海地

海地为下一个飓风季节做准备

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0876/LeMoyne
在港口城市戈纳伊夫,一个男孩抓着一位抱小孩的妇女的衣角一起走过被水淹没的街道。在接连不断的飓风和热带风暴袭击了海地的数周之后,戈纳伊夫的很多街道都被雨水和淤泥淹没。

海地太子港,2009年9月8日 — 今年在加勒比海地区形成了数个热带低气压,但是比起四场大飓风席卷该岛的2008年,海地今年已经做好了更充分的准备。那一年的多种天气紧急情况所带来的巨大影响考验了海地政府和国际援助组织的极限。

2008年,大约80万人流离失所,其中30万为儿童。家园和庄稼也都毁于一旦。

在2009年飓风季节的备灾工作中,联合国儿童基金会与其他联合国机构及合作伙伴制定了应急计划,以满足各级别紧急情况的需求。这些计划是根据对去年毁灭性飓风季节的评估而设计的。

从零开始

海地第三大城市戈纳伊夫尚未从2004年飓风珍妮造成的大洪灾中完全恢复过来,因为飓风汉娜又于2008年9月再次席卷了这座城市。联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴率先采取行动,在大规模的洪水摧毁了供水系统之后,帮助该市3万名居民恢复安全饮水。

联合国儿童基金会水和卫生专员朱利安.科西.阿加德(Julien Kossi Atchade)说: “从覆盖面来说,我们是从零做起。我们修复了400口井,现在我们每天为每个人提供25升安全饮水。”

为了做好准备以应对今年的飓风季节,在所有关键地区都安置了应急用品。联合国儿童基金会还建立了一个合作伙伴网络以分发物资,其中包括帐篷、净水片、卫生用品包、毯子、保健用品包,炊具和便携式供水系统。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0875/LeMoyne
在遭受了洪水破坏的港口城市戈纳伊夫,一个男孩拎着一桶水和一个女孩走在泥泞的街道上。戈纳伊夫尚未从2004年飓风珍妮造成的大洪灾中完全恢复过来,因为飓风汉娜又于2008年9月再次席卷了这座城市。

心理和社会支持

应急准备还包括制定策略以应对这类悲惨遭遇对人们情绪造成的影响。 

去年第四场飓风艾克于凌晨两点登陆凯伯莱特(Cabaret)。顷刻之间,各家各户、儿童、动物和房屋碎片被湍急的水流冲走。

国际服务志愿人员联盟(AVSI)儿童专员及联合国儿童基金会儿童保护项目的意大利合作伙伴西蒙.萨尔西亚(Simon Sarcia)说:“这里的儿童们仍遭受着心理的创伤。他们天黑后不敢睡觉,有时他们还会在半夜里尖叫着惊醒。”

于是,联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴在受灾最严重的地区工作,为儿童提供心理辅导。今天,这些努力仍在继续。受过培训的志愿者们可以随时被调动来为避难所里的儿童们提供心理支持和保护。

 
吸取教训

去年飓风来袭的时候正值新学期伊始。将近1000所学校被摧毁,20万学龄儿童受到影响。

灾难过后,避难所的数量翻倍,因为其中一些被用作学校。今天,一些特殊的场所已被指定为临时学校,而联合国儿童基金会的教育用品包也随时可以分发。营养评估工具已经到位,可以用来对婴儿和孕妇的迫切需要进行早期评估。  

科西.阿加德说:“我们所有人,包括联合国机构、政府和所有的合作伙伴,快速地评估了需求并吸取了2008年的经验教训。我们制定了协同一致的应急策略。与去年相比,我们今年的准备更充分。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Haiti prepares for another hurricane season

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0876/LeMoyne
A child holds onto a woman carrying a baby as they make their way across a flooded street in the port city of Gonaives, after successive hurricanes and tropical storms battered Haiti in 2008.

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 8 September 2009 – Several tropical depressions have already formed in the Caribbean this summer, but Haiti is better prepared today than in 2008, when four major hurricanes slammed into the island.

The colossal impact of those successive weather emergencies pushed the government and international aid agencies to their limits. About 800,000 people, including some 300,000 children, were displaced during last year’s hurricane season. Homes and crops were also destroyed.

To prepare for the 2009 season, UNICEF and other UN agencies and partners have devised contingency plans to meet the needs of children and families at various levels of emergency. These plans were designed using evaluations of last year’s devastating storms.

‘We started at zero’

Gonaïves, Haiti’s third largest city, had not fully recovered from the flooding caused by Hurricane Jeanne in 2004 when Hurricane Hannah struck in September 2008. UNICEF and its partners took the lead in restoring safe drinking water to the city’s 300,000 inhabitants after massive flooding destroyed the water supply system.

“In terms of coverage, we started at zero,” said UNICEF Water and Sanitation Specialist Julien Kossi Atchade. “We’ve rehabilitated 400 wells and today provide approximately 25 litres of safe drinking water per person a day.”

Meanwhile, emergency supplies have been positioned in key districts. And a network of partners has been set up to distribute the supplies, which range from tents to water purification tablets, hygiene kits, blankets, health kits, cooking sets and portable water systems.

Emergency preparations also involve planning to help children deal with the emotional impact of such tragic experiences. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0875/LeMoyne
A boy carrying a bucket of water, and accompanied by a girl, walks across a mud-choked street in the flood-damaged port city of Gonaives, Haiti.

Psycho-social care

It was 2 a.m. on 7 September 2008 when Hurricane Ike – the fourth major storm to hit Haiti last year – made landfall in the Cabaret region north of Port-au-Prince. Entire households, animals and debris were swept away in the rushing waters.

“The children here are still traumatized,” said Child Specialist Simon Sarcia of the Association of Volunteers in International Service, a UNICEF partner based in Italy. “They’re afraid of going to sleep after dark. They wake up screaming in the middle of the night.”

Last year, UNICEF partners set to work in the worst-affected areas to provide psycho-social care for children. These efforts continue today, and trained volunteers are ready to mobilize psycho-social support and protection for any children that end up in shelters this year. 
 
Lessons learned

The 2008 hurricanes struck right at the start of the school year. Nearly 1,000 schools were destroyed, affecting 200,000 school-aged children.

In the aftermath, shelters had to double as schools. Today, specific sites are already identified to serve as potential temporary schools, and UNICEF education kits are ready to be distributed on short notice.

Nutrition evaluation tools are also in place for early assessments on the immediate needs of infants and pregnant mothers.  

“All of us – the agencies, the government and all our partners – quickly assessed the needs and implemented the lessons learned from 2008,” said Mr. Kossi Atchade. “We have a coordinated response in place. Compared to last year, we’re better prepared.”


 

 

New enhanced search