德国

在德国,联合国儿童基金会将一张体现了社会鲜明对比的图片评为年度图片

UNICEF Photo
© Loeffelbein/UNICEF Photo of the Year 2011
一个男孩在加纳的阿巴格罗旭 (Agbogbloshie) 地区的废料场里捡电子废物。这张图片被评为 2011 年联合国儿童基金会年度图片。
美国纽约,2011年12月21日 —— 昨天,在德国柏林举行的联合国儿童基金会年度图片颁奖典礼上,卡伊.罗夫尔拜因 (Kai Löffelbein) 拍摄的一个加纳小男孩在废料场里捡电子废物的图片被评改为“2011 年联合国儿童基金会年度图片”。   在这张获奖图片里,一个男孩站在阿巴格罗旭地区臭名昭著的电子废料场里,正准备砸烂一个电脑显示器来获得里面值钱的零件。乍一看,他摆出的姿势让人以为他沉浸在胜利的喜悦中 —— 其实,他身后烟雾弥漫,周围都是从工业国家输出的有害高科技废品。  

鲜明对比的写照

全世界每年产生数百万吨电子废物,其中大部分被运到发展中国家进行处理。在这些发展中国家的拾荒者——其中很多是儿童——在垃圾场和垃圾堆间徘徊捡值钱的东西,在那种环境里,他们会接触到铅、水银及其他有害物质。

UNICEF Photo
© Lopez/UNICEF Photo of the Year 2011
在危地马拉东部,6 岁的马里塞拉只有 18 斤重。这张图片在联合国儿童基金会的年度图片评选中获得二等奖。
卡伊.罗夫尔拜因说:“据我估计,大约有 800 人在阿巴格罗旭地区那个有毒电子废料场捡垃圾,其中一半以上是儿童。”

这张图片捕捉到了技术迅速发展与其对环境和穷人带来的灾难性后果之间的鲜明对比。巧合的是,图片里的那个小男孩正穿着巴塞罗那足球服,衣服上印有联合国儿童基金会的标志。

卡伊.罗夫尔拜因是德国汉诺威应用技术大学摄影系学生,他说:“给我印象最深刻的是,那些孩子都有很强的生存欲望,而且非常积极乐观。”

一张体现不平等的图片


在这次评选中获得二等奖的照片纪录了一位患有严重营养不良的6岁小女孩——她名叫马里塞拉,生活在危地马拉东部,只有18斤重。拍摄者是来自西班牙的胡安.曼尼.洛佩兹 (J.M. Lopez) 。该照片生动地反映了贫困和持续的不平等所造成的影响。
UNICEF Photo
© Calvert/UNICEF Photo of the Year 2011
尼日利亚北部卡诺州的儿童正在接种小儿麻痹症疫苗。玛丽.卡尔弗特 (Mary Calvert) 拍摄的这张图片获得三等奖。
获得三等奖的图片来自美国摄影师玛丽.F.卡尔弗特 (Mary F. Calvert) 的作品,在图片中,尼日利亚北部卡诺州的儿童正在接受小儿麻痹症疫苗接种。在尼日利亚,卫生基础设施不完善,而且有关小儿麻痹症疫苗副作用的谣言四处散播,因此造成小儿麻痹症病毒肆虐。公共卫生运动(包括联合国儿童基金会支持的那些公共卫生运动)已帮助该国很多儿童接种小儿麻痹症疫苗。

向纪实摄影致敬

联合国儿童基金会德国委员会在2000年创立“联合国儿童基金会年度图片”奖,以奖励纪录全球儿童生存状况的摄影作品。该奖项的候选人必须由国际知名的摄影师推荐。今年,有来自 32 个国家的 119 名摄影师获得提名。这些候选人共提交了 1228 张图片供评委会评审。评委会由知名的图片编辑、摄影记者和美术指导组成。

德国总统夫人贝蒂娜.武尔夫 (Bettina Wulff) 是这次比赛的颁奖人之一,她说:“联合国儿童基金会年度图片比赛开阔了我们的眼界,并让我们认识到,在那些令人无法忍受、对我们来说难以想象的条件下,孩子们需要多么坚强才能生存下来。‘2011 年度图片’唤醒了我们的责任感,揭露了技术发展的黑暗面,揭示了电子废物在其他大洲对儿童的生命造成怎样的威胁。”

