海地

海地地震后,如何面对性别暴力的观念在改变

海地太子港,2010年10月20日——25岁的特丽娜.达.艾萨克,在太子港特仁.厄卡尔营地中走上一个小坡。她是联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴美国难民委员会(ARC)的一名工作人员,该机构正在当地对海地妇女和女童就性别暴力进行权利方面的教育,性别暴力指包括家庭暴力、强迫卖淫、性攻击和强奸等概念。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员努南报道,海地震后改变对性别暴力观念的怒力。 在Realplayer中播放

达.艾萨克女士在难民营中的一个窝棚前躇足,自海地一月份的地震后,该营地已为数千人提供了居家的窝棚与帐篷。门外,只有一块金属皮,她讲述了居住在难民营内妇女们的一些现状。

“试想住在这样的房子里。一个男人只要将金属皮拉开,就能轻易进入屋内。或者,如果我们住在帐篷里,他们也可用刀片切割进入,靠近女孩。因此,我们没有安全可言,”达.艾萨克女士说道。

生活在恐惧中

“在海地,一直就有强奸、性暴力和其他形式的剥削,这些被用来作为控制社区的政治武器,并通过恐吓和性别疑惑来胁迫居民,”联合国儿童基金会专门从事紧急情况下性别暴力行为的一名专家,门迪.玛莎,在今年夏天的一项研究中提到。这次地震和帐篷城市的划分使海地首都变成了现在的样子,这使性别暴力的威胁变得更严重,玛莎女士补充道。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
海地太子港为流离失所的地震灾民所设的特仁.厄卡尔营地,在一堂为妇女开的课堂上,一名讲师引导着大家针对性别暴力进行探讨。

对达.艾萨克女士来说,营地的生活为妇女和女童所面临的危险带来了新节奏。例如,她注意到,当一群妇女到户外的公共水龙头前去冲洗时,营地的男人们更易借故生端。

即使在地震前,强奸和性侵犯的发生率在海地的数据,就很难甚至无法估计。妇女生怕报告了强奸或骚扰案后,遭人耻笑,或因对警方长期的不信任而不报案,她们简单地认为这样做不会造成什么后果。

然而,联合国儿童基金会认为自地震以来性犯罪在严酷的生活状况恶化的条件下已不断增加。一个基本问题是,当加勒比海岛国的飓风季节来到时,纯粹呆在帐篷或窝棚里,会变得很闷热,身体不适,人会变得非常脆弱。男人们在地震后失去家园和生计后会感到渺小无能,权利被剥夺,其中一些人可能将他们的愤怒挫折发泄到妇女和女童身上。

保安措施

“这种状况对每个人,无论是男人、男童、妇女和女童来说都很麻烦,”联合国儿童基金会的另一位性别暴力专家,苏尼塔.帕勒克说道。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
海地为灾区流离失所者所设的难民营区环境严酷而且不安全,暴力现象及对妇女和女童的性骚扰的危险不断增加。

“男人没有获得生计。他们不能支撑其家庭的生活,”帕勒克女士补充道。“而且,这也为发生暴力行为提供了机会…妇女和女童在这种状况下变得特别脆弱。许多妇女和女童与家庭离散,单独在此。这种缺乏社会构架、网络和家庭支持的状况,也使妇女和女童更易受到伤害。”

联合国儿童基金会正在与联合国海地稳定特派团(联合国驻海地维和团)携手,加强切实措施,提高妇女和女童在难民营中的安全,例如改善照明和增加维和人员巡逻等。联合国儿童基金会还与卫生部和司法部为妇女建立一个完善制度,使其能揭发强奸而不用担心被报复,并有信心她们的报告将被认真处理。

观念的变化

此外,联合国儿童基金会正在应对一个更无形的挑战:改变海地男人对阳刚、妇女和暴力的观念。正如玛莎女士在她的研究中指出的那样,将阳刚与暴力和统治联在一起的观念是一种被灌输的习惯。男子和男孩的观念受到认知的影响,即使个别男人或男孩心里知道暴力是不对的,还是会认为‘男子汉’隐含着对妇女采取暴力行为的意愿。

“在该国对暴力行为有太多的宽容。她们会说,‘这样的事情一直有。就是这样的,'”联合国儿童基金会国家主任弗朗.索瓦.克鲁斯-阿克曼斯说道。“在营地中,就是培训、辅导、提高认知,但也会讲创新预防措施。”

这个努力包括一个新的教育运动,以改变男人和男孩从小被灌输的对阳刚的看法。在课堂上挑战他们让其根据自己的信仰为阳刚做出新的定义:对妇女的暴力行为是错的,例如,参与防止暴力和支持其受害者的做法值得钦佩。

‘她们不必成为受害者’

正如男人和男孩被灌输成暴力实施者那样,妇女同样被灌输成性侵犯、强奸和其他罪行的受害者,上课的内容将集中在教育她们什么样的行为将构成暴力。

一个胶合板搭的教室内放置了一排排长椅,教师马维纳.伊斯坦挪威尔站在弧型的讲台上,面对一个有20位左右年轻妇女和女童的小组。“你能告诉我什么是肢体暴力吗?请告诉我肢体暴力的一些细节,”她在课堂上问道。

一位妇女回答道,肢体暴力是“本不应发生在你身上的事情发生了。”伊斯坦挪威尔女士摇了摇头,接着说“肢体暴力就是你被打、或被压在身下、受到伤害的时候行为,所有这些行为都属肢体暴力范畴”。

