海地

克里斯汀的故事:一名14岁的海地学生在震后勇敢面对生活

海地地震:一年后

一年后,海地的儿童们仍在应对2010年1月12日发生的地震所造成的挥之不去的影响。以下是讲述从救灾到灾后恢复的漫漫长路的系列故事之一。

托马斯.奈博报道

海地太子港,2011年1月11日 – 上个月,一支联合国儿童基金会新闻队在太子港机场附近的一个流离失所难民营与14岁的克里斯汀(Christine)在她家的帐篷外见了面。五个月前,这支队伍连续五天跟踪报道这位年轻的幸存者如何一边与母亲和弟妹住在拥挤的避难所,一边保持成绩在学校名列前茅。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员托马斯.奈博报道14岁海地女孩的进步。尽管2010年1月发生的地震所造成的影响依然存在,但是这个女孩在学校的表现非常优秀。  在Realplayer中播放

 

他们家的房子和大部分家产在1月12日的地震中被毁,在那之后,克里斯汀的母亲只有钱送一个孩子上学。她选择了克里斯汀。

联合国儿童基金会在最近的一次探访中发现克里斯汀正在写一篇关于她的生活的文章。她说,好消息是她的母亲现在卖旧运动鞋挣到的钱可以供家里的所有三个孩子上学。

热爱学校

克里斯汀说:“我的弟弟和妹妹对上学充满热情。他们热爱他们的学校。我的小妹妹每天很早起床,洗澡,然后准备去上学。这让我也很高兴。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
学校是14岁的克里斯汀(Christine)的生命线。海地大规模的地震发生一年后,她全家现在还生活在一个帐篷里。

克里斯汀每天都很忙。不学习的时候,她要帮家里做家务:在他们生活的营地里接自来水、准备食物、洗碗、洗衣服、打扫帐篷。

但是她说帐篷里的生活越来越艰苦,她很想搬回到永久性的房子里生活-虽然她不知道这个愿望什么时候才能实现。

“外面天气好的时候,帐篷里会非常热。下雨的时候,雨水会渗到帐篷里。营地里有很多的垃圾。如果有人生病了,我们也不知道该把他们送到哪里去。正因为这样,我才觉得营地里的生活让我很伤心。”

教育和家庭

克里斯汀说教育和家庭是激励她的两个恒久不变的因素。当地震摧毁了她的家园和学校后,她彻底绝望了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
图中和联合国儿童基金会的工作人员在一起的14岁的克里斯汀(Christine)正在学校茁壮成长,虽然她全家在海地震后仍在挣扎着求生。

她回忆说:“地震发生后,我最大的担心就是再也没有学校了。但我一直学习,因为我始终认为教育是我生活的关键。我很爱学校。没有学校,我什么事也做不了。没有教育,人就无法保护尊严。”

地震破坏了教育部的建筑,摧毁了将近5000所学校,中断了震区儿童的课程,其中就包括克里斯汀和她的弟弟妹妹。联合国儿童基金会重建教育系统的努力已经覆盖到了大约2000所学校中的72万名儿童,但是未来还有很多工作要做。海地220万小学学龄儿童中有超过一半没有上学。

“要坚强”

在联合国儿童基金会的新闻小组离开克里斯汀的帐篷前,她给他们读了一段她写的文章:

“我出生于1996年1月10日。我出生后就一直不知道我的父亲是谁,总是妈妈在照顾我…虽然有时她没有工作。没有运动鞋可以卖,没有事情可以做,甚至无法给我们每天需要的面包。我们有时一整天都饿着肚子。妈妈看到我们这么痛苦,她会哭。与此同时,她却总是告诉我们‘要坚强。即使生活状况再糟糕,也不要害怕。’”


 

 

回到正轨

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Christine's story: A 14-year-old Haitian student braves the aftermath of the earthquake

Haiti earthquake: one-year report

Children in Haiti are still reeling from the lingering impact of the 12 January 2010 earthquake. Here is one in a series of stories on the long road from relief to recovery, a year later.

By Thomas Nybo

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 11 January 2011 – Last month a UNICEF communications team met up with Christine, 14, outside her family’s tent in a displacement camp near the Port-au-Prince airport. Five months earlier, the team had followed the young earthquake survivor for several days to see how she managed to achieve top marks in school while living in a cramped shelter with her mother, brother and sister.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on the progress of a 14-year-old Haitian girl who is doing well in school despite the lingering effects of the January 2010 earthquake.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Their home was destroyed in the January 2010 quake, along with most of their belongings, and afterwards Christine’s mother only had enough money to send one of her children to school. She chose Christine.

During the recent visit with UNICEF, Christine was working on an essay about her life. The good news, she said, was that her mother was now earning enough money selling second-hand sneakers to pay the school fees for all three children in the family.

Passionate about school

“My brother and my sister are absolutely passionate about going to school,” Christine said. “They love their school. My little sister wakes up early and washes herself every day, and gets ready for school. It makes me very happy.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
School is a lifeline for Christine, 14, whose family is still living in a tent a year after Haiti's massive earthquake.

Christine’s days are busy. When she’s not studying, she’s helping out with the family chores: fetching water at the taps in the camp where they live, preparing food, washing the dishes and clothing, and sweeping out their tent.

But she added that life in the camp had grown more difficult, and she was eager to make the move back into a permanent home – although she had no idea when that might happen.

“When the weather is nice outside, it is extremely hot inside the tent,” she said. “When it rains, water seeps into the tent. There is a lot of rubbish in the camp. If somebody is sick, we don’t know where to take them. For these reasons, living in the camp makes me sad.”

Education and family

Christine pointed to education and family as the two constants in her life that keep her spirits high. When the quake destroyed her home and her school, she was devastated.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Christine, 14, seen here with a UNICEF staff member, is flourishing in school despite the fact that her family is still struggling in the aftermath of the earthquake in Haiti.

“After the earthquake, my big fear was that there would no longer be school,” she recalled. “But I kept studying, because I’ve always believed that education is the key to my life. I love school a lot. Without school, I can’t do anything. Without education, man cannot retain his dignity.”

The earthquake destroyed the Ministry of Education building and damaged nearly 5,000 schools, disrupting classes for children across the disaster zone , including Christine and her siblings. UNICEF’s efforts to rebuild and re-supply the education system has reached 720,000 children in some 2,000 schools , but there is much work left to be done. More than half of the 2.2 million primary school-age children in Haiti are not in school.

‘Always be strong’

Before the UNICEF team left Christine’s camp, she read them a portion of her essay:

“I was born on January 10th, 1996. Since my birth, I have never known my father. It’s always been my mother who has taken care of me…. At times, though, she didn’t work. There were no sneakers to sell. There was nothing to do, even to give us our daily bread. There were days when we stayed with an empty stomach for the whole day. My mother seeing us in this misery would cry a lot. At the same time, she would always say to us, ‘Always be strong, even if life dishes out the worst. Don’t be afraid.’”


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search