海地

海地在瓦砾中纪念国际妇女节

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Bakody
举着横幅标语的玛瑞丽.安东尼是雅克梅勒妇女权利组织“妇女决定”的推广人员,她正在介绍为纪念国际妇女节活动所作的最后的准备工作。

珍妮弗.巴克迪报道

2010年3月9日,雅克梅勒,海地 - 在海地的地震中,妇女受到了沉重的打击。但是,她们并不孤单。在全球庆祝国际妇女节之际,海地政府和国际社会的领袖们重申了他们对妇女的支持。

为了纪念国际妇女节,海地妇女地位和妇女权利部为成千上万在一月份的地震中丧生的母亲、姐妹、妻子、女权主义者和活动家举办了纪念活动。

妇女是促进发展的引擎

在3月7日(星期天),至少有500名支持者参加了由妇女团体“妇女决定”组织的公众游行,走上雅克梅勒狭窄的街道,其中许多来自邻近社区的小型女子社团成员。“妇女决定”是一个具有20年促进妇女健康和人权历史的组织。

“妇女决定”协调员玛丽昂.诺埃尔,举着一块纸板,上面用黑体字写着:“100年来我们一直致力于加强妇女运动。”她说,灾难性的地震对海地妇女和女童来说将是前所未有的考验。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Bakody
对这两名在雅克梅勒遭到毁坏和尘土飞扬的街道上搬运货物的妇女来说,星期天不是休息日。整个海地,在今年的国际妇女节中强调了妇女在国家重建和发展中将发挥极其重要的作用。

“妇女是这个国家发展的引擎,”诺埃尔女士说道。“在许多关键部门妇女是生力军, 如商业领域、市场、教师和卫生部门等。”

静默反思

除游行外,“妇女决定”还举办了“静默反思”活动。参会者在当地的一个大厅内聚集,讲述自身在地震后的生活、损失和挣扎。她们分享着共同的希望,及促进妇女权利方面的想法与经验。

联合国儿童基金会正与“妇女决定”携手为保护妇女和儿童分发紧急救援物资,包括烹饪袋、卫生用品、和防水油布,这些都是雅克梅勒的基本所需。在“妇女决定”和其合作伙伴的努力下,通过改善获得各种服务的渠道,如从有计划的综合保健诊所,到为遭受强奸和性侵犯案中的受害者提供健康、心理、社会和法律服务,联合国儿童基金会正在扩大倡导妇女和女童权利的能力。

“支持海地的妇女运动是可持续发展的关键,”联合国儿童基金会性别暴力问题专家凯瑟琳.玛达那维斯基说道。“这样,联合国儿童基金会将提供所需资金建立一个极为有效的预防和治疗性暴力的方案。”

为震后妇女提供支持,是对一百多年来社会运动发展的回应,她补充说,“而且也是对那些将要重建这个破碎家园的海地女童和妇女的交代。”

卫生部、联合国系统及合作伙伴连同许多基层妇女组织也表彰了海地三位长期工作的杰出女权运动家,她们是安妮玛丽.克思诺,默格列.马塞兰和迈里亚姆.梅尔莱特,她们都在地震中遇难。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Amidst the rubble, Haiti celebrates International Women’s Day

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Bakody
Myrline Antoine, an outreach officer for the Haitian women’s rights organization Fanm Deside (Women Decide), discusses last-minute preparations for events commemorating International Women’s Day in Jacmel.

By Jennifer Bakody

JACMEL, Haiti, 9 March, 2010 – Women have been hit hard by the devastating earthquake that struck Haiti on 12 January. But they are not alone.

As the world celebrated International Women’s Day yesterday, Haitian authorities and leaders from the international community reiterated their support for the women of this quake-scarred country.

Haiti’s Ministry for the Status of Women and Women's Rights marked the day by honouring the tens of thousands of mothers, sisters, wives and activists who lost their lives in the disaster.

'Women are engines of development'
On Sunday, 7 March, at least 500 supporters – many of them the members of small women’s collectives from neighbouring communities − took to the narrow streets of the southern port city of Jacmel as part of a public march organized by Fanm Deside (Women Decide), a locally based organization with a 20-year history of promoting women’s health and human rights.

Marie-Ange Noel, coordinator of Fanm Deside, walked with a cardboard sign that read: ‘100 years we’ve been working to give the women’s movement strength.’ She noted that the devastation wrought by the earthquake will test the strength of Haitian women and girls as never before.

“Women are engines of development in this country,” said Ms. Noel. “They form a majority in many key sectors – in business, at the markets, as teachers and as health professionals.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Bakody
Sunday is no day of rest for two women carrying goods through the ruined and dusty streets of Jacmel. Throughout Haiti, this year’s International Women’s Day underscored the vital role that women will play in the country’s reconstruction.

Pause for reflection
In addition to the march, Fanm Deside organized what it called a ‘pause for reflection.’ One by one, participants who had gathered in a local hall offered testimony about their lives, losses and struggles following the earthquake. They shared messages of hope, as well as their ideas on advancing women’s rights.

UNICEF is working with Fanm Deside to distribute emergency supplies for women and children in Jacmel, including cooking and hygiene kits, and tarpaulins for shelter. Along with its partners, UNICEF is also advocating for women’s and girls’ rights through improved access to health care, psycho-social counselling and legal assistance in cases of rape and sexual assault.

“Supporting the women’s movement in Haiti is essential to sustainable development,” said UNICEF Gender-Based Violence Specialist Catherine Maternowska. “By doing this, UNICEF provides the funds needed to build strong gender-based violence prevention and treatment programmes.”

Providing support to women in the quake’s aftermath gives a voice to more than a 100 years of social movement-building, she added, “but also to the girls and women of Haiti who are left to rebuild this shattered country.”

The government, the UN family and its partners, including many grassroots women’s organizations, have also honoured the longstanding work of three prominent Haitian feminists – Anne-Marie Coriolan, Magalie Marcelin and Myriam Merlet – all of whom died in the earthquake.


 

 

New enhanced search