海地

海地的青少年愿在震后贡献一份力量

M.P. 努南报道

海地太子港,2010年9月14日 - 他们来到这里,为的是表达自己的心声。

联合国儿童基金会的M.P. 努南(M.P.Nunan)就海地太子港举办的青年参与论坛进行了报道 。

海地太子港最近举办的活动,联合国儿童基金会 的“旨在转变儿童议程的儿童及青少年参与运动”,使五十名年轻的参与者们第一次有机会表达自己的心声。他们谈论了很多问题,包括社会、环境和经济问题,以及年轻人们在建设海地未来中所扮演的角色。

这项参与运动将通过辩论、论坛和会议等一系列的形式给海地的年轻人提供一个机会,使他们能够在11月总统选举前的几周时间内表达希望和要求。

选举季节

注意到海地目前正值选举时期,很多年轻的参与者们强调了国家和地方政府聆听儿童心声的重要性,并呼吁让儿童们参与决策过程。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HTIA2010-00405/Ramoneda
17岁的克里斯兰在海地太子港为流浪儿童和青少年建立的拉古中心里学习缝纫课程。太子港最近举办了一个关于青少年参与建设海地未来的论坛。

一名年轻的参与者卢克森.朱利安(Luxon Julien)说:“我们的领导者们需要知道海地儿童目前生存的状况,这样他们的政治纲领才能为儿童们提供援助。”

一名发言人玛丽.莫伊兹. 路易桑特(Marie Moise Louissaint)在活动上对听众们说: “我们决心阻止对矿物质的过度开采、乱砍乱伐和侵蚀。”她还说现在是时候制止“污染和无知”了。

联合国儿童基金会驻海地代表弗朗索瓦丝.古洛斯-阿克曼(Francoise Gruloos-Ackerman)说,联合国儿童基金会积极地创建这个论坛,一部分原因很简单:海地将近一半的人口在18岁以下,总共有大约430万青少年和儿童。

古洛斯-阿克曼女士说:“现在我们有19位总统侯选人。我们还有一个[政府]委员会正在努力重建这个国家。”她指的是海地1月12日遭受的大地震。“我们认为我们必须帮助其他伙伴和政府,召集青少年和年轻人一起表达心声,让他们在国家重建的过程中发挥作用。”
 
新的首要任务

毁灭性的地震唤醒了很多海地年轻人强烈的政治意愿。现在需要用新锐的视觉重新审视海地的需求。

17岁的汉利.卡利扎尔(Hanly Calizaire)是一名童子军,也是启动活动上的发言人之一。他说他看到身边和他同是一代人的其他成员,他们当中很多都受到了地震的影响。他并不喜欢他所看到的。
 
汉利在论坛上说,海地的青少年已经太久不能参与和他们相关的决策过程。“我们年轻人说‘不’,不可以再这样继续下去了。必须要改变现状。” 
 
他随后向政府提出了一系列创造就业的建议,包括向小企业发放小额贷款,并通过就业办公室使找工作更加容易。

准备行动

古洛斯-阿克曼女士说年轻人所展现出的热情“很了不起”。她强调说,一个男孩重复了年轻人以前向联合国儿童基金会的工作人员说过的一句话。古洛斯-阿克曼女士回忆道:“你们都说儿童是未来,但是我们也是现在。所以现在是时候让我们和你们一起采取行动了。”
 
她接着说:“他们真的对这个论坛很满意,但同时也有点失望,因为我们在一起只有两三个小时的时间,他们还想做更多的事情。”
 
参加了此次活动的海地青年、体育和公民行动部部长埃文斯.莱库夫莱尔(Evans Lescouflair)说青少年的热情和慷慨值得称赞。年轻人在2010年一月的地震中,以及之前海地遭受的灾难(包括多次的飓风袭击)中向很多人伸出了援助之手。。
 
但是莱库夫莱尔先生也承认海地年轻人身处的状况令人不安。
 
“你们代表了这个国家最脆弱的人群-尽管你们也是最慷慨的。你们正面对着经济问题、取得专业成就的挑战、失业,以及难以获得基本的社会服务…所以我希望你们意识到你们的公民权利和公民责任。”
 
在海地全国,很多年轻人都做好准备响应这项行动呼吁。汉利说:“如果他们给我们机会,我们将会把海地再次变为‘安的列斯群岛的珍珠’。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Haiti's youth ready to act in post-earthquake era

By M.P. Nunan

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 14 September 2010 - They came so their voices would be heard.

