海地

曾在地震中被埋在地下两天的海地少女盼望回归正常生活

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Nybo
17岁的雷切尔.鲁尼克指着身旁的碎石堆,地震发生后她就是被埋在那里整整两天后才被一位邻居救出。

托马斯.尼博报道

海地发生地震两个多月以来,在需要紧急居住场所的120万人里,有超过四分之三的人已经领取到所需要的相关物资,随着暴雨季节临近,更多的工作也正在计划之中。然而,正如下面的故事所述,我们还有很多工作要做。

海地太子港,2010年3月29日 – 1月12日,地震刚开始时,17岁的雷切尔.鲁尼克赶忙从家中的二楼跑了出来。就当她离安全街区还差几步远时,隔壁公寓传来一名妇女痛苦的喊叫声。

出于本能,雷切尔立即转身跑回大楼里,因为她知道那名妇女和她的孩子需要帮助。几秒钟之后,一堵混凝土墙倒塌了,雷切尔不省人事,她的右臂被压在几百磅重的混凝土下面。

雷切尔指着一堆扭曲的钢筋和混凝土碎砖中一个极小的缝隙说:“我在那儿被困了两天。我开始祈祷,祈祷过后,我哭了。我相信上帝一定会把我带离这儿的。”

摆脱困境

直到48小时以后,雷切尔的高高瘦瘦的邻居卢卡斯.威尔逊才听到她微弱的哭喊声。威尔逊先生没有任何其他工具,单靠他的双手和一把锤子,艰难地在碎石堆里挖出一条通道,把雷切尔救了出来。他又以同样的方式营救了其他三位邻居。

雷切尔正说着她的故事,威尔逊先生走近前来,站在一堆碎石上,而这里曾经是雷切尔的家。地震几个星期过后,他依旧始终拿着一把砸坏了的铝制锤子和一把生锈的锯子。

当威尔逊先生被问到雷切尔的那位曾哭喊着求救的女邻居时,他停了下来,把手指向了夹在两堵倒塌的墙中间的头骨。她死了,怀里还抱着她的孩子。

安置里的生活

现在,雷切尔暂时住在“和平营”内的一个小帐篷里,“和平营”是在太子港市内为地震灾民建立起来的上百个营地中的一个。墙是一些旧褥子和桌布围成的,顶上罩着一层塑料布以遮蔽风雨。雷切尔和家人住在一起,除了她自己以外,她的家人都没有受伤。如今她所有的东西只剩下一个接水的塑料桶和一小堆衣物。

她说:“我们七个人住在这个帐篷里。住的条件非常差,下雨的时候会被淋湿,太阳升起来的时候又酷热难忍。而且我们还很难找到吃的东西。”

雷切尔受伤的手上还绑着绷带,不能自由地动弹。

她一边向我们展示怎样用她那只没有受伤的手提水桶, 一边说:“我唯一能做的事就是每天去打水,因为手受伤了,我也没什么其他日常的活动。”

希望回归正常的生活

雷切尔大部分的时间都在回想地震前的生活,以及海地怎样才能恢复到正常的状态。

她说:“让年轻人参与海地的重建非常重要,因为我们国家现在的境况非常糟糕。”

雷切尔十分渴望重返校园,她的受伤激励她成为一名医生,尽管她知道追寻梦想的道路漫长而艰难。

她说:“我希望每个人都能重返校园,因为如果接受不到良好的教育,我们什么也做不成。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年3月3日:17岁的雷切尔.鲁尼克在海地地震中被埋在碎石堆里整整两天才被邻居救出。请看联合国儿童基金会记者托马斯.尼博的报道。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Rescued by a neighbour, a young Haitian earthquake survivor dreams of normalcy

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Nybo
Rachel Lunique, 17, points to the rubble under which she was buried for two days following January’s earthquake in Haiti. She was rescued by a neighbour.

By Thomas Nybo

More than two months after the earthquake in Haiti, over three-quarters of the 1.2 million people in need of emergency shelter there have received shelter materials, and plans are in the works to do more as the storm season approaches. But as the following story demonstrates, much work remains to be done.

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 29 March 2010 – When the earth began to shake on 12 January 12, Rachel Lunique, 17, sprinted out the door of her family's second-floor apartment. Rachel was just a few steps from the safety of the street, when she heard the desperate cries of the woman in the apartment next to hers.

VIDEO: Watch now

Instinctively, Rachel turned and ran back into the building, knowing the woman and her infant child needed help. Seconds later, a concrete wall collapsed, knocking Rachel unconscious and pinning her right arm beneath hundreds of pounds of concrete.

"I was trapped there for two days," she says, pointing to an improbably tiny space enveloped by twisted steel support rods and broken concrete blocks. "I started to pray, and after I prayed, I cried. And I knew God was going to take me out of there."

Breaking through the rubble

It would be 48 hours before another neighbour – a tall, thin man named Lucas Wilson – heard Rachel's muffled cries. Using nothing but his hands and a hammer, Mr. Wilson painstakingly broke through the rubble, dug a tunnel and freed Rachel. He would free three other neighbours in the same fashion.

As Rachel tells her story, Mr. Wilson approaches and stands atop the rubble of what was once her family home. Weeks after the earthquake, he still carries a battered aluminium hammer and a rusty saw.

When asked about the fate of Rachel's neighbour, the woman who cried for help, Mr. Wilson pauses and points to a human skull lying deep in the crevasse of two fallen walls. She died cradling her infant child.

Life in a camp

Today, Rachel is living in a small, makeshift shelter in Champ de la Paix, one of hundreds of settlements for the displaced that have sprung up in and around the capital. The walls are made of old bed sheets and a tablecloth, with a plastic sheet stretched across the roof to keep out the rain. She shares the space with her family, none of whom – besides Rachel – were injured in the quake. A plastic bucket for water and a small pile of clothes are her only belongings.

"There are seven of us living in this tent," she says. "It's very difficult because when the rain comes, we get wet. And when the sun is up, it is very hot inside. And it is difficult for us to find food."

Rachel still wears a bandage on her injured hand, which has not regained mobility.

"One thing I can do is gather water every day," she says, demonstrating how she can carry a bucket with her good hand. "I don't have many regular activities because of my crushed hand."

Hope for a return to normalcy

Rachel spends most of her days thinking about life before the earthquake, and what it will take for Haiti to return to a semblance of normality.

"It's very important for young people to participate in Haiti's rebuilding because the way the country is right now, it is not good," she says.

Rachel is desperate to return to school. Her injury has motivated her to become a doctor, and she knows the path is long and difficult.

"I wish everybody could go back to school because without school, you can't do anything," she says.


 

 

Video

3 March 2010: UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on a young woman who was buried for two days following Haiti’s 12 January earthquake.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search