海地

联合国儿童基金会关注海地儿童的人身安全和心理康复

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0016/LeMoyne
在海地太子港机场附近灾区临时医院里,一名骨盆骨折的儿童独自躺在医院的病床上,她所在的病房内挤满了在地震中受伤的病人。

美国纽约,2010年1月19日 – 一周前袭击了海地的地震使数千名儿童沦为孤儿、失去家人或者与家人失散,他们极易受到虐待和剥削的伤害。

尽管联合国儿童基金会正努力解决灾难中幸存者的燃眉之需,但工作的重点还是保护他们中最弱势的群体。鉴于海地人口将近一半都是18岁以下的儿童,而且40%的儿童在14岁以下,这一问题便显得至关重要。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼今天发表了一则声明,表达了该机构对无人陪伴儿童所处困境的严重关切:“我们将不遗余力地帮助儿童与他们的家人团聚。只有在团聚被证明为不可能的情况下,并经过适当的筛选后,相关机构才能考虑采纳像领养这样的永久性替代方案。”

家庭团聚

事实上,在与海地政府、拯救儿童组织和红十字会的协调后,联合国儿童基金会已经开始了让失散儿童与家人或看护人团聚的进程。联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴也正在为失散的儿童们搭建安全的临时住处,并为受到重创的首都太子港的孤儿院提供食物和生活用品。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0036/LeMoyne
在靠近太子港市中心的地方,一片临时帐篷营地收容了海地地震后流离失所的幸存者。图中为一名男孩在该营地附近穿过干草燃烧的烟雾。

维尼曼说:“这些儿童更容易患有营养不良和感染疾病,更容易遭受人口贩卖、性剥削和严重情感创伤的伤害。我们正抓紧为他们提供救命的应急食物和药品、安全的住所、保护和照顾。”

联合国儿童基金会儿童保护处主任苏珊.比斯尔(Susan Bissell)强调了在震区解决儿童身心健康问题的重要性。她问道:“儿童们如何应对创伤?局势很可怕。”

比斯尔女士强调说人口贩子的目标往往是弱势儿童,“而现在在海地,就有大批这样的弱视儿童”。她说“令人不安”的是,地震摧毁了大部分援助基础设施,否则,这些设施可以帮助青少年远离伤害。

虽然面对重重挑战,比斯尔女士预计“联合国儿童基金会将能找到办法克服这些障碍并尽可能地保护儿童,正如我们以前在同样情况下所做到过的那样。”

儿童保护和儿童权利

海地地震过后,人道主义社区内的其他机构也提出了儿童保护的问题,其中包括联合国儿童权利委员会。

在1月15日的声明中,该委员会指出在这种情况下儿童“尤其脆弱”,并补充说道:“急需采取措施保护儿童,尤其是那些与家人失散的儿童,要保护他们不遭受任何伤害……”

声明的最后呼吁“采取集中的行动,旨在尽快帮助儿童恢复正常稳定的生活,这样他们才能重拾对未来的希望。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年1月15日:联合国儿童基金会儿童保护处主任苏珊.比斯尔介绍在海地地震后保障儿童安全的需要。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频
搜索

At a glance: Haiti

UNICEF concerned for the safety of Haiti’s most vulnerable children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0016/LeMoyne
In a field hospital set up near the main airport in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, an unaccompanied child with a broken pelvis lies in bed amidst a room full of other patients who were injured during the earthquake.

NEW YORK, USA, 19 January 2010 – The earthquake that struck Haiti a week ago has left many thousands of children orphaned, lost or separated from their families – and vulnerable to abuse and exploitation.

Even as it works to provide for the immediate needs of young survivors of the disaster, UNICEF is focusing on how to protect the most vulnerable among them. The issue is critical, given that nearly half of all Haitians are under 18 years of age, and almost 40 per cent are under 14.

“Every effort will be made to reunite children with their families,” UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman said today, expressing the organization’s deep concerns about the plight of unaccompanied children. “Only if that proves impossible, and after proper screening has been carried out, should permanent alternatives like adoption be considered by the relevant authorities,” she added.

Reuniting families

In fact, UNICEF has begun the process of reuniting children with their families or other caregivers, working in coordination with the Haitian Government, Save the Children and the Red Cross. UNICEF and its partners are also establishing safe spaces for separated children and providing food and supplies for orphanages in Port-au-Prince, the hard-hit capital.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0036
Near the centre of Port-au-Prince, Haiti, a boy walks through smoke from burning grass near an encampment of makeshift tents housing displaced survivors of the 12 January earthquake.

“These children face increased risks of malnutrition and disease, trafficking, sexual exploitation and serious emotional trauma,” said Ms. Veneman. “The race to provide them with life-saving emergency food and medicine, safe shelter, protection and care is under way.”

UNICEF Chief of Child Protection Susan Bissell stressed the importance of addressing both the physical and the psycho-social health of children in the earthquake zone. “How are children coping with the trauma?” she asked. “It’s a frightening situation.”

Ms. Bissell noted that traffickers prey upon vulnerable people, “and what we see in Haiti right now is a very large pool of very vulnerable children.” She said it was “disconcerting” that the quake has destroyed much of the aid infrastructure that would otherwise help shield young people from harm.

Despite the challenges, Ms. Bissell predicted that “UNICEF will find a way, as we always do in these circumstances, to get around it and to do what’s best in terms of protecting children.”

Child protection and child rights

The issue of child protection in the aftermath of the Haiti earthquake has also been raised by others in the humanitarian community, including the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child.

In a 15 January statement, the Committee pointed to “the special vulnerability” of children in this situation,” adding: “Measures are urgently needed to protect children, especially those who have become separated from their families….” The statement concluded with an appeal for “efforts aimed at enabling as soon as possible the return of children to normalcy and stability, in order to regain hope for the future.”


 

 

Video

15 January 2010: UNICEF Chief of Child Protection Susan Bissell discusses the need to keep children safe in the wake of the Haitian earthquake.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search