海地

灾区日记:为海地受地震影响的儿童做出的长期承诺

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Khadivi
在首都太子港的街道上至今可见1月12日的地震给海地造成的破坏。

洛山.卡迪维报道

联合国儿童基金会新闻官员洛山.卡迪维在2010年2月25日写下了这篇灾区日记,记录了她在海地震区一个月的所见所闻。

海地太子港 – 地震过后,我作为应急小组的成员来到这个国家,今天是我在这里工作的最后一天。

 点击此处收听录音报道

过去的30天,在靠近图森路维杜尔国际机场的联合国儿童基金会临时帐篷办公室里,我每天从黎明到深夜在高温中工作,非常地紧张。联合国儿童基金会驻海地的永久性办公室和仓库被1月12日的地震严重破坏,所以我们的队伍从各个新的临时场所为海地开展援助工作。

我经历过全球各地的紧急情况,但海地是一次非常特殊的经历。驱车到首都太子港的每一个角落,你都会看到那里所遭受的大规模破坏的痕迹。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Khadivi
海地太子港一座被地震摧毁的教堂。

“比任何人想象的还要坚强”

我有一位同事是海地人,震后他从北美飞过来帮忙。我问他人们如何应对灾难。他回答说:“海地人比任何人想象的还要坚强。虽然人们很难忘却灾难的存在,因为你身边的一切都在时刻提醒你灾难的发生,但是他们还是会设法继续生活下去。”

首都的胜利广场公园曾经拥有美丽的景观,尤其是当海地每年二月举办年度狂欢节的时候。然而,同太子港周围的很多其他场地一样,这个公园已经成为了无家可归的人们避难的场所。

我看到孩子们在公园里玩耍嬉戏,并好奇地看联合国儿童基金会工作小组成员监督搭设“婴儿帐篷”。为了支持海地政府,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴在这些贫困的难民营地搭建帐篷,从而援助正在哺乳的母亲和新生儿,为他们提供隐私和一个安全的哺育环境。

公园里的其他援助活动包括提供清洁用水;为儿童接种麻疹、风疹、破伤风、白喉和百日咳疫苗;修建厕所;给那些与家人失去联络的无人陪伴的儿童登记。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Khadivi
太子港楼房倒塌废墟中的一辆被压瘪的机动车。

飓风季节临近

随着雨季和飓风季节渐渐临近,联合国儿童基金会的水和卫生工作小组正与海地政府合作,为无家可归的人口提供更多的厕所、分发安全用水并改善卫生条件。所有这些都是为了避免感染腹泻病的风险。

这是一项艰巨的任务,因为首都及受地震影响的雅克梅勒市和莱奥甘市的难民营地数量还在继续增加。事实上,海地许多地方在地震前就没有恰当的污水处理系统 ,因此带来了额外的挑战。

我非常敬佩联合国儿童基金会在这里的同事。他们很多人亲身经历了这场破坏性的自然灾难 ,失去了亲人、家园和财产,但是他们还是每天都在努力帮助改善海地儿童的生活。

上周,在靠近太子港的社区杰克山上,我在那里的帐篷学校里遇见了一位九岁的女孩约兰达(Yolanda)。她所在的山区只能通过一条崎岖的山路才能到达。尽管直升机都很难在那里降落,联合国儿童基金会的工作小组还是想办法将帐篷送到了那里,搭建临时学校和诊所。另外,还送去了教学工具、药物和基本的医疗设备。

学校带来希望

在地震中失去了家园和学校的约兰达说:“我喜欢画画、唱歌、跟小伙伴们玩。我今天非常高兴。”约兰达的老师奥尼克尔.保罗(Onickel Paul)告诉我说,帐篷学校的开放给儿童和家长们带来了希望,使他们相信海地的一切都会好起来。

尽管海地首都和边远地区只有一小部分学校开学了,所有人都在全力支持教育部的工作,使所有学校于3月31日复课。为了实现这个目标,将迅速建立帐篷作为教室使用,并寻找并培训老师。与此同时,还要执行一个加速学习的项目,从而确保学生的成绩不会落在后面。

最近,有一名记者问我,海地将如何应对未来巨大的挑战。我回答说,这些挑战正是联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴在灾区努力工作的原因。海地也许会在头版新闻中出现或者消失,但是我们援助海地的承诺是长期的。


 

 

录音报道(英文)

2010年2月25日:联合国儿童基金会应急小组成员罗申.卡达维在海地地震灾区发回的录音报道。
 音频  播放

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Field Diary: A long-term commitment to children affected by the earthquake in Haiti

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Khadivi
The devastation from the 12 January earthquake in Haiti can still be seen on the streets of Port-au-Prince, the capital.

