海地

婴儿帐篷为海地母亲提供安全的喂母乳场所

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0181/Noorani
在海地太子港战神广场的一个“婴儿帐篷”内,护士泰莎.艾玛库勒和丹尼尔讨论如何最好地给她的女儿奥利维亚喂母乳。

托马斯.尼伯报道

海地太子港,2010年2月18日 — 在这个受到重创的城市里,在房屋的废墟和临时救济营之间,立着12个帐篷。这些帐篷为母亲们和她们的婴儿提供了一个安全、平静的喂母乳的场所。

 点击此处观看视频

这些“婴儿帐篷”是反饥饿行动组织在联合国儿童基金会的支持下建立的。

19岁的阿纳斯塔西娅.圣.约瑟夫(Anastasia Saint Joseph)在一月地震发生后的第12天生下了她的孩子。她在太子港的家被摧毁了,现在她和她的十多个亲人生活在太子港一个临时难民营里的一块塑料篷布下。

阿纳斯塔西娅说:“我来这儿是因为他们给我一些营养建议,帮助我抚养我的两个孩子。我没给我的第一个孩子喂过母乳,所以他们教我怎么给第二个孩子喂母乳。他们告诉我在头六个月内完全给我的女儿喂母乳可以帮助她保持健康。”

反饥饿行动组织估计有数百位像阿纳斯塔西娅这样的哺乳期的母亲正在使用婴儿帐篷。工作人员现在正在附近的难民营宣传这项服务。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0188/Noorani
在太子港战神广场的一个爱幼帐篷内,索菲亚给她五个月大的女儿喂一杯婴儿配方奶粉。随时可食用的奶粉是用安全用水冲制的,从而避免污染的风险。

对母乳喂养的误解

很多海地的母亲停止母乳喂养,因为地震过后流传着一些错误的说法,比如压力使母亲停止分泌乳汁。另外一种误解是如果母亲吃的不好,那么她的乳汁也不好。

这些误解导致大量捐赠的婴儿配方奶粉涌入海地,造成了危险的情况。因为很多海地人缺乏清洁水,他们会用脏水冲奶粉,导致他们的婴儿感染致命的腹泻病。

联合国儿童基金会营养专家阿里.麦克莱恩(Ali Maclaine)说,人们需要在送出婴儿奶粉之前意识到可能产生的后果。她说:“你以为你在挽救婴儿,但你实际上是在威胁他们的健康和生命。”

联合国儿童基金会及反饥饿行动组织正在为在地震中失去母亲的儿童们提供随时可食用的婴儿配方奶粉。因为这些奶粉不需要搅拌,所以不存在从污水中感染腹泻病的风险 。然而,配方奶粉的制作必须受到监管,从而避免其他污染源并保持新鲜。

由于更多的像阿纳斯塔西娅这样的妇女发现了婴儿帐篷,联合国儿童基金会和反饥饿行动组织希望能够扩大这一项目。

帮助最脆弱的人群

反饥饿行动组织的露西尔.格罗斯让(Lucile Grosjean)说:“太子港到处都需要大量这种帐篷,因为海地有很多儿童。由于地震的发生,很多母亲都停止母乳喂养了,所以这种帐篷对于儿童的健康来说非常重要。同时,心理支持现在也非常重要。”

海地的婴幼儿是地震幸存者中最脆弱的人群,在其他紧急状况中也是如此。母乳喂养是帮助他们保持健康活力的负担得起,并且非常重要的方式。


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年2月16日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员托马斯.奈博报道联合国儿童基金会鼓励海地妇女喂母乳的努力。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

‘Baby tents’ offer quake-affected Haitian mothers a safe place to breastfeed

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0181/Noorani
In a ‘baby tent’ at Champs de Mars Plaza in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, nurse Tessia Emmaculee shows a mother how best to breastfeed her four-month-old daughter.

By Thomas Nybo

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 18 February 2010 – Amidst the collapsed buildings and temporary camps of this battered city stand 12 special tents dedicated to providing mothers and their infant children a safe and calm place to breastfeed.

VIDEO: Watch now

The 'baby tents' are run by the non-governmental organization Action Against Hunger, with support from UNICEF.

Anastasia Saint Joseph, 19, gave birth 12 days after the 12 January earthquake. Her home in Port-au-Prince was destroyed and she's now living under a plastic sheet with a dozen family members, in one of the city's many temporary housing camps. She's been coming to the baby tent for the past three days.

"I came here because they offered me nutritional advice for my two children," said Anastasia. "I didn't breastfeed my first child, so they taught me how to do it for my second. They taught me that if I breastfeed my baby girl exclusively for the first six months, it will help her stay healthy."

Action Against Hunger estimates that hundreds of lactating mothers such as Anastasia are using the baby tents. Workers are spreading word of the service throughout nearby camps for the displaced.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0188/Noorani
A mother feeds her five-month-old daughter a cup of ready-to-use infant formula in a baby-friendly tent set up at Champs de Mars Plaza in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Myths about breastfeeding

Many Haitian mothers stopped breastfeeding as a result of myths that arose after the quake, including that stress makes a mother's milk dry up. Another myth is that if a mother is not eating properly, her milk is not good.

These misconceptions triggered a massive influx of donated powdered infant formula, which has created a dangerous situation. Because many Haitians lack safe water, they're tempted to mix the formula with dirty water, which can leave their infants with life-threatening diarrhoea.

UNICEF nutritionist Ali Maclaine noted that donors need to be aware of the consequences before sending powdered infant formula."You think you're saving babies, but you are actually risking their health and lives," she said.

In the cases of young children who've lost their mothers to the earthquake, UNICEF and Action Against Hunger are providing ready-to-use infant formula. Because there's no mixing involved, there's no risk of getting diarrhoea from contaminated water. However, the formula must be administered under controlled conditions to avoid other contaminants and to preserve its freshness.

As more women like Anastasia discover the baby tents, UNICEF and Action Against Hunger are hoping to expand the programme.

Helping the most vulnerable

"There is a huge need of this kind of tent everywhere in Port-au-Prince, because there are a lot of children in Haiti," said Action Against Hunger staff member Lucile Grosjean. "And with the earthquake, a lot of mothers stopped breastfeeding, so it's really important for the well-being of the children to have this tent – and also the psycho-social support is really important."

As in any emergency, infants and young children are the most vulnerable survivors of the disaster in Haiti. Breastfeeding is an affordable and vital way to help keep them alive and healthy.


 

 

Video

16 February 2010: UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on UNICEF’s efforts to encourage breastfeeding by quake-affected Haitian mothers of infants and young children.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search