海地

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴帮助海地的儿童佣工获得权利

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/ HQ05-1960/LeMoyne
一名12岁的女孩 - 曾经是寄养儿童或称为不领工钱的童佣 - 在海地太子港保护易受伤害和被剥削儿童的庇护所的图书馆里读书。

维维安妮.佛南得兹和谭莲娜共同报道

海地太子港2007年4月20日 - 安德列不知道自己的真实姓名以及实际年龄。 在他很小的时候,他的母亲就去世了。 由于他的父亲不能照料他,就将他送到别人家工作。

在克里奥耳语中被称为“瑞斯达维克斯”的寄养童佣在海地是非常普遍。 像安德列这样的孩子在海地大约有17.3万人,占5至17岁未成年儿童人口的8%。

多数童佣来自乡村,被送往别人家本是希望过上更好的生活。

经济困难

实际上,这种转移往往使孩子陷入更糟糕的境地。 这些童佣每天起得最早,睡得最晚,做着永无止境的家务劳动。

安德列说,除了没有工钱以外,寄养家庭也不为他提供像衣服和鞋之类的生活必需品,而且他还被迫睡在地上。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF HAITI/2007/Fernandez
这名15岁的海地男孩已经做了四年仆役。

安德列回忆起他的“主人母亲”是如何在地上吐一口痰,然后让他在痰迹晒干之前完成他的差事的。 他常常遭到毒打,特别是在他企图逃跑之后。  他被禁止与别人对视,并被孤立和嘲弄。 他只有一个朋友 - 另一个附近人家的童佣,是在这个男孩被毒打后,他们认识的。

易受到剥削的伤害

在海地,对儿童仆役的剥削是因经济困难引起,许多接受寄养儿童的家庭本身也生活在贫困之中。 半数以上的海地人生活在每天一美元生活费的贫困线以下,76%的人口每天的生活费低于两美元。

1994年,海地批准了“儿童权利公约”,但是没有适当的保护,这些儿童仍然极易受到暴力、剥削和虐待的伤害。

联合国儿童基金会儿童保护驻海地主任南扎.法素说:“寄养儿童丧失了儿童基本权利的绝大部分 - 受父母抚养的权利、游戏的权利,表达的权利,以及免受体罚和性虐待的权利。”

教育及心理支持

对儿童仆役的心理关怀与支持是联合国儿童基金会在海地的首要任务。 多数寄养儿童不能享受他们的权利,甚至不能说出他们的需要。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ05-1957/LeMoyne
在海地,极端贫困造成儿童仆役市场的活跃,青少年的基本权利被剥夺。 图为太子港的童佣站在晒着的衣物之间。

津-大卫(化名)离开自己家时才11岁。 问他喜欢什么童年活动,他怯怯地回答说:“我喜欢清洗。”

联合国儿童基金会支助的一个名为佛亚尔.茅瑞斯.思克斯投的儿童仆役中心主任文尼斯.津逖说:“我们需要着手让这些孩子放弃被灌输的思想。当主人家有人进屋时,他们已经习惯离开。童役的想法不被重视,所以他们也就很少开口讲话。 在这里,我们想改变他们的这种行为习惯,我们要教他们如何与人沟通,找回他们的自尊。”

社会对寄养童佣的歧视使儿童仆役感到更加孤立。安德列在他哥哥的帮助下终于逃离那个虐待他的主人家,并且回到学校。 他坦白说:“我不能将我的经历向同学或者任何人讲。 我不想让任何人知道。”

与父母重聚

文尼斯.津逖强调让寄养儿童与他们的亲生父母团聚的重要性。  最坏的情况,佛亚尔茅瑞斯思克斯投中心也会为孩子们找到另外的寄养家庭。

在联合国儿童基金会支助的为寄养儿童寻找他们出生的家庭活动中,津-大卫最近见到了他的母亲。 他回忆道:“我有四年没见到我妈了,我很兴奋。 快到家的时候,觉得家里的房子好像变小了。”

一些寄养儿童与亲生父母分别长达10年之久,回家时发现他们的父母已经撒手人寰。

联合国儿童基金会也支持与寄养家庭合作提高儿童仆役生活质量的项目。  津-大卫说,他与他的寄养家庭关系很好,他们允许他每天到佛亚尔.茅瑞斯.思克斯投中心去。 他说学习读书和写字改变了他的生活,他在该中心的感觉很好,“因为这里所有的孩子都一样。”


