格鲁吉亚

联合国儿童基金会支持的项目帮助格鲁吉亚的学生们做好应对潜在灾难的准备

罗伯.麦克布莱德报道

格鲁吉亚第比利斯,2011 年 10 月 12 日 —— 在姆莱塔这个小村庄中,学生们耐心地坐在桌子前,侧耳倾听。当教室外面的走廊中传来扩音器的尖锐声响之后,孩子们站了起来,排成一队,开始有序地向门外移动。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗伯.麦克布莱德 (Rob McBride) 报道了格鲁吉亚学生参加的的降低灾难风险课程。 在Realplayer中播放
“不要跑,”老师在孩子们兴奋地退离教室时不断地提醒他们。

除为学生们提供愉快的课间休息之外,很显然,此类疏散演习在发生真正的灾难时将极具价值。对于这所位于高加索山脉南部山麓的学校,这种演习对他们来说尤为重要。

“我们还没遭遇过雪崩,”学校灾难管理委员会成员玛雅.波杜里 (Maia Burduli) 说,“但是在冬天,我们经常需要关闭学校,怕遭遇的雪崩会危及教室和师生的安全。”

正式纳入

15 岁的托耐克.盖盖茨 (Tornike Gagadze) 非常清楚地知道他的村庄所面临的潜在危险。在一个星期六的早晨,当他还在睡梦之中时,一个巨大的滑坡阻断了河流,紧接着洪水就淹没了他居住的房子。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
第比利斯第43 公立学校正在降低灾难风险课堂上使用棋盘式游戏材料。
“当然,那非常可怕,”托耐克说,他站在自家废墟的前面,房屋结构的一半都掩埋在洪水所沉积的淤泥和瓦砾之中,“我打开门,发现水位正在急剧上涨。在此之前我从未经历过这样的事情。”

自 2010 年 6 月开始,联合国儿童基金会同当地政府和非政府组织的合作伙伴,在欧洲委员会人道主义援助部门的援助下,已在弱势社区之中实施了降低灾难风险 (DRR) 计划。

该计划已在上个月正式纳入到格鲁吉亚的国立学校课程中,还为老师和学生们开发了特殊的降低灾难风险学习资料,并提供了益智游戏和孩子们喜爱的宣传海报。此外,还为所选试点学校的老师提供了培训。

时刻准备着

“从某种意义上说,这是个非常出色的项目,它通过人们最珍视的儿童的视角,唤起社会和社区对降低灾难风险计划的关注,”联合国儿童基金会驻格鲁吉亚副代表班杰明.派克斯 (Benjamin Perks) 说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
来自格鲁吉亚姆莱塔的当地紧急事件处理部门员工正在为学校的师生演示设备。
国家课程和评估中心主任纳迪亚.约克哈慈 (Natia Jokhadze) 完全同意这个观点。“我们已经收到了老师和学生的反馈,”她说,“孩子们非常积极,他们正在将信息传递给家人;这对进行降低灾难风险课程的教育来说非常关键。”

在姆莱塔学校的孩子们和整个格鲁吉亚的其他孩子们,了解了他们周围可能会发生的各种潜在灾难之后,他们希望将新知识应用到实际中的那一天永远都不要到来。但是在高加索地区南部的这个多灾多难的地区,他们必须做好应对突发灾难的准备。

 

 

搜索

Georgia

UNICEF-supported programme prepares Georgian students for potential disasters

By Rob McBride

TBLISI, Georgia, 12 October 2011 - In the little village of Mleta, students sat patiently at their desks, listening intently. At the sound of the megaphone blaring from the corridor outside their classroom, they stood up, formed a line and started moving towards the door in an orderly fashion.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on lessons in Disaster Risk Reduction for students in Georgia.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“Don’t run,” the teacher kept extolling the children, as they filed excitedly out of the room.

Aside from providing students with an enjoyable break from class, there is no mistaking the obvious value of such evacuation drills in the event of a real disaster. For this school, located in the foothills of the Southern Caucasus Mountains, they are particularly important.

“We haven’t had a snow avalanche yet,” said Maia Burduli, a member