之后,伊斯坦挪威尔女士注意到,妇女对暴力行为更倾向于接受,而且“要将这种想法消除,并不是一件容易的事。但是,随着我们研讨会的开展,我们会不断重复提暴力不好,暴力有害。所以,一点点,她们可不断了解,不必成为受害者。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Confronting gender-based violence, and changing perceptions, in Haiti after the quake

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 20 October 2010 – Terlena Day-Isaac, 25, makes her way up a hill in the Terrain Acra camp in the Port-au-Prince. She is a staff member with the American Refugee Committee (ARC) the UNICEF partner that is teaching Haitian women and girls about their rights with regard to gender-based violence – a term that encompasses domestic violence, forced prostitution, sexual assault and rape.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent MP Nunan reports on efforts to change attitudes about gender-based violence in post-earthquake Haiti.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Ms. Day-Isaac stops at one shack in the camp, which has been home to thousands of people living in shacks and tents since Haiti’s earthquake in January. Outside the door – a mere piece of scrap metal – she explains some of the realities for women living in a camp.

“Imagine living in a house like this. A man can just pull the metal away and get into the house. Or if we’re living under the tents, they can take a razor blade and get to the girl. So we don’t have security,” says Ms. Day-Isaac.

Living in fear

“In Haiti, there is a history of rape and other forms of sexual violence and exploitation being used as a political weapon against communities to subdue them through fear and gendered mistrust,” notes Mendy Marsh, a UNICEF specialist on gender-based violence in emergencies, in a study that she wrote this past summer. The earthquake and the scores of tent cities that now mark Haiti’s capital have brought this threat of gender-based violence into even sharper relief, adds Ms. Marsh.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
At Terrain Acra camp for displaced earthquake victims In Port-au-Prince, Haiti, an instructor leads the discussion in a women's class on perceptions of gender-based violence.

For Ms. Day-Isaac, life in a camp has created new rhythms to the danger facing women and girls. She has noticed, for example, that men in the camp tend to become aggressive when a group of them go to bathe, outdoors, at a common tap.

Even before the earthquake, figures for the incidence of rapes and sexual assault in Haiti were difficult if not impossible to come by. Women fear stigmatization for reporting a rape or assault, or else – because of a long-held distrust of police – they simply believe that nothing will come of it.

Still, UNICEF believes sex crimes have increased amidst the harsh living conditions that have prevailed here since the earthquake. One underlying problem is the sheer physical discomfort of living in a tent or shack that can be stifling hot – frighteningly flimsy, as hurricane season bears down on the Caribbean island nation. Men can feel disempowered or disenfranchised after losing their homes and livelihoods in the earthquake, and some may take out their frustrations on women and girls.

Security measures

“The situation is difficult for everyone – men, boys, women and girls,” says Sunita Palekar, another UNICEF gender-based-violence specialist.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Harsh and insecure conditions in camps for the displaced in the Haitian earthquake zone have increased the risk of violence and sexual assault against women and girls.

“Men don’t have access to livelihoods. They aren’t able to provide for their families,” adds Ms. Palekar. “But this also increases the opportunities for violence to take place … and women and girls are particularly vulnerable to that. Many women and girls are separated and here alone. This lack of social structure, a network and family support also makes women and girls more vulnerable.”

UNICEF is working with MINUSTAH, the United Nations peacekeeping mission in Haiti, to step up practical measures that will increase security for women and girls, such as improving lighting in camps and increasing patrols by peacekeepers. UNICEF is also working with the Ministries of Health and Justice to build an improved system for women to report rape without fear of retribution - and with confidence that their reports will be taken seriously.

Changing attitudes

In addition, UNICEF is tackling a more amorphous challenge: altering Haitian men’s perceptions about masculinity, women and violence. As Ms. Marsh points out in her study, ideas linking masculinity to violence and domination are a learned habit. Men’s and boys’ attitudes are influenced by the perception that being ‘manly’ implies a willingness to commit violence against women, even if the individual man or boy personally believes that violence is wrong.

“There is too much tolerance in this country around violence. They say, ‘It’s always happened. It’s like that,’” says UNICEF Country Director Françoise Gruloons-Ackermans. “In the camps, it’s about training, counselling, about raising awareness, but it’s also about bringing new innovative prevention.”

This effort includes a new educational campaign to change perceptions about masculinity that men and boys learn from an early age. Classes challenge them to formulate new definitions of masculinity based on their own beliefs: that violence against women is wrong, for example, and that intervening to prevent violence and supporting its victims are practices to be admired.

‘They don’t have to be victims’

For women – who learn to be victims of sexual assault, rape and other crimes, just as men and boys learn to inflict them – classes focus on teaching them exactly what actions constitute violence.

In a plywood classroom lined with benches, teacher Mavina Estenovil from the ARC stands in front of a group of about 20 young women and girls. “Can you tell me what physical violence is? I need some details on physical violence,” she asks the class.

A woman responds that physical violence is “when something happens to you and it’s not supposed to happen to you.” Ms. Estenovil shakes her head. “Physical violence is when they beat you up, or crush you down, hurt you – all these are physical violence,” she says.

Later, Ms. Estenovil notes that women’s tendency is accept violence “is not an easy matter to take from their minds. But with our seminars, we keep repeating that violence is no good, violence is no good. So, little by little, they are learning that they don’t have to be victims.”


 

 

Related link

UNICEF's work with gender-based violence in emergencies

New enhanced search