海地社会的犯罪因素。

宣传正面信息

13岁的尤里.贝尔卡,已在中心住了六个月。他是那里最优秀的学生之一,并将积极推动社会变革的信息编进自己的歌词中,他为此感到非常自豪。特别是这首“我们正下定决心”的歌曲。

 

视频:年轻的海地街舞组合“心连心”(Coeur à Coeur)在演唱“我们正下定决心”,呼吁大家开始行动重建他们遭到地震破坏的国家。 在Realplayer中播放

“这首歌提到改变海底的方式”,他说,“去除恶扬善,建设一个更好的海地。”

尤里在课堂里学到的技能将帮助他为重建国家尽己所能。“我会将数学知识用于建筑,”他说道。“想像如果我在修路或盖房子,我需要了解数字、乘法和相关的知识。”

安全的环境

家乐福接待中心正与联合国儿童基金会密切合作使家庭完整,并为没有父母的儿童提供一个可靠和安全的环境,为他们准备好一个充满活力和希望的未来。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Nybo
13岁的尤里.贝尔卡,是海地男童街舞组合的成员,他在演唱重建自己国家的歌曲。他住在联合国儿童基金会支持的太子港临时居住中心。

“我们的愿景不是将儿童留在机构,因为我们知道儿童生活的最好地方不是在中心,而是在家庭中,”在中心工作的杰夫.迪瑞索说道。

地震后联合国儿童基金会为中心提供了包括帐篷、衣物等教育和休闲用品,现在正不断加深支持的力度。

“一个美丽的海地”

“该中心的管理团队明确向我们表示,这个中心不应取代家庭的作用,”联合国儿童基金会儿童保护专家丹尼斯.欧瓦说道。“因此,在提供了一些日常用品后,是让我们行动起来的时候了,我们需要跟踪和帮助儿童[与家人]团聚,最后,如果有可能,在团聚后进行随访,并为这些家庭提供一些经济支持。”

有了这样的支持,欧瓦女士补充道,家长和监护人“能管好自己的孩子,他们可以送自己的孩子们回学校,还可以为自己的孩子们提供一些医疗护理。”

至于尤里,他对生活非常乐观,不仅因为他在中心得到了良好的教育,而且他还发现自己的想法得到观众认可是非常快乐的事。

“地震一年后,我希望看到的国家改变是,”他说道,“一种团结的力量,即所有海地人团结起来为国家工作,清理国家,保护国家和修建道路,这样我们才能重新拥有一个美丽的海地。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Haitian youths use hip-hop to inspire earthquake recovery

Haiti earthquake: one-year report

Children in Haiti are still reeling from the impact of the 12 January 2010 earthquake. Here is one in a series of stories on the long road from relief to recovery, a year later.

By Thomas Nybo

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 13 January 2011 – An enterprising group of 10 boys who were separated from their parents during the January 2010 earthquake are using hip-hop to inspire their fellow Haitians to rebuild the country.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on a group of young boys using hip-hop to inspire the process of rebuilding Haiti a year after the earthquake.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

They are among 390 boys who live at Centre d’accueil de Carrefour, a residential-care centre in Port-au-Prince, where they receive housing, hot food, education and vocational training while the centre’s staff works to reunite them with their families whenever possible.

The boys formed a hip-hop group called Coeur à Coeur (Heart to Heart). Their most popular song, ‘We’re Making Up Our Minds,’ is a call to action – not only to do good but to overwhelm the criminal element in Haitian society with the sheer force of determination to recover from the disaster.

Positive messages

Youri Belcomb, 13, has spent six years at the residential centre. He is one of its top students and takes great pride in his ability to weave messages of positive social change into his lyrics – especially ‘We’re Making Up Our Minds.’

VIDEO: The young Haitian hip-hop group Coeur à Coeur sings 'We're Making Up Our Minds,' a call to action to rebuild their devastated nation.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“This song talks about the way people can clean up Haiti,” he says, “to get rid of the bad and replace it with the good, to make a better Haiti.”

The skills Youri is learning in the classroom will help him do his part to rebuild the country. “I will use mathematics to help me with construction,” he explains. “Imagine that I’m building a road or a house – I’ll need to know the numbers, multiplication and everything.”

Safe environment

Centre d’accueil de Carrefour is working closely with UNICEF to make families whole and to ensure the children with no parents have a secure, safe environment that prepares them for a productive and rewarding future.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Nybo
Youri Belcomb, 13, a member of a Haitian boys' hip-hop group that is singing about rebuilding their country. He lives at a UNICEF-supported Port-au-Prince residential-care centre.

“Our vision is not to institutionalize the children, because we know that the best place for the children is not in a centre – it’s in the family,” says Jeff Desruisseaux, who works at the facility.

UNICEF provided educational and recreational supplies to the centre after the earthquake, including tents and clothing, and is now increasing its level of support.

‘A beautiful Haiti’

“The management of the centre made clear to us that this centre should not replace the family,” says UNICEF Child Protection Specialist Denise Ulwor. “So after giving some supplies, it’s time for us to act and to do some tracing and reunification of children [with their families] – and finally, if it’s possible, to follow up after reunification and to provide some economic support to the families.”

With that support, adds Ms. Ulwor, parents and guardians “can keep their children, they can bring back their children to school and they can provide some medical care to their children.”

As for Youri, he’s excited about life, not only because he’s getting a solid education but because he’s discovered how much he loves having an audience for his ideas.

“The change I want for the country one year after the earthquake,” he says, “is to see a unification, that all Haitians become one to do the country’s work – to clean the country, to protect the country and to construct roads so that we can have a beautiful Haiti.”


 

 

New enhanced search