UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

几内亚

帮助大难后的几内亚儿童寻找快乐

莉安.古彻报道

对于因埃博拉病毒而失去单亲或双亲的几内亚儿童来说,游戏和群体活动是让他们重新和同伴们分享片刻快乐的宝贵途径。  

几内亚坎坎,2015年11月2日—上几内亚坎坎附近的达累斯萨拉姆市氛围热火朝天,孩子们都沉浸在“西蒙说”、躲闪球和跳绳的游戏里。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Guinea/2015/Gutcher
阿萨.康德.巴,是几内亚坎坎市里一名四岁的埃博拉病毒幸存者,疾病夺走了母亲的生命。此刻,她正在参加由联合国儿童基金会及非政府组织Enfance du Globe安排的游戏娱乐活动,从而为其提供心理支持并帮助她重新融入社区。

现在轮到四岁的阿萨.康德.巴了,在她之后的其他孩子们发出了阵阵欢呼声。 她也灿烂地笑了起来。

两周前,却没有任何孩子愿意跟她一起玩。 作为埃博拉病毒的幸存者,孩子们都害怕她、歧视她。

这种歧视是司空见惯的事,不仅仅针对埃博拉的幸存者,甚至连他们的亲属也受到牵连。 群体游戏与娱乐活动,是联合国儿童基金会与非政府合作伙伴正努力筹划的项目,希望借此帮助曾受埃博拉感染的孩子们重回社区的怀抱。

截至九月中旬,联合国儿基会已经寻找并注册了5951名受埃博拉病毒影响只剩单亲或成为孤儿的儿童。 其中,有58名坎坎市的孩子目前正在接受心理辅导与支持。

今天,因该疾病失去双亲的儿童们已能够与没有受到直接影响的孩子们抱成一团、一起游戏了。 支持融入社会的同时,这些活动还鼓励社区心理咨询师志愿者们为孩子们提供所需的心理支持。

联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴非政府组织Enfance du Globe的社会工作者马马杜.古拉多.巴里表示:“这些游戏活动能够帮助消除针对埃博拉幸存儿童的、各种形式的歧视, 有些儿童失去了父母,有些失去了希望。 我们用心倾听,并和他们谈心。”

受埃博拉病毒的影响,11岁的蓝赛因.狄阿罗没了母亲,现在只跟着父亲过活。 自从9月份游戏活动开始以后,蓝赛因便加入了进来。 他喜欢运动,尤其喜欢能踢足球的那些日子。 蓝赛因说,他自己并没有受到歧视,但当阿萨来的时候,他目睹了这种现象,孩子们都不跟她玩。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Guinea/2015/Gutcher
蓝赛因.狄阿罗因埃博拉病毒没了母亲。 自九月初坎坎附近的达累斯萨拉姆举办游戏及娱乐活动开始,他便始终参与其中。

他说:“但现在一切都好了, 大家都和她一起玩。 以后,如果我再看到有人排斥其他人,我就会跟他解释为什么这样做不对。“

巴里先生认为,游戏活动对蓝赛因也是有好处的。他实事求是地解释道,因为“这些活动有益于他处理好母亲去世的伤痛。”

让游戏有趣好玩

达累斯萨拉姆的游戏活动一周持续六天,参与到其中的儿童数量也与日俱增。 为了让一切顺利运行,儿童们被按年龄段分了组。 4-8岁组、9-12岁组、13-15岁组以及16-17岁组。”

指导游戏活动的心理咨询师志愿者必须运用创造力确保活动有趣好玩,并每天都为孩子们编排新游戏。 相关咨询师的挑选,由联合国儿童基金会在几内亚村落中协助创建的乡村儿童保护委员会负责,这些村子里的孩子们因埃博拉病毒的缘故,失去了单亲或双亲。

尽管自一月份开始,坎坎市并无埃博拉案例在册,在参与游戏之前孩子们还是要洗手、量体温,以做好安全预防。

家庭支持

在欧洲委员会人道主义援助和民事保护部(ECHO)、美国外国灾难援助办公室(OFDA)以及德国、瑞典及阿联酋政府的资金支持下,除心理支持外,受埃博拉影响只剩单亲或成为孤儿的儿童们还获得了其他帮助。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Guinea/2015/Gutcher
与非政府组织Enfance du Globe一同工作的社会工作者马马杜.古拉多.巴里,顺道参观达累斯萨拉姆的一次游戏娱乐活动。

登记后,儿童们的看护人每月都能领到每名儿童25美元(最高75美元)的汇款,用以购买食物、衣服和其他必需品。 社会工作者将访问他们的家庭,确保相关家庭收到补助,并对款项做出了合理使用。 孩子们还获得了包括书包和钢笔在内的学习套件、包含牙膏挤肥皂等物件的卫生套装以及包含衣服以及豆类、大米和食用油等食物在内的家庭套件。

心理咨询师志愿者和蔼风趣且具备专业意识,他们自己也亲自参与到所有游戏当中。 他们都擅长鼓励孩子、确保每个孩子玩得开心,并且明显得到了孩子们的信任。

但当有个孩子搅和了跳绳游戏并被咨询人员逐出游戏时,联合国儿基会坎坎儿童发展办公室官员莎拉.墨云便和他进行了私下沟通。 她解释说,鼓励孩子参与游戏非常重要,如果他们不会玩,也应该允许他们再来一次,而不是立马就让他们靠边站。

墨云女士说:“在管理项目的同时,我的职责是适时监督这些社区心理咨询志愿者们。 孤儿们可能会比其他孩子更加胆小害羞;爸爸妈妈的去世给他们带来了很大负担。 我们要做的就是通过游戏,让他们重新获得快乐。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 根除埃博拉始于家庭

搜索

At a glance: Guinea

In Guinea, helping children find joy after a great loss

By Lianne Gutcher

For children in Guinea who have lost one or both parents to the Ebola virus, games and group activities provide a valuable way to rejoin peers and share a moment of happiness.  

