海地

扩大救援工作规模以满足海地灾民儿童的基本需要

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0154/Noorani
在海地太子港里拉沃伊斯社区的弗耶赞米杰兹孤儿院,女孩们手握毛毯和床单。这些用品是最近为生活在居民护理中心的数千名儿童所提供的救援物资的一部分,其他物资还包括卫生用品、梳洗用具、服装和鞋子等。

罗山.喀迪韦报道

海地太子港,2010年2月8日 – 上周晚些时候的某个尘土飞扬的大热天,联合国儿童基金会在海地首都的新物流中心热闹非常。50名工人正在往卡车上装载即将发往太子港和雅克梅勒地震灾区的卫生用品箱。

 点击此处观看视频

这些来自当地的工人本身的生活都直接受到了1月12日发生的海地地震的影响,但联合国儿童基金会物流专家塞巴斯蒂安.拉普朗什(Sebastien Laplanche)说,他们仍然每天都来积极地搬运救援物资,希望尽快地满足其他海地灾民的需要。

联合国儿童基金会以前在太子港的仓库受到地震的严重破坏。作为仓库和运营中心,新的物流枢纽为海地的儿童危机运送着生死攸关的救灾物资。将近40%的海地人口是年龄不满14岁的儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0147/Noorani
在海地太子港机场,联合国儿童基金会的工作人员卸下即将发放给5万名灾区儿童的生活必须品。

帐篷仓库

这个物资供应中心由三个巨大的帐篷仓库组成,每个帐篷的储物面积达240平方米。未来,这样的帐篷仓库将有11个。

来自联合国儿童基金会在多米尼加共和国和巴拿马的区域应急中心,以及儿基会在丹麦哥本哈根的中央仓库和其他仓库的物资,通过空运或陆路交通运往这些帐篷仓库储存。

联合国儿童基金会仓库主管克里斯琴.德赫科斯(Christian Dehoux)说:“我们这里有卫生箱、接生工具箱、微量营养素片、医疗设备和家庭基本用水箱等物资。”他表示,这些已运抵海地的物资将分配给基层保健中心和医院。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0152/Noorani
在海地太子港,一批物资刚刚运抵联合国儿童基金会支持的弗耶赞米杰兹孤儿院。两名女孩正在帮助六岁的马琴.弗莱文穿上新领取的塑料凉鞋。

生命攸关的安全用水

海地发生地震之后的四天,德赫科斯先生既从哥本哈根飞抵海地。他说:“由于许多儿童都生活在卫生条件恶劣的临时难民营,家庭用水箱显得尤为重要。这些灾区儿童能够幸免于难,我们要防止他们感染腹泻和其他水源性疾病,特别是在这个雨季即将到来之际。”

海地坍塌的基础设施已经给人道主义组织造成严重的物流问题。联合国儿童基金会正在与非政府组织、公营和私营部门的合作伙伴一道,为太子港及其周边地震灾区卡勒富尔、莱奥甘、小格亚韦和雅克梅勒的家庭,有效地提供物资和援助。

最近,一批刚刚抵达太子港的救援物资为居民护理中心的3000多名儿童提供了卫生用品、梳洗用具、服装、鞋子、毛毯和垫子等。

来自世界各地的工作人员

自地震发生近三个星期以来,联合国儿童基金会调配了世界各地经验丰富的工作人员前往海地。这些工作人员正与合作伙伴每天工作24小时,夜以继日地援救灾区需要帮助的所有儿童和家庭。

联合国儿童基金会高级行动干事托马斯.海藤施威勒(Thomas Haettenschwiller)说:“我们的行动目标是提供优质的物资、物流和支持,使联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴得以让所有儿童重返学校、支持基础保健诊所、改善灾区的卫生状况、确保为那些有需要的灾民提供安全淡水等等。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年2月5日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖.哈伯德报道联合国儿童基金会正在海地进行的大规模紧急物资运送工作。
 播放   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

UNICEF scales up its supply effort to reach every Haitian child in need

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0154/Noorani
Girls hold blankets at the Foye Zanmi Jezi orphanage in the Lilavois neighbourhood of Port-au-Prince, Haiti. The blankets were part of a recent shipment that also equipped thousands of children in residential care centres with bedding, hygiene supplies, toiletries, clothing and footwear.

By Roshan Khadivi

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 8 February 2010 – On a dusty, hot day here in the Haitian capital late last week, UNICEF’s new logistics hub was buzzing. Fifty people were loading trucks with hygiene kits for immediate dispatch to quake-stricken communities in Port-au-Prince and Jacmel.

VIDEO: Watch now

The workers themselves, who come from the local area, have all been directly affected by the disaster that struck Haiti on 12 January. “Yet they show up every day, eager to move the supplies as fast as possible to other Haitians in need,” said UNICEF Logistics Specialist Sebastien Laplanche.

UNICEF’s former warehouse in the capital was badly damaged in the quake. The new logistics hub in Port-au-Prince doubles as a warehouse and operations centre for the delivery of life-saving supplies amidst the children’s emergency in Haiti, where nearly 40 per cent of the population is under the age of 14.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0147/Noorani
At the airport in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, UNICEF staff unload packages of essential items to be distributed to some 50,000 earthquake-affected children.

Warehouse tents
The supply facility consists of three huge warehouse tents, each of which can hold 240 square metres of supplies. In the coming days, the number of tents will increase to 11.

The storage tents provide space for all supplies arriving by air or road from UNICEF regional emergency hubs in the Dominican Republic and Panama, as well as UNICEF’s central warehouse in Copenhagen, Denmark, among other locations

“We have health kits, midwifery kits, micronutrient tablets, medical equipment, basic family water kits”, said UNICEF Warehouse Supervisor Christian Dehoux, pointing out supplies that have arrived in the country for distribution to primary health care centres and hospitals.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0152/Noorani
Two girls help Markin Flavin, 6, put on a pair of plastic sandals that he received during a distribution of newly arrived supplies for children at the UNICEF-assisted Foye Zanmi Jezi orphanage in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Safe water is vital
“The water kits are particularly important, as many children are living in poor hygiene conditions in makeshift camps,” said Mr. Dehoux, who arrived in Haiti from Copenhagen just four days after the earthquake. “They have survived the quake and we want to protect them from diarrhoea and other water-borne diseases, especially with the rainy season coming,” he added.

The country’s collapsed infrastructure has posed logistical problems for humanitarian organizations. UNICEF is working with non-governmental organizations, and public- and private-sector partners, to effectively deliver supplies and assistance to families in Port-au-Prince and the nearby cities of Carrefour, Leogane, Petit Goave and Jacmel.

One of the recently delivered supply shipments equipped more than 3,000 children in residential care centres in Port-au-Prince with hygiene supplies, toiletries, clothing, footwear, blankets and mats.

Staff from around the globe
In the four weeks since the earthquake struck, UNICEF has deployed experienced staff to Haiti from around the globe. They are working 24 hours a day with partners in an effort to reach every quake-affected child and family in need.

“Our operational objective,” said UNICEF Senior Operations Officer Thomas Haettenschwiller, “is to provide quality support, supplies and logistics to enable UNICEF and partners to get every child back to school, support primary health clinics, improve hygiene and ensure life-saving fresh water for those in need.”


 

 

Video

5 February 2010: UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on the massive logistical effort that is under way to deliver emergency supplies to quake-affected children in Haiti.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search