加纳

在加纳,青年活动家们帮助对抗暴力侵害儿童

UNICEF Photo
© Plan Inc./2010
17岁的阿比盖尔(Abigail)是加纳暴力侵害儿童项目的儿童大使。

美国纽约,2010年10月8日–促进性别平等和为妇女和女童赋权是联合国八项千年发展目标之一。这些目标是国际公认的旨在减少全球贫困的目标。

 音频:现在收听

在世界各地为这个目标而努力的年轻中包括来自加纳的17岁的阿比盖尔(Abigail)。阿比盖尔是一个暴力侵害儿童项目的儿童大使,该项目倡导在家庭、社区和学校层面结束对儿童施加的暴力行为。

面对难题

阿比盖尔12岁的时候就开始做反对暴力的小活动家。作为这个项目的领导人,阿比盖尔现在在她的社区里教育人们有关虐待儿童和性暴力的知识。

暴力侵害儿童项目的成员们就这个重要的问题教育他们的同辈。他们呼吁家长们并游说地方领导人改变政策。阿比盖尔的团队主要关注性暴力问题,这种问题常常发生在女孩身上。有时,他们的工作还涉及到与警察和教师主任交谈,从而在学校里解决暴力和虐待的问题。

为了帮助其他的年轻人更加主动地举报暴力或虐待行为,阿比盖尔的团队在学校里设立了匿名的投诉箱,这样人们可以提出敏感问题而不会暴露自己的身份或者惧怕后果。

直接参与

暴力侵害儿童项目还努力在家庭层面处理暴力问题。阿比盖尔回忆起她社区里的一名女孩被叔叔强奸,后来病得很严重。她好几个月都没有去上学,落下了很多课。事故发生后,她走路也有困难。

这个反对暴力的青年项目的成员们鼓励这个女孩的家长向警察举报这起案件。然后,他们还帮助女孩回学校上课。现在,她正成功地等待着高中入学考试的成绩。

阿比塞尔希望她将可以让很多人都了解到儿童的权利和预防暴力侵害儿童的重要性。但是她知道有些人比其他人更难说服。

她说:“住在偏远地区的人也需要这些信息。”对一些人来说,对儿童施加的暴力是文化习俗和日常生活的一部分,所以教育他们有关儿童的权利被证明是一种挑战。

扩大受众面

为了帮助他们的信息能传递给更多的人,这个团队在电台上作宣传、创作社区剧场演出并开展自己的小规模研究项目,从而进一步了解社区里发生的暴力事件的类型。

他们还使用这些信息更好地改进他们的教育活动。

联合国预计每年有1.33亿至2.75亿的儿童在家里受到过暴力的伤害,主要发生在南亚和撒哈拉以南的非洲。

 


 

 

音频

联合国儿童基金会电台与青年活动家阿比盖尔探讨在加纳结束对儿童施加的暴力行为。
音频 收听

搜索

At a glance: Ghana

In Ghana, young activists help combat violence against children

UNICEF Image
© Plan Inc./2010
Abigail,17, is a child ambassador for the Violence Against Children programme in Ghana.

NEW YORK, USA, 8 October 2010 – Promoting gender equality and the empowerment of girls and women is one of the United Nations’ eight Millennium Development Goals, a set of internationally recognized targets for reducing poverty worldwide.

 AUDIO: Listen Now

Among the young people working around the world to promote that goal is Abigail, 17, who hails from Ghana. Abigail is a child ambassador for the Violence Against Children programme, which advocates for ending violence against children at the family, community and school level.

Facing hard issues

Abigail got started as an activist against violence when she was just 12 years old. As a leader in the programme, Abigail now educates people in her community about child abuse and sexual violence.

Members of the Violence Against Children programme educate their peers on this essential issue. They speak out to parents’ groups and lobby local leaders for policy changes. Abigail’s group focuses particularly on sexual violence, which often occurs against girls.  Sometimes their work involves talking with police or head teachers to address violence or abuse in schools.

To help other young people feel more comfortable bringing forward complaints about violence or abuse, Abigail’s group set up anonymous complaint boxes in schools where people can bring up sensitive issues without having to identify themselves or fear repercussions.

Direct involvement

The Violence Against Children programme also works to address violence at the family level. Abigail recalls one girl in her community who was raped by her uncle and became very sick after the abuse.  She stopped going to school and missed classes for several months, and had trouble walking after the incident.
Members of the youth programme against violence helped encourage the girl’s parents to report the case to the police. Then they helped to the girl return to school, where she is now successfully awaiting the results of her junior high school entry exam.

Abigail hopes that she will be able to reach many people with her messages about child’s rights and the importance of preventing violence against children. But she acknowledges that some people are harder to reach than others.

“People in very remote areas [also] need these messages,” she said. For some people, she added, violence against children is part of cultural practices and day-to-day life, so educating them about children’s rights has proven to be a challenge.

Reaching a wider audience

To help get their message to a wider audience, the group speaks on the radio, produces community theatre performances and conducts its own small-scale research projects to find out more about the types of violence going on in their community.

They then use this information to help better shape their education campaign.

The United Nations estimates that between 133 million and 275 million children experience violence at home annually, with the largest proportion in South Asia and sub-Saharan Africa.


 

 

Audio

UNICEF Radio speaks with activist Abigail, 17, about stopping violence against children in Ghana.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search