By Roshan Khadivi

UNICEF Communications Officer Roshan Khadivi filed this field diary on 25 February 2010, offering reflections on her month in the Haitian quake zone.

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti – I arrived in this country after the earthquake as part of an emergency team, and today is the last day of my assignment here.

AUDIO: Listen now

The last 30 days – working in high temperatures, from early dawn until the late hours of the evening, in temporary UNICEF tent-offices next to Toussaint Louverture International Airport – were incredibly intense. The permanent UNICEF Haiti offices and warehouses were badly damaged by the 12 January quake, so the team is running its massive aid effort from new, makeshift locations.

I have been in many emergencies around the world, but Haiti has been a unique experience. A drive to every corner of the vcapital, Port-au-Prince, tells the story of the massive destruction that occurred.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Khadivi
A church destroyed by the earthquake in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

‘More determined that anyone can imagine’
I asked a colleague of Haitian origin – who flew in after the quake from North America to assist – how people here were managing to cope. “Haitian people are more determined that anyone can imagine. And while it is hard to forget, because everything that surrounds you is a reminder, still they are going to move on,” he replied. 

The capital’s Champs de Mars Park was once a marvel, particularly when Haiti hosted its annual carnival each February. Like many other sites around Port-au-Prince, this area has now become a refuge for displaced families.

I see children playing in the park, laughing and curiously watching a UNICEF team member monitoring a 'baby tent'. In support of the Haitian Government, UNICEF and its partners are assisting lactating mothers and newborns in these improvised camps by erecting tents that provide them with privacy and a safe, nurturing environment.

Other aid activities in the park include providing clean water; vaccinating children against measles, rubella, tetanus, diphtheria and whooping cough; building latrines; and registering unaccompanied children who have lost contact with their family members.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Khadivi
Vehicles crushed amidst the rubble of fallen buildings in Port-au-Prince.

Hurricane season looms
With the rainy and hurricane season looming, UNICEF’s water-and-sanitation teams are working with the Haitian authorities to increase the number of latrines, distribute safe water and improve hygiene and sanitation conditions for the displaced population – all of this in order to avert the risk of diarrhoeal diseases.

This is a large task, as the number of camps continues to grow in the capital and in the affected cities of Jacmel and Leogane. The fact that many parts of the country did not have adequate sewage systems – even before the quake – poses additional challenges.

I am in awe of my UNICEF colleagues here. Many were in the country during this devastating natural disaster and lost family members, homes and belongings, but they are still showing up every day to help make a difference in the lives of Haitian children.

During my last week in Haiti, I met a nine-year-old girl named Yolanda in a tent school on top of Mount Jacquot, a neighbourhood in the vicinity of Port-au-Prince. Her mountain community is accessible only by a steep road. Though it’s difficult for even helicopters to land here, a UNICEF supply team managed to deliver tents to construct a temporary school and a clinic, along with school kits, medicines and basic medical equipment.

School brings hope
“I like to draw, sing and play with my friends. I am so happy today,” said Yolanda, who lost both her home and her old school in the quake. Yolanda’s teacher, Onickel Paul, told me that the opening of the tent school had helped bring children and parents hope that things would get better in Haiti.

Despite only a handful of schools being open in the Haitian capital and outlying areas, everyone is working to support the Ministry of Education in its efforts to resume classes on 31 March. To achieve this goal, tents will be set up for immediate use as classrooms, and teachers will be identified and trained. An accelerated learning programme will be also be put in place to ensure that students do not fall behind.

Recently, a journalist asked me how Haiti will deal with the colossal challenges ahead. I replied that such challenges are the reason why UNICEF and its partners are on the ground, and that while Haiti might appear and disappear in the headline news, we have a long-term commitment here.


 

 

Audio

25 February 2010: Listen to an audio field diary from UNICEF emergency-response team member Roshan Khadavi in Haiti.
 AUDIO  listen

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search