海地

在海地重建童年

地震后的儿童保护

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0190/Noorani
在海地首都太子港的南查尔斯难民营,一名小女孩从她所住的帐篷篷布的缝隙中向外望。

海地太子港,2010年2月16日 – 在受海地地震直接影响的人群里,估计有126万名儿童,其中更有70万是学龄儿童。他们急需支持和援助来重建他们的生活。

 点击此处观看视频

因此,联合国儿童基金会儿童保护主任苏珊.比斯尔(Susan Bissell)在最近对震区的考察过程中完全没有想到会听到儿童的笑声。但是,当她走近海地太子港一家由联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴建立的过渡安置中心时,她真真切切地听到了笑声。这个护理中心专门为在地震中与父母走散的儿童提供帮助。

灾后恢复正常生活

比斯尔女士说:“孩子们在外面的院子里玩耍。”她从1月31日至2月4日一直在海地考察灾区情况。

在闷热的下午,“男孩们在踢一个红色的塑料球。一些女孩们在玩跳皮筋。孩子们在一块儿玩耍,传来了阵阵笑声,”她补充说。

这个中心位于一扇保护儿童用的戒备森严的大门的后面,它是一个收留了年龄在7到15岁之间的地震幸存者的临时住所。中心包括三个大帐篷和一个封闭式的结构,工作人员都是接受过培训的专业人士,他们能够帮助满足在地震后精神受到创伤的儿童的需求。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0194/Noorani
在海地太子港的南查尔斯流离失所人口难民营里,一名婴儿睡在帐篷的入口处。

努力让家庭团聚

中心里的儿童们看起来并没有受多大的伤害并且得到很好的照顾,但是现在的挑战是要找到那些还在街头流浪的儿童,以及生活在临时社区里的儿童。

比斯尔女士说:“还有很多走散的儿童现在正由其他成年人和儿童陪伴。”联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正努力识别这些儿童并把他们送到过渡安置中心。在那里,他们可免受剥削、虐待和人口贩卖的伤害。与此同时,联合国儿童基金会正竭尽全力帮助他们与幸存的家人团聚。

比斯尔女士说:“我们在地面上有专家,他们知道如何追踪家庭的线索并让失散的亲人们团聚。”她还强调说这种家庭团聚已经开始了。

她讲述了过渡安置中心里一个迫切想和父母团聚的小女孩的故事。比斯尔女士说:“她很确定她的父母还活着,但是由于她精神上受到了刺激,她已经记不得她家的地址了。”联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴已经去过好几次这个女孩所认为的她家的地址,并继续寻找她家人的下落。

替代式安置的准则

虽然过渡安置中心正为儿童们提供身体和心理上的支持——这对于在海地地震这样的紧急情况中与父母走散的儿童的健康至关重要,但是,从本质上来讲,它还只是一个临时性的措施。联合国儿童基金会目前正与海地的社会福利机构一起为脆弱的儿童们安排一种替代性的安置方式。

海地有一系列的留宿幼儿中心,它们中的大多数都是私营的或者由宗教组织经营。然而,这些设施仍然不受管制。在缺乏标准的情况下,照顾往往是不足的。

比斯尔女士建议说现在对于海地来说是一个良好的时机,将联合国于2009年11月1日采纳的替代式安置准则付诸实践。这项准则的采纳恰逢《联合国儿童权利公约》发表20周年纪念。准则旨在确保儿童不会不必要地接受替代式安置措施,并且在提供家外安置时,必须考虑到儿童的权利、需求和最大的利益。

与此同时,在太子港的过渡安置中心,数十名儿童玩耍、吃饭、睡觉并接受他们所需要的心理咨询。那里还有一个放有长椅的临时教室,帮助他们继续接受教育——在危机时刻,这可以为儿童们带来一丝安全感。


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年2月12日:联合国儿童基金会儿童保护主任苏珊.比斯尔(Susan Bissell)介绍,在海地地震过后保障儿童的安全是首要任务。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Rebuilding childhood in Haiti

Child protection after the earthquake

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0190/Noorani
A girl looks out from between the tarpaulin sheets of the tent where she is living in Nan Charles camp in Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital. An estimated 9,500 people who have been displaced by the earthquake are living in the makeshift settlement.

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 16 February 2010 – An estimated 1.26 million children – approximately 700,000 of them school-aged – have been directly affected by the earthquake in Haiti. They urgently need support and assistance to rebuild their lives.

VIDEO: Watch now

Given this reality, the last thing UNICEF Chief of Child Protection Susan Bissell expected to hear on a recent mission to the quake zone was the sound of children’s laughter. But laughter is just what Ms. Bissell heard as she approached an interim care centre that UNICEF and its partners have set up in the Haitian capital, Port-au-Prince, for children separated from their parents by the earthquake.

Normalcy in the aftermath
“Children were playing games outside in the compound,” said Ms. Bissell, who was in Haiti from 31 January through 4 February.

In the sweltering afternoon heat, “boys were kicking around a red plastic ball. Some girls were playing a funny game with string. There were sounds of laughter – of children playing together,” she added.

Located behind a gate that is guarded for the children’s protection, the centre serves as a temporary shelter for earthquake survivors ranging from 7 to 15 years of age. It consists of three large tents and an enclosed structure, and is staffed by professionals trained to meet the needs of children who are distressed in the earthquake’s aftermath.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0194/Noorani
A baby lies sleeping in the entrance to a tent in Nan Charles camp for displaced survivors of the earthquake in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Working to reunite families
While the children at the centre appear unharmed and well cared for, the challenge now is to locate those who are still fending for themselves on the streets and living in temporary communities.

“There are still many unaccompanied children who are in the company of other adults and children, and are therefore vulnerable,” said Ms. Bissell. UNICEF and its partners are working to identify these children and direct them to the interim care centre, where they can be safe from exploitation, abuse and trafficking while every effort is made to reunite them with their surviving family members.

“We have specialists on the ground who know how to trace families and reunite separated relatives,” Ms. Bissell said, noting that such reunions have already begun.

She described one little girl in interim care who is eagerly waiting to be reunited with her parents. “She is certain her parents are alive, but due to the emotional distress she has suffered, she has forgotten her address,” said Ms. Bissell. UNICEF and partners have made repeated attempts to find the location where the girl believes she lives, and the search for her family continues.

Guidelines for alternative care
While the interim care centre is providing physical and emotional support – which is vital to the well-being of children separated from their parents in emergencies like the earthquake in Haiti – it is, by nature, a temporary measure. UNICEF is working with Haiti’s social welfare agency to establish an alternative care arrangement for vulnerable children.

The country has a number of residential care centres, the majority of which are run privately or by faith-based organizations. However, these facilities remain unregulated. In the absence of legal standards, the care is often wanting.

Ms. Bissell suggested that now would be a good time for Haiti to put into practice the alternative care guidelines adopted by the United Nations in November 2009, in connection with the 20th anniversary of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. The guidelines aim to ensure that children are not placed in alternative care unnecessarily and, where out-of-home care is provided, that it responds to the child's rights, needs and best interests.

Meanwhile at the interim care centre in Port-au-Prince, dozens of children play, eat, sleep and receive the psycho-social counseling they need. There is also a makeshift classroom with benches to resume their education – a process that can provide children with a sense of safety and normalcy in times of crisis.


 

 

Video

12 February 2010: UNICEF Chief of Child Protection Susan Bissell discusses priorities for keeping children safe in the aftermath of the earthquake in Haiti.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search