海地

青少年志愿者在海地地震灾区建设卫生设施

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0238/Noorani
在海地太子港的一个贫民窟里,一群人拥在供水点周围。居民们经常要步行几公里打水,对因地震而流离失所的人们来说,卫生设施仍十分有限。

托马斯.尼博报道

海地太子港,2010年2月22日– 1月的地震过后,卫生成为海地最紧迫的问题之一。联合国儿童基金会估计总共有110万流离失所人口需要应急厕所。该机构及其合作伙伴计划在短期内安装超过1万个厕所,并在接下来的六个月内再安装2万多个厕所。

 点击此处观看视频

为了帮助实现这一目标,联合国儿童基金会呼吁其非政府合作伙伴“海地校外青少年生计倡议”(法文缩写IDEJEN)建造1000个卫生单元,其中包括厕所、淋浴和洗手设施。

IDEJEN于七年前启动,旨在为15至24岁的风险年轻人提供教育和职业培训。该机构的一名工作人员古尔达.普乐韦龙(Guerda Previlon)最近向来访者们展示了在救灾营里正在建造的新的卫生设施。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0216/Noorani
在太子港,联合国儿童基金会支持的海地校外青少年生计倡议为因地震而流离失所的人建造厕所。

“我们负责一切”

普乐韦龙女士指着一个有三个厕所蹲位的卫生设施说:“你现在看到的是一个由IDEJEN建造的卫生单元。”这个卫生设施里还将安装洗手台和淋浴喷头。她说:“我们会负责一切的工作,包括卫生单元的管理、排泄物的管理,以及污水的排放。”

普乐韦龙女士强调说IDEJEN还将在营地提供有关个人卫生和环境卫生的教育。

这项倡议招募了1200名年轻人参与建造卫生单元。22岁的菲德尔.弗兰茨(Fidel Frantzy)就是其中的一个。在加入IDEJEN之前,他读书有困难,并且由于他缺乏教育,找工作也受限。后来,他 学习了阅读、写作和数学。他还学会了木匠活,他可以利用这门手艺来建造厕所。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0239/Noorani
在海地首都太子港一个为1月12日大地震幸存者建立的临时安置所里,一个女孩在一座倒塌的建筑物门口洗衣服。

服务社区

弗兰茨说:“这不是我们目前唯一的卫生项目。我们还有一支青年团队在营地里清扫街道。我很骄傲能够参与海地的这项努力,来帮助其他的年轻人和社区。”

IDEJEN 将于下周在这个营地里安装第一个卫生单元。这些卫生单元的使用寿命大概是两年。

填补卫生空白

弗兰茨女士说:“联合国儿童基金会提供资金支持来建造这些厕所,同时还提供一些培训。”

海地的雨季即将到来,由于临时安置所过分拥挤并且卫生条件很差,卫生专家们警告说有可能爆发大规模的腹泻病。IDEJEN的工作是通过为迫切需要援助的儿童和家庭填补卫生空白来降低疾病的威胁。

弗兰茨女士说:“我们很骄傲能带来这个产品。这是海地第一次使用这个产品,并且是由青少年们亲手制造的。”她还补充说这项努力正改变着人们对年轻人的看法,“社区认为处于困境中的青少年们无能为力。现在我们想让人们知道他们有能力、有技能,他们可以为服务社区做贡献。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年2月19日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员托马斯.奈博报道年轻人如何帮助震后的海地满足迫切的卫生需求。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Young people enlisted to help meet sanitary needs in quake-stricken Haiti

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0238/Noorani
People crowd around a water vendor in a slum area in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Residents must often walk several kilometres for water, and sanitation facilities are still limited for people displaced by the earthquake.

By Thomas Nybo

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 22 February 2010 – Sanitation is among the most urgent concerns in Haiti following January’s earthquake. UNICEF estimates that overall, 1.1 million displaced people require emergency latrines. The agency and its partners plan to install over 10,000 latrines in the short term and another 20,000-plus within six months.

VIDEO: Watch now

To help achieve this goal, UNICEF has enlisted its non-governmental partner, the Haitian Out-of-School Youth Livelihood Initiative (known by its French acronym, IDEJEN), to construct 1,000 sanitary blocks, which include latrines, showers and handwashing facilities.

IDEJEN was launched in Haiti seven years ago to provide education and vocational job training for at-risk young people between the ages of 15 and 24. One of its staff, Guerda Previlon, recently showed visitors the new sanitary facilities being constructed at a camp for people displaced by the quake.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0216/Noorani
In Port-au-Prince, members of the UNICEF-supported Haitian Out-of-School Youth Livelihood Initiative build latrines for people displaced by the earthquake.

‘We’ll take care of everything’
"What you are seeing here is a sanitary block made by IDEJEN youth," she said, pointing to a unit with three latrines, which will also have a hand-washing station and a shower. "We'll take care of everything, in terms of management of the sanitary block, in terms of management of the excreta and in terms of evacuation of used water.”

Ms. Previlon noted that IDEJEN will also provide education on hygiene and sanitation at the camp level.

The initiative has enlisted 1,200 young participants to build the sanitary blocks. Fidel Frantzy, 22, is one of them. Before arriving at IDEJEN, he had trouble reading and faced limited job prospects because of his lack of education. Since then, he has become proficient in reading, writing and mathematics, and also learned the trade of carpentry, which he's putting to use building the latrines.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0239/Noorani
A girl washes clothes by the gate of a collapsed building in a makeshift settlement for displaced survivors of the 12 January earthquake in Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital.

Service to the community
"I know that people need this service," Mr. Frantzy said of the latrines. "This is a rewarding project for me, because we are helping people who urgently need toilets.

“You know, it's not the only sanitation project we're working on,” he added. “We have a team of youth that clean the streets around the camps, too. I'm so proud to be a part of this effort in Haiti – to help other young people and the community."

IDEJEN will install the first sanitary block in a camp within the next week. The units have a lifespan of about two years.

Closing the sanitation gap
"UNICEF provided the financial support to build the latrines, and also they will provide some training," said Ms. Previlon.

As the rainy season draws near in Haiti, health experts are warning of a potential large-scale outbreak of diarrhoea, due to overcrowding and poor sanitation in makeshift settlement sites. The work of IDEJEN is reducing that threat by helping to close the sanitation gap for children and families in desperate need.

"We are so proud to come with this product. It is new in Haiti and it is made by the youth," Ms. Previlon said, adding that the effort is changing the way people look at young people: "The community thinks that youth in difficult situations cannot do anything. Now we want to show they have the capacity, they have the skills, to do a good thing that can be in the service of the community."


 

 

Video

19 February 2010: UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on how young people are helping to meet urgent sanitation needs in post-earthquake Haiti.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search