海地

联合国秘书长潘基文慰问海地地震灾区

你们并不孤单

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0025/LeMoyne
在海地首都太子港的Canapé Vert广场,联合国儿童基金会儿童保护专家希赛尔.莫德瓦尔正在与住在临时营地的儿童交谈。

蒂姆.莱德维斯报道

美国纽约,2010年1月18日 – 联合国秘书长潘基文昨日前往太子港的地震灾区访问。与此同时,国际社会继续努力援救遭受1月12日地震袭击的300万灾民,其中半数灾民可能是儿童。

 点击此处观看视频

潘基文秘书长对地震幸存者说:“我来这里告诉你们,我们与你们同在,你们并不孤单。”

这次地震把海地的首都和其他城市变成了一片废墟。来自至少25个国家的大约1500名救灾人员投入到紧急搜救行动当中。

联合国工作人员在这次地震中至少有40人丧生,约300人至今仍生死不明。联合国儿童基金会没有人员死亡,但其办事处的部分建筑受到损坏。尽管它们自己在海地遭受损失,但仍然致力于其主要目标:克服巨大的物流瓶颈,为灾民提供迫切需要的救灾物资。

空运救灾物资

上周晚些时候,有两架运输机满载着水和卫生用品、医疗物资、临时住房材料和其他危机中的儿童和家庭所必需的物品,从联合国儿童基金会在巴拿马的区域物资中心飞往太子港。 另有一架装载着40吨救援物资的飞机抵达邻国多米尼加共和国的首都圣多明各。

UNICEF Photo
© US Fund for UNICEF/2010/Alleyne
英国航空公司的一家客机满载联合国儿童基金会的救援物资,从哥本哈根飞抵多米尼加共和国的圣多明各机场。飞机上的物资将由卡车运往海地。

从哥本哈根联合国儿童基金会的中央仓库运出的一箱箱物品,填满了前往圣多明各的飞机货舱,还有一些箱子被绑在乘客座位上。这架英国航空公司客机上的七名机组人员都是志愿者。

机长查尔斯.埃弗里特(Charles Everett)说:“非常荣幸能够帮助救援工作,我想没有多少人能够有机会在这样的形势下发挥作用。”

这架飞机上还有两位帮助协调物资发放的联合国儿童基金会工作人员。其中一位来自联合国儿童基金会供应司的仓储专家亨里克.詹森(Henrik Jensen)说:“我的工作是在圣多明各建一个大仓库,并运出所有物资。”

未来几天将会有更多的飞机投入赈灾工作。它们将从巴拿马、丹麦和阿拉伯联合酋长启程,运送联合国儿童基金会的应急物资。

缺乏安全饮用水

海地的这场灾难性地震造成了大约30万人无家可归,许多人住在临时救援营,他们缺乏食物、水或基本服务。 在这种情况下,目前运送的物资当然还只是一个庞大救援行动的开始。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0027/LeMoyne
在首相官邸搭建的地震灾民临时营地里,有一名妇女头顶水桶走过。联合国儿童基金会提供了大容量的水囊,由国际红十字会将水分发给灾民。

作为联合国在地震灾区提供水和卫生设备的主要机构,联合国儿童基金会正在努力为灾民提供家庭饮水用具、净水药片以及其他可以减轻致命的水污染问题的用品。

联合国儿童基金会紧急行动干事埃恩伽.拉扎弗(Ainga Razafy)说:“除了单纯地提供这些基本用品之外,我们还必须通过提供肥皂,并用法语和克里奥尔语宣传预治腹泻、霍乱和痢疾知识,来努力推广讲卫生的习惯。 我们的当务之急是防范第二波地震的到来,并确保预防任何威胁生命的水源性疾病的爆发。”

国际社会的支援

但也要看到,为急需援助的海地儿童和家庭提供援助仍然极为困难。人道主义机构的燃料供应不足、太子港的港口设施严重受损,而且机场的拥堵情况也十分严重。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0014/Provencher
在1月12日发生的地震中,联合国儿童基金会驻海地办事处的主要办公楼遭到严重破坏。儿基会在太子港的另一座大楼已经完全被地震摧毁。

与此同时,医疗机构仍然没有足够的工作人员和药品。为了满足最紧迫的医疗需求,联合国特派团的后勤基地搭建起帐篷,设立了一所野战医院。但现在这里已经人满为患。

联合国儿童基金会美国基金会Richard Alleyne对此文亦有贡献


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年1月18日:联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔斯报道,满载着救灾物资的飞机由哥本哈根飞抵太子港。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使安吉里克.基德尤在巴黎录制的一则呼吁全社会向海地儿童及家庭提供紧急救援物资的呼吁视频。
 视频   |

音频(英文)

2010年1月18日:联合国儿童基金会地区新闻官Tamar Hahn通过电话介绍太子港的最新情况。
 音频 播放

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

UN Secretary-General visits Haiti as emergency supply efforts continue

'You are not alone'

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0025/LeMoyne
UNICEF Child Protection Specialist Cecile Modvar speaks with children living in a makeshift camp at Canapé Vert Plaza in Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital.

