海地

灾区日记:帐篷学校为受地震影响的海地儿童提供庇护

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/Valcárcel/2010
在海地太子港西南部嘉里福-拂里地区的一个流离失所人口安置所,联合国儿童基金会搭建的帐篷学校于2月开放。联合国儿童基金会正努力让儿童们尽快回到学校上课,从而帮助他们恢复正常的生活。

本文作者戴安娜.瓦尔卡塞尔是联合国儿童基金会新闻专员,目前正在海地灾区工作。

海地太子港,2010年3月15日 – 在受到极大破坏的海地首都城市太子港,联合国儿童基金会支持的帐篷学校向受1月12日地震影响的儿童们开放。

 点击此处观看视频

我最近走访了其中一间临时学校。这间学校建在太子港西南部嘉里福-拂里地区一个已经成为临时安置中心的体育馆。这个帐篷学校是我来到海地以后所见过的最令人快乐的地方之一。

长期存在的问题

联合国儿童基金会的经验表明,在紧急状况发生后让儿童们尽快回到学校可以帮助他们恢复正常的日常生活。

即使是在1月12日的地震袭击以前,贫困和缺乏基础设施就已经造成了海地全国很低的入学率。地震无疑加剧了这一长期存在的问题。

教育部估计太子港西部80%的学校都受到了地震的严重破坏,西南部 35%至40%的学校被毁。这意味着多达5000所学校被毁,290万名儿童被剥夺了受教育的权利。

地震发生后,建立了一个教育组织后勤网络,由联合国儿童基金会和拯救儿童组织带头,旨在支持海地政府帮助儿童重返课堂的努力。

充满希望

我们在嘉里福-拂里地区访问的联合国儿童基金会帐篷学校于2月22日开放。它由两个大帐篷组成,一个供7岁至12岁的儿童使用,另一个供12岁至17岁的儿童使用。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/Valcárcel/2010
嘉里福-拂里地区帐篷学校里的一名海地学生在1月12日的地震中受伤,她的伤口上现在还包着纱布。

新学校不但向住在流离失所难民营里的儿童和青少年敞开了大门,而且还欢迎周围社区里的儿童,他们中有些人以前从来没有上过学。

来自海地红十字会的老师们给孩子们讲课。其中一位给年幼学生上课的老师尚塔尔.杜菲尔欣(Chantal Duphrézin)说联合国儿童基金会提供的新课桌椅已经送到了。

杜菲尔欣女士说:“我们坚信海地一定会变得更好。我们要充满希望。我们的努力一定会带来改变^总有一天,街上将不再有瓦砾。那正是我们所希望看到的。”

在游戏中学习

杜菲尔欣女士告诉我们她的教学组正在制定一个综合的学习计划,将游戏和传统的教学方法相结合,这样学生们可以在游戏的过程中学到知识。这种社会心理手段有助于儿童们在经历了紧急状况后重新回归学校生活。

我在帐篷学校里亲眼见识到了这种手段。我看到几组学生在老师的带领下唱教育歌曲。很明显,他们做到了寓教于乐。

稍后,我见到了一位12岁的女孩马萨卡(Matsaika),她正在桌子上安静地画画。马萨卡现在住在家乐福流离失所人口安置所里。她告诉我说:“等我长大了,我想当一名护士,为别人治病。我很高兴在这个学校上学。


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年2月26日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员尼娜.马蒂尼克报道联合国儿童基金会支持的帐篷学校为海地儿童们提供继续受教育的机会。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

回到正轨

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Field Diary: Tent schools provide a refuge for quake-affected Haitian children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/Valcárcel/2010
The UNICEF tent school at a settlement for displaced people in the Carrefour district, south-west of Port-au-Prince, Haiti, opened in February. UNICEF is working to get children back to school as soon as possible in order to restore a needed sense of normalcy.

By Diana Valcárcel

The following field diary was submitted by UNICEF Communication Specialist Diana Valcárcel, who is on the ground in Haiti.

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 15 March 2010 – In and around Haiti’s devastated capital city, UNICEF-supported ‘tent schools' are opening for children affected by the 12 January earthquake.

VIDEO: Watch now

I recently visited one of these temporary schools. It was housed in a former sports centre − now acting as a displaced persons camp – in the Carrefour district, south-west of Port-au-Prince. The tent school was one of the most cheerful places I've been since arriving in Haiti.

A longstanding problem
UNICEF’s experience shows that it is necessary to get children back to school as soon as possible after emergencies to restore a sense of normalcy in their daily lives.

Even before the earthquake struck on 12 January, poverty and a lack of infrastructure contributed to a low school-enrolment rate across Haiti. The quake only exacerbated this longstanding problem.

The Ministry of Education estimates that 80 per cent of schools west of Port-au-Prince were destroyed or severely damaged in the earthquake, and 35 to 40 per cent were destroyed in the south-east. This means that as many as 5,000 schools were destroyed and up to 2.9 million children here are being deprived of the right to education.

In the wake of the earthquake, a logistical ‘Education Cluster’ of organizations was created – co-led by UNICEF and Save the Children – to support the government in getting children back into schools.

‘Based on hope’
The UNICEF tent school that we visited in Carrefour opened on 22 February. It consisted of two large tents − one for children aged 7 to 12, and one for 12- to 17-year-old students.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/Valcárcel/2010
An injured Haitian student at the tent school in Carrefour.

Along with children and adolescents living in the displaced persons’ camp, the new school’s doors are also open to children from the surrounding neighborhood – some of whom have not been to school before.

Teachers from the Haitian Red Cross lead the classes. Chantal Duphrézin, one of the teachers leading the younger age group, mentioned that new desks and benches – provided by UNICEF − had just arrived.

“Haiti is going to change for better, we are sure,” said Ms. Duphrézin. “We have to be based on hope. And the change will take place by our efforts…. There will come a day when there will be no rubble in the street. That's what we want. "
 
Learning through play
Ms. Duphrézin told us that her team of teachers is developing a combined study plan that mixes fun with traditional educational methods, so that the students will learn while they play. This psycho-social technique helps to ease the transition back to school for children following an emergency.

I witnessed this technique firsthand in the tent schools, where I saw groups of students, led by their teachers, singing educational songs – and all clearly having fun while learning.

Later, I approached a girl named Matsaika, 12, who was painting quietly at her desk. Matsaika now lives in the Carrefour settlement for the displaced. "When I grow up I would like to be a nurse to heal others,” she told me, adding: "I am very happy at this school.”


 

 

Video

26 February 2010: UNICEF correspondent Nina Martinek reports on UNICEF-supported tent schools. Edited and produced by Nora Nonet. 
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search