VIDEO: UNICEF's M.P. Nunan reports on a forum for youth participation in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

 

Fifty young participants at UNICEF’s ‘Children and Youth Participation Movement for a Transformative Agenda for Children,’ an event held recently in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, were able to voice opinions as never before. They addressed issues including social, environmental and economic concerns, as well as the role of young people in Haiti’s future.

The Participation Movement will take the shape of a series of debates, forums and conferences to allow Haitian young people a chance to express their hopes – and demands – in the weeks ahead of its November presidential election.

Voting season

Noting that it is currently an election period in Haiti, many young participants stressed the need for local and national leaders to hear the voices of children and to include them in their decision-making.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HTIA2010-00405/Ramoneda
Chrisline, 17, attends sewing class at the Lakou centre for street children and youth in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. The city recently hosted a forum on youth participation in Haiti's future.

“Our leaders need to know about the conditions Haitian children are living in now, so in their political programme they can bring them assistance,” said one young participant, Luxon Julien.
 
“We are determined to prevent the over-exploitation of minerals, deforestation and erosion,” one speaker, Marie Moise Louissaint, told an audience during the event. It’s time, she added, to end both “pollution and ignorance.”

UNICEF Representative in Haiti Francoise Gruloos-Ackerman said the organization was motivated to create the forum in part by simple facts: nearly half of Haiti’s population is under 18 years old – some 4.3 million adolescents and children overall.

“Now we have 19 candidates for the presidency,” said Ms. Gruloos-Ackerman. “We also have a [government] commission that is working for the reconstruction of the country,” she added, referring to the country’s massive earthquake on 12 January. “We thought that we have to help other partners and the government to bring adolescents and young people together to give them a voice, give them a role to play in the reconstruction of their country.”
 
New priorities

The devastating earthquake awakened a strong political awareness in many of Haiti’s young people. The country’s needs were put into sharp new perspective.

Hanly Calizaire, 17, is a Boy Scout and one of the speakers at the launch event. He said he looked around at other members of his generation, many of whom were affected by the quake, and didn’t like what he saw.
 
The youth of Haiti, Hanly told the forum, have spent too much time excluded from decisions that affect them. “We, the young people, say ‘no’ – it cannot go on like this. It has to be changed.” 
 
He then presented a list of suggestions for the government to do more to generate employment, including extending micro-credit for small businesses and making it easier to find jobs through employment offices.

Ready to act

Ms. Gruloos-Ackerman said the amount of enthusiasm demonstrated by the young people was “amazing.” One young man, she noted, repeated a statement that UNICEF staffers had heard from young people before. “He said, ‘You all say that the children are the future – but we are the present. So it’s now that we have to act with you,’” Ms. Gruloos-Ackerman recalled.
 
“They were really pleased with this forum,” she added. “And a little bit frustrated also – because we spent only two or three hours together, and they wanted to do more.”
 
Haiti’s youth deserved to be praised for their generosity of spirit, said Haiti’s Minister of Youth, Sports and Civic Actions, Evans Lescouflair, who also attended the event. Young people had reached out to help many during the January 2010 earthquake and in earlier Haitian disasters, including its many hurricanes.
 
But Mr. Lescouflair also admitted that the situation of young people in the country remains precarious.
 
“You represent the most vulnerable demographic in the country – even if you are the most generous,” he told the forum’s young participants. “You’re facing economic problems, challenges achieving professional qualifications, unemployment and difficult access to basic social services … so I’m asking you to be conscious of your civil and civic responsibilities.”
 
Across Haiti, many young people are ready to take up the call to action. “If they give us our chance, we’ll turn Haiti back into the ‘Pearl of the Antilles,’” said Hanly.


 

 

New enhanced search