 

 

音频

2007年4月18日:
联合国儿童基金会儿童保护干事伯川德.南扎-法素向联合国儿童基金会电台讲述儿童仆役的困境。
音频 试听

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

UNICEF and partners help child domestic workers in Haiti regain their rights

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/ HQ05-1960/LeMoyne
A 12-year-old girl – formerly a ‘restavek’, or unpaid child domestic – holds a book in the library of a shelter for vulnerable and exploited children in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

By Viviana Fernandez and Linda Tom

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 20 April 2007 – Andre does not know his real name nor how old he is. His mother died when he was young and he says he was sent to work for another family because his father was unable to take care of him.

Children in domestic service, known as ‘restaveks’ (meaning ‘staying with’ in Creole), are commonly found in Haiti. There are an estimated 173,000 Haitian children like Andre, representing over 8 per cent of children between 5 and 17 years of age.

Most children in domestic service come from the countryside and are sent to live with other families in the hope of a better life.

Economic hardship

In reality, the move often lands children in a worse situation. The first to wake up and last to go to bed, restavek children spend their days doing gruelling housework.

Besides working without pay, Andre says he was not provided with basic necessities like clothes and shoes and was forced to sleep on the floor. He recalls how his ‘host mother’ would spit on the ground and tell him he had to finish an errand before the saliva dried.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF HAITI/2007/Fernandez
This 15-year-old boy in Haiti has been a domestic worker for the past four years.

Andre was often severely beaten, especially after he tried to run away. He was forbidden to look people in the eyes. Isolated and ridiculed, he had only one friend – another restavek he met after hearing the boy being beaten in a house nearby.

Vulnerable to exploitation

The exploitation of children in domestic service is compounded by economic hardship in Haiti, with many of the receiving families living in poverty themselves. Over half of the population lives below the $1-a-day poverty line, and 76 per cent live on less than $2 a day.

In 1994, Haiti ratified the Convention on the Rights of the Child. However, without adequate protection, children in domestic service remain vulnerable to violence, exploitation and abuse.

“Restavek children are deprived of the most basic child rights – the right to be cared for by their parents, the right to play, the right to express themselves and the right to be free from physical and sexual abuse,” declared UNICEF Haiti’s Chief of Child Protection, Njanja Fassu.

Education and psychosocial support

Psychosocial care and support for children in domestic service is a priority of UNICEF in Haiti. Most restaveks are not able to exert their rights or even voice their needs.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ05-1957/LeMoyne
Children stand amid laundry hanging to dry in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, where extreme poverty fuels the child domestic worker market, depriving young people of basic rights.

Jean-David (not his real name), was 11 when he left his family home. When asked what childhood activities he enjoys, Jean-David responds timidly, “I like cleaning.”

“We need to work on de-programming. Children are used to leaving a room when a host family member walks in,” says Director Wenés Jeanty of Foyer Maurice Sixto, a UNICEF-supported centre for children in domestic service. “The child domestic’s opinion doesn’t count and that’s why they rarely speak. Here we try to change this behaviour; we try to teach them how to relate to others and to recover their self-esteem.”

Child domestic workers feel further isolation from the social stigma of being a restavek. Andre, who finally escaped his abusive host family with the help of his brother, has since gone back to school. “I can’t talk about my experiences to my classmates or anyone. I don’t want anyone to know,” he confides.

Reunification with parents

The Foyer Maurice Sixto programme emphasizes the importance of reuniting children with their biological families. In the worst cases, the centre finds alternative host families.

Jean-David recently visited his mother through a UNICEF-supported initiative that seeks to reunite restavek children with their families. “It had been four years since I hadn’t seen my mother, so it was very exciting,” he recalls. “I was surprised by the house – it was smaller.”

Separated for as long as 10 years from their parents, some restavek children return home only to discover that their parents have died.

UNICEF also supports programmes that work with host families to improve the quality of life for children in domestic service. Jean-David says he has a good relationship with his host family because they allow him to go to the Foyer Maurice Sixto centre every day. Learning to read and write has changed his life, he says, adding that he feels good at the centre “because here all children are the same.”


 

 

Audio

19 April 2007:
UNICEF Haiti Child Protection Officer Bertrand Njanja-Fassu speaks to UNICEF Radio about children working as domestic servants.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search