海地

满足海地灾区儿童不断变化的健康需求

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Canada/2010/Tidey
在海地太子港,来自联合国儿童基金会合作伙伴“快速反应小组”的儿科医生格兰特.冯.波拉尔医生,正在与患儿的母亲泽南.路易斯.瓦宁交谈。病人是三个月大的女婴莫嘉娜,她患有脱水和严重的营养不良症。左为联合国儿童基金会驻加拿大办事处交流顾问莉迪.可莱特。

克里斯.泰迪报道

海地太子港,2010年2月8日 – 联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴、比利时非政府组织“快速反应小组(B-Fast)”,致力于在灾难时提供紧急的医疗援助。格兰特.冯.波拉尔医生(Gerlant Van Berlaer)是B-Fast的儿科医生,他的团队在1月12日地震发生后的第二天抵达太子港,并在国家公共卫生实验室的院子搭建了一所拥有完整外科手术设施的野战医院。

海地人口中的将近40%是年龄不满14岁的儿童。波拉尔医生估计,他们团队所医治的病人中,80%以上是儿童。

在地震发生后的最初几天,大多数儿童和成年患者来野战医院是因为骨折和撕裂损伤。然而,将近四个星期过去了,儿童的健康需要正在发生变化。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Canada/2010/Tidey
在太子港的野战医院,波拉尔医生在患儿母亲泽南.路易斯.瓦宁的注视下,为三个月大的女婴莫嘉娜检查身体。

儿童疾病的温床

数十万地震灾民生活在拥挤的临时安置点,儿童正面临着感染危及生命的疾病的风险。

波拉尔医生说:“难民营里的灾民住得非常拥挤,有时还无法获得清洁用水和适当的卫生条件,某些疾病和医疗状况在这种情况下容易蔓延。”波拉尔医生接着说,为了预防儿童得病,甚至死于可通过疫苗预防的疾病,我们需要开展大规模的免疫活动。

联合国儿童基金会已开始为海地50万名七岁以下的儿童进行一场重要的免疫接种运动。上周,这场免疫运动首先在流离失所者的安置点展开,运动的目标儿童接种了麻疹、风疹、白喉、破伤风和百日咳等疫苗。

治疗营养不良

波拉尔医生指出,对于陷入像海地地震这样的灾难的儿童来讲,营养不良也是一种可怕的威胁。那些无家可归或生活在临时避难所里的灾区儿童,现在很大程度上要依赖于国际援助,才能满足他们的营养需求。

在B-Fast野战医院,波拉尔医生正在为泽南.路易斯.瓦宁的三个月大的女儿莫嘉娜进行治疗。莫嘉娜患有脱水和严重的营养不良症。波拉尔医生为她使用了由联合国儿童基金会提供的口服补液盐溶液。

波拉尔医生说:“为了儿童的利益,联合国儿童基金会能够迅速向第一线的合作伙伴提供大量医疗用品,这是非常重要的。”

全球媒体的焦点终将从海地地震移开,但这个国家弱势儿童的医疗需求不会消失。这就是为什么联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴致力于实现海地儿童长期福祉的原因。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Meeting the changing health needs of children affected by the earthquake in Haiti

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Canada/2010/Tidey
Dr. Gerlant Van Berlaer, a paediatrician with UNICEF partner B-Fast, talks with Jenan Louise Vanin, whose three-month-old daughter Morgane is suffering from dehydration and acute malnutrition, in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. At left: UNICEF Canada communications consultant Lydie Collette.

By Chris Tidey

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 8 February 2010 – Dr. Gerlant Van Berlaer is a paediatrician with B-Fast, a Belgian non-governmental organization and UNICEF partner specializing in rapid medical deployment to large-scale emergencies. His team arrived in Port-au-Prince one day after the 12 January earthquake, setting up a field hospital – complete with surgical suite – on the grounds of the Laboratoire National de Santé Publique.

Nearly 40 per cent of Haitians are below the age of 14, and Dr. Van Berlaer estimated that more than 80 per cent of the patients treated by his team have been children.

During the first few days after the earthquake, the majority of children and adults who came to the field hospital needed medical care for fractures and lacerations. Four weeks on, however, the health needs of children, in particular, are changing.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Canada/2010/Tidey
At a field hospital in Port-au-Prince, Dr. Gerlant Van Berlaer examines three-month-old Morgane as her mother Jenan Louise Vanin looks on.

Incubator of childhood diseases
With hundreds of thousands of quake survivors living at very close quarters in makeshift settlements, children are at risk of contracting life-threatening illnesses.

“Certain diseases and medical conditions thrive in situations like this, where people in the camps are staying so close together, in some cases without access to clean water and proper sanitation,” said Dr. Van Berlaer. He added that extensive immunization coverage is needed to prevent children from falling ill or even dying from vaccine-preventable diseases.

UNICEF has begun a major immunization campaign for 500,000 Haitian children under seven. Children targeted in the drive – which started last week in the settlements for the displaced – are being immunized against measles, rubella, diphtheria, tetanus and whooping cough.

Treatment for undernutrition
Dr. Van Berlaer pointed out that undernutrition is also a real threat to children caught in a disaster such as the Haiti earthquake. Children left homeless and in temporary shelters in the quake zone are now largely dependent on international aid to meet their nutritional needs.

At the B-Fast field hospital, Dr. Van Berlaer treated Jenan Louise Vanin’s three-month-old daughter Morgane, who was suffering from dehydration and acute malnutrition; he administered a solution of oral rehydration salts provided by UNICEF.

“UNICEF’s ability to quickly provide partners on the ground with large quantities of medical supplies for children is so important,” said Dr. Van Berlaer.

When the global media spotlight inevitably moves away from the earthquake in Haiti, the medical needs of this country’s vulnerable children will not disappear. That is why UNICEF and its partners are committed to the well-being of Haiti’s children over the long-term.


 

 

New enhanced search