KANKAN, Guinea, 2 November 2015 – Excitement is running high in the Dar-es-Salaam neighbourhood of Kankan, in Upper Guinea, as children enjoy games of Simon Says, then dodgeball, then jump rope.

© UNICEF Guinea/2015/Gutcher
Assa Conde Bah, a 4-year-old Ebola survivor in Kankan, Guinea, who lost her mother to the disease, participates in a play and recreation session organized by UNICEF and NGO Enfance du Globe, which provides her psychosocial support and helps her reintegrate into the community.

Four-year-old Assa Conde Bah takes her turn, and when she finishes, the other kids break into a cheer. She grins brightly.

Two weeks before, none of the other children here would play with her. As a survivor of Ebola, she was feared and stigmatized. 

This stigmatization is all too common, and it affects not just Ebola survivors but also the relatives of victims. Group play and recreational activities are one way UNICEF and partner NGOs are working to help Ebola-affected children fit back into their communities.

As of mid-September, UNICEF had identified and registered 5,951 children who lost one or both parents to the Ebola virus. Among them are 58 children here in Kankan who now receive counselling and support.  

Today, for example, children who have lost parents to the disease are mixing with children who have not been so directly affected. Along with supporting social reintegration, these sessions offer a way for community volunteer counsellors to provide children with the psychosocial support they may need. 

“The play sessions help to eliminate any form of stigma that there might be against children who are Ebola survivors,” says Mamadou Gueladjo Barry, a social worker with Enfance du Globe, an NGO that partners with UNICEF. “These kids have also lost parents, and some have lost hope. We listen to them and talk to them.”

Eleven-year-old Lancine Diallo lost his mother to Ebola and is now being looked after solely by his father. Lancine has been coming to the play sessions since they started at the beginning of September. He loves sports and especially likes the days when he gets to play football. Lancine says that he hasn’t suffered from stigmatization himself, but he saw that when Assa arrived, she was excluded from games.    

© UNICEF Guinea/2015/Gutcher
Lancine Diallo, 11, lost his mother to Ebola. He has been attending the play and recreation sessions in the Kankan neighbourhood of Dar-es-Salaam since the beginning of September.

“But now it’s ok,” he says. “Everyone plays with her. In the future, if I ever saw children excluding someone else, I would go and explain to them why it’s wrong.”

The play sessions have nonetheless been good for Lancine, too, Mr. Barry believes, because, he explains matter-of-factly, “They have helped him cope with the death of his mother.”

Keeping things interesting

The play sessions in Dar-es-Salaam run six days a week, and the number of children turning up is increasing daily. To keep things running smoothly, they are split into four age groups: 4–8, 9–12, 13–15 and 16–17.  

The volunteer counsellors who guide the play sessions must use all their creativity to keep things interesting, inventing new games for the children to play every day. The counsellors are chosen by Village Councils for Child Protection, which UNICEF has helped establish in every village in Guinea where there are children who have lost one or both parents to Ebola.    

Although there have been no registered cases of Ebola in Kankan since January, children must wash their hands and have their temperature taken as a safety precaution before they join in the games.   

Family support

In addition to psychosocial support, children who have lost one or both parents to Ebola receive other types of help, as well, with funding from donors including the European Commission's Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection department (ECHO), the US Office of Foreign Disaster Assistance (OFDA) and the governments of Germany, Sweden and the United Arab Emirates.

© UNICEF Guinea/2015/Gutcher
Social worker Mamadou Gueladjo Barry, who works with the NGO Enfance du Globe, drops in on a play and recreation session in Dar-es-Salaam.

After being registered, children’s caregivers are eligible for a monthly cash transfer of $25 per child (up to $75) to buy food, clothes and other necessary items. Social workers visit their homes to make sure the family is coping and the money is being spent appropriately. The children also get a school kit containing a backpack and pens, a hygiene kit containing items such as toothpaste and soap, and a family kit with clothes and foodstuffs such as beans, rice and oil.

The volunteer counsellors are fun yet professional, and they join in all the games themselves. They are good at encouraging the children and making sure everyone gets a turn, and it’s evident they have the children’s trust.

But when one child messes up jumping rope and is sent out by the counsellor, UNICEF’s Child Development Officer in Kankan, Sarah Mouyon, has a quiet word with the counsellor. She explains that it’s very important that the children are encouraged and that if they fail they must be allowed to try again, rather than being immediately sidelined. 

“As well as managing the programme, my role is also to supervise the community volunteer counsellors,” Ms. Mouyon says. “The orphaned children are perhaps a little bit more shy and timid than the other kids; the death of a mother or father weighs on them. This is about helping them find joy again by playing.”  



UNICEF Photography: The end of Ebola begins at home

New enhanced search