海地

地震后一个月,联合国儿童基金会继续帮助受地震影响的儿童和家庭。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0178/Noorani
在位于海地首都太子港的联合国儿童基金会所支持的拉凯.登.波斯科中心,因1月12日 的地震而失去住所的法比.皮埃尔抱着她五岁的女儿阿列克谢.克里达。

盖.哈巴德

海地太子港,2010年2月12日 – 联合国儿童基金会紧急事务主任路易斯-乔治. 阿瑟诺特(Louis-George Arsenault)近日乘直升飞机途经太子港和莱奥甘,最后抵达海地南部港口城市雅克梅勒。他此行的目的是评估联合国儿童基金会对地震中受影响的儿童和家庭的救灾行动。

 点击此处观看视频

在空中俯瞰地面,地震造成的破坏更加触目惊心。整个城市被摧毁成了一堆堆的废墟,几乎整个莱奥甘市都被毁于一旦。

在亲眼目睹了灾区的情况并走访了几个流离失所难民营后,阿瑟诺特先生对海地所遭受的双重灾难深有感触。在地震发生前,海地就有西半球最高的儿童和孕产妇死亡率。

他说:“如果说这个国家原来还勉强跪着,现在它已经完全趴倒在地上了。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0168/Noorani
在联合国儿童基金会位于海地太子港的仓库,联合国儿童基金会职工及其他工作人员将儿童早期发展工具箱运到卡车上。这些工具箱将分发给为受地震影响的儿童提供服务的留宿幼儿中心和儿童友好家园。

关注儿童生存

灾难过后,联合国儿童基金会及合作伙伴组织了一场大规模的救援行动,为最需要帮助的人们提供救命的物资。

鉴于地震灾区人道主义需求的规模,自1月12日以来这项工作已经达到了顶峰,但还有很多工作要做,因为海地总人口的40%都是14岁以下的儿童。

阿瑟诺特先生说:“联合国儿童基金会一直以来首要关注的是生存。我们能够快速提供水,这一直都是我们主要的救生行动。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0156/Noorani
13岁的罗斯-洛尔.格代翁和15岁的温德林.米尔福德走过一片房倒屋塌的废墟,手里拿着他们刚领到的救灾物品,这些救援物资是联合国儿童基金会专门为太子港Lilavois社区的弗耶.赞米.杰兹孤儿院的儿童提供的。

大规模的流离失所

虽然在地震中联合国儿童基金会的办公场所和储存设施被毁,但他们还是在灾难来袭时做出了快速的反应 。

一个月以来,太子港、莱奥甘和雅克梅勒300个地点的90多万人每天都可以获得安全用水。受影响地区的各个难民营里还建立了卫生设施;在今后的几周内,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴乐施会、援外社和国际委员会红十字会将在太子港建造3000多个厕所 。

由于人口大规模的流离失所,海地本已很高的营养不良率还将继续升高。所以,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴设立了80个场所为患有严重、急性营养不良的门诊病人提供食物。与此同时,世界粮食计划署的食物分配系统已经为200万海地人提供了可维持两周的食物。

联合国儿童基金会及卫生部还启动了一项全国性的免疫活动,以预防疾病在拥挤的临时流离失所难民营中传播。这项活动旨在为七岁以下的儿童接种麻疹、破伤风、白喉和百日咳疫苗。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0106/LeMoyne
在海地太子港佩蒂翁维尔俱乐部高尔夫场上建立的帐篷营地里,儿童们在玩耍。数千人生活在这片难民营里,那里的水是由国际非政府组织乐施会通过联合国儿童基金会的可折叠水箱提供的。

儿童保护和教育

阿瑟诺特先生说:“毫无疑问,人道主义救助还将持续一段时间。”他还补充说接触200多个定居点中的50万流离失所人口仍是一项挑战,“不仅是联合国儿童基金会的挑战,而且是整个国际社会面对的挑战”。

除基本生存之外,联合国儿童基金会的主要担忧是在地震中失去父母或与家人走散的儿童的安全。联合国儿童基金会正在为这些儿童登记并将他们安置在儿童友好设施中,同时努力寻找他们的家人和亲戚。但是压力仍然存在,有报道说一些孤儿和失散儿童被人贩子拐卖到了国外。

虽然儿童保护问题正在解决之中,另一个新问题又浮出水面,那就是教育问题。由于5000所学校被毁,一半的上学人口受到了影响。海地的教育系统几乎完全瘫痪。

为了应对这一问题,联合国儿童基金会将包含基本教学材料的“箱中学校”工具箱运送到太子港并分发给儿童们。在与教育部的合作中,联合国儿童基金会的目标是尽快帮助儿童们回到学校上课。

长久的承诺

联合国儿童基金会驻海地代表圭多.科尔奈勒(Guido Cornale)深知未来要克服的困难。

他解释说:“由于紧急状况的发生和人口的大量迁移,学校活动不仅在受地震影响的地区中断,而且在海地其他地方也中断了。这是我们目前所面对的挑战。”

地震一个月后,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正致力于在海地整个地震灾区继续开展救生的干预措施。他们还扩大干预的规模以保证儿童能在悲剧发生后生存并成长。他们的未来,以及他们国家的未来,都取决于灾后是否能够建设得比以前更好。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者盖.哈巴德报道联合国儿童基金会在地震发生一个月之后继续在海地进行大规模的援助行动。
 视频一   |
 视频二   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

A month after the quake, massive aid effort continues for Haitian children and families

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0178/Noorani
Displaced by the 12 January earthquake, Fabienne Pierre holds daughter Alexi Kerida, 5, at the UNICEF-assisted Lakay Don Bosco centre in Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital.

By Guy Hubbard

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 12 February 2010 – A month after the 12 January earthquake that levelled densely populated areas of Haiti, UNICEF Director of Emergency Operations Louis-Georges Arsenault travels by helicopter over the cities of Port -Au-Prince and Leogane, and on to the southern port of Jacmel. He is here to assess UNICEF’s response to the quake and the continued needs of affected children and families.

VIDEO: Watch now

From the air, the devastation takes on a new aspect. Entire city blocks have been reduced to piles of rubble, and almost all of Leogane has been destroyed.

Having seen the situation firsthand and visited several makeshift camps for the displaced, Mr. Arsenault is mindful of the double disaster that has befallen Haiti – which, even before the earthquake, had the highest rates of child and maternal mortality in the Western Hemisphere.

“A country that before was on its knees is really now flat out,” he says.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0168/Noorani
UNICEF staff and other workers load Early Childhood Development kits onto a truck at a UNICEF warehouse in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. The kits are being distributed to residential care centres and ‘child-friendly' spaces that are providing services for quake-affected children.

Focus on child survival
In the wake of this catastrophe, UNICEF and its UN, government and NGO partners have organized a massive aid effort, delivering life-saving supplies to those who need them most.

Given the scale of humanitarian needs in the quake zone, this effort has achieved an enormous amount since 12 January. But there is much more to be done in response to the children’s emergency in Haiti, where nearly 40 per cent of the population is under the age of 14.

“What UNICEF has been focusing on, in the first place, is survival,” says Mr. Arsenault. “We’ve been able to catch up quickly with the water supply, which has been our main life-saving activity.”

He notes that UNICEF’s work on safe water and sanitation is being supplemented by food distribution with the World Food Programme (WFP) and “a very good combination” of other urgently needed interventions.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0156/Noorani
Rose-Laure Gedeon, 13, and Windelyne Milford, 15, walk past rubble with items they received during a distribution of newly arrived UNICEF supplies for children at the Foye Zanmi Jezi orphanage in the Lilavois neighbourhood of Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Widespread displacement
Despite losing its own offices and storage facilities in the earthquake, UNICEF was quick to respond when the disaster struck.

One month on, over 900,000 people are receiving safe water every day at 300 sites across Port-au-Prince, Leogane and Jacmel. Sanitation facilities are also being installed in camps throughout the affected areas; in the coming weeks, over 3,000 latrines will have been built by UNICEF and partners Oxfam, CARE and the International Committee of the Red Cross in Port-Au-Prince alone.

Due to widespread population displacement, malnutrition rates – high in Haiti at the best of times – are expected to rise. So UNICEF and partners have opened more than 80 sites catering to the outpatient treatment of severe, acute malnutrition. Meanwhile, WFP’s food distribution network continues to reach displaced Haitians.

To prevent the spread of disease in the cramped, improvised displacement camps, UNICEF and the Ministry of Health have launched a nationwide immunization campaign, as well. The campaign is targeting children under seven with vaccinations against measles rubella, tetanus, diphtheria and whooping cough.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0106/LeMoyne
Children play in a tent encampment on the golf course of the Pétionville Club in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Several thousand people live in the camp, where water is distributed by the international NGO Oxfam from a UNICEF-provided collapsible tank.

Child protection and education
“The humanitarian response will continue for some time, There’s no doubt about that,” says Mr. Arsenault. He adds that reaching hundreds of thousands of displaced people remains a major challenge, “not just for UNICEF, for the whole international community.”

Beyond basic survival, UNICEF’s core concern has been the safety of children either orphaned or separated from their families by the earthquake. UNICEF has been registering these children and placing them in child-friendly facilities, while working to trace their immediate or extended families. But the pressure is on; there have been reports of unaccompanied children falling prey to traffickers and being smuggled out of the country.

As child protection issues are addressed, another emerging issue is education. With approximately 5,000 schools damaged or destroyed, and half of the school-going population affected, Haiti’s education system has almost ceased to function.

In response, UNICEF has delivered School-in-Box kits containing basic learning and teaching materials to Port-au-Prince, and they are being distributed. Working with the Ministry of Education, UNICEF’s goal is to get as many children as possible back to school quickly.

Continuing commitment
UNICEF Representative in Haiti Guido Cornale is all too aware of the difficulties ahead.

“All school activities have been interrupted, not only in the earthquake-affected areas but also in the rest of the country, due to the state of emergency and due to the heavy migration of populations,” he explains. “This is a challenge we are facing now.”

Still, one month on, UNICEF and its partners are committed to continuing their life-saving interventions throughout Haiti’s earthquake zone. They are also building on those interventions to ensure that children are able to survive and even thrive in the aftermath of tragedy. Their future, and the future of their country, depends on building back better than before.

Tim Ledwith contributed to this story from New York.


 

 

Video

11 February 2010: UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on sustained efforts to meet basic survival needs, including safe water, one month after the earthquake in Haiti.
 VIDEO  high | low

UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on ongoing and forward-looking aid operations, including child protection and education, for Haitian earthquake survivors.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search