除了三个“年度图片”奖外,评委会还评出了六个荣誉奖。卡伊.罗夫尔拜因获得了“年度图片”奖第一名,奖品是一部徕卡相机,德国《GEO》杂志将会刊登其获奖作品。本次比赛由徕卡股份公司 (Leica Camera AG) 和《GEO》杂志赞助,该杂志由杂志出版商古纳雅尔 (Gruner + Jahr AG & Co KG) 出版发行。


 

 

相关链接

联合国儿童基金会图片

2011年度图片

当进步和破坏并存时……

搜索

At a glance: Germany

In Germany, UNICEF awards Photo of the Year to an image of stark contrasts

© Loeffelbein/UNICEF Photo of the Year 2011
A boy scavenges electronics scraps at a dump in Agbogbloshie, Ghana. The image was named UNICEF's 2011 Photo of the Year.

NEW YORK, USA, 21 December 2011 – Kai Löffelbein’s photograph of a boy scavenging electronics scraps at a dump in Ghana was named the ‘UNICEF Photo of the Year 2011’ at an awards ceremony in Berlin, Germany, yesterday.

Mr. Löffelbein’s winning image shows a boy at the infamous electronics dump in Agbogbloshie, preparing to throw a computer monitor to the ground to extract its valuable contents. Only at first glance does his pose seem triumphant; on closer look, he is standing against curtains of smoke, surrounded by the hazardous high-tech waste of industrialized countries.

A portrait of stark contrasts

The world produces million tons of electronic waste each year, and much of it is shipped to developing countries for disposal. There, scavengers – many of them children – work in junk yards and dumpsites to extract valuable materials from the waste. They are exposed to lead, mercury and other hazardous substances in the process.

© Lopez/UNICEF Photo of the Year 2011
In eastern Guatemala, 6-year-old Marisela weighs just 9 kg. This photograph took second place in the UNICEF Photo of the Year competition.

“I assume that approximately 800 people work at the toxic waste dump, Agbogbloshie,” said Mr. Löffelbein. “More than half of them are children.”

Mr. Löffelbein’s image captures the stark contrast between rapid technological advancement and its ruinous effects on the environment and the impoverished. Coincidentally, the boy in his photograph is wearing an FC Barcelona jersey with the UNICEF logo.

Mr. Löffelbein is a student of photojournalism at the University of Applied Sciences and Arts in Hannover, Germany. “What impressed me the most was the children's very strong desire to live and their positive attitude,” he said.

Picturing inequality

Second place went to a photograph of severely malnourished Marisela, a 6-year-old girl weighing just 9 kg in eastern Guatemala. The image, by J.M. Lopez of Spain, is a vivid illustration of the effects of poverty and persistent inequality.

© Calvert/UNICEF Photo of the Year 2011
Children are vaccinated against polio in Nigeria’s northern Kano State. Mary Calvert's photograph placed third in the competition.

Third place was awarded to an image, by American photographer Mary F. Calvert, of children being vaccinated against polio in Nigeria’s northern Kano State. There, weak health infrastructure and widespread rumours about vaccine side effects contributed to the spread of the crippling virus. Public health campaigns, including those supported by UNICEF, have since helped increase immunization coverage in the country.

Honouring documentary photography

Held since 2000 by UNICEF Germany, the annual ‘UNICEF Photo of the Year’ competition honours documentary photography of children around the world. Candidates must be recommended by internationally renowned photography experts. This year, experts nominated 119 photographers from 32 countries. The nominees submitted 1,228 images for consideration by a jury of esteemed photo editors, photojournalists and art directors.

“The UNICEF photo contest opens our eyes and makes us realize how strong children need to be – under unbearable and, to us, unimaginable conditions,” said Bettina Wulff, wife of German President Christian Wulff and a presenter at the ceremony. “The ‘Photo of the Year 2011’ appeals to our sense of responsibility. It shows the dark side of technological advancement and it shows how electronic waste can be a threat to the lives of children on other continents,” she said.

In addition to the three winners, the jury also awarded six honourable mentions. For placing first, Mr. Löffelbein received a Leica camera and will be published in GEO Magazine. The competition is supported by Leica Camera AG and GEO Magazine, published by Gruner + Jahr AG & Co KG.



New enhanced search