By Tim Ledwith

NEW YORK, USA, 18 January 2010 – Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and other UN and government officials visited stricken areas of Port-au-Prince yesterday, amidst continuing international efforts to help 3 million people – perhaps half of them children – affected by the 12 January earthquake in Haiti.

VIDEO: Watch now

"I am here to say we are with you,” Mr. Ban told survivors. “You are not alone."

The earthquake has left large swaths of the Haitian capital and other municipalities in ruins. Some 1,500 workers from more than 25 nations have been engaged in search-and-rescue operations.

At least 40 UN staff were killed in the quake and about 300 are still missing. None of UNICEF’s staff died, but its offices were partially destroyed. Despite its own losses, the humanitarian community in Haiti remains focused on its main goal: overcoming huge logistical obstacles in order to deliver life-saving supplies to those who desperately need them.

Aid airlift under way

Late last week, two cargo planes flew from UNICEF's regional supply hub in Panama to Port-au-Prince carrying water and sanitation supplies, medical aid, shelter materials and other needed items for children and families at risk. A third plane landed in Santo Domingo, the capital of the neighbouring Dominican Republic, with 40 metric tonnes of additional aid bound for Haiti.

UNICEF Image
© US Fund for UNICEF/2010/Alleyne
A chartered British Airways jet sits on tarmac in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, after arriving from UNICEF's Supply Division in Copenhagen. The relief supplies on board were to be trucked across the border into Haiti.

On the flight to Santo Domingo, boxes from UNICEF's central warehouse in Copenhagen filled the cargo hold and were strapped into the seats that would normally carry passengers. All seven crew members on the British Airways jumbo jet were volunteers.

“It’s a privilege to be able to help,” said Captain Charles Everett. “I think there are very few people who are able to impact on a situation like this.”

The plane also carried two UNICEF staff members who were deployed to help coordinate aid distribution. “My job will be to make a big warehouse in Santo Domingo and ship all the goods,” said one of them, Warehouse Specialist Henrik Jensen from UNICEF’s Supply Division.

More relief flights are in the works for the coming days. They will deliver UNICEF emergency supplies from stockpiles in Panama, Denmark and the United Arab Emirates.

Lack of safe water
An estimated 300,000 people are homeless as a result of the devastation in Haiti. Many of them are living in makeshift camps without access to adequate food, water or basic services. In this context, the supplies delivered thus far are certainly just the beginning of an enormous relief operation.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0027/LeMoyne
A Haitian woman hauls water past the temporary shelters of other earthquake survivors encamped on the grounds of the Prime Minister’s residence. The water is being distributed by the international Red Cross from a large bladder provided by UNICEF.

As the lead UN agency for water and sanitation in the quake zone, UNICEF is working to provide survivors with family water kits, water-purification tablets and other supplies aimed at mitigating the deadly effects of contaminated water.

“Aside from simply delivering these essential supplies, we must also work to promote hygiene by providing soap and issuing messages in French and Creole on preventing and treating diarrhoea, cholera and dysentery,” said UNICEF Emergency Operations Officer Ainga Razafy. “Our priority is to prevent a second wave of disaster and ensure against the outbreak of any life-threatening, water-borne diseases.”

International support
But getting aid to desperate Haitian children and families remains difficult at best. Humanitarian agencies’ fuel supplies are running low, port facilities in the capital are badly damaged and the Port-au-Prince airport is heavily congested.

At the same time, medical facilities still lack staff and medicine. To meet the most urgent health needs, a field hospital has been set up in tents at the UN mission’s logistical base in Port-au-Prince. It is already filled beyond capacity.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0014/Provencher
An office in UNICEF Haiti’s main building in Port-au-Prince was heavily damaged by the 12 January earthquake. Another UNICEF building in the capital was destroyed.

Distribution of aid is taking place, but it is extremely limited compared to the overwhelming need.

While in Haiti, the UN Secretary-General pledged the international community's full support in overcoming these obstacles. That pledge was echoed in a blog post by UNICEF’s Eminent Advocate for Children, Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah of Jordan.

“Even as the earthquake has shaken us to our core, heroism and humanity strengthen the foundations of our global family,” wrote Queen Rania. “A worldwide outpouring of compassion and generosity now laps at Haiti’s shores, quietly defying nature’s brutality.”

Richard Alleyne of the US Fund for UNICEF contributed to this story.


 

 

Video

18 January 2010: UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on a shipment of earthquake relief supplies airlifted from Copenhagen to Port-au-Prince.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Angélique Kidjo appears in a video message calling for donations to assist children in Haiti.
 VIDEO  high | low

Audio

18 January 2010: UNICEF Regional Communication Officer Tamar Hahn provides an update by phone from Port-au Prince, Haiti.
AUDIO listen

Haiti fact sheet

Major challenges seen, even before the earthquake:

Progress toward the Millennium Development Goals [PDF]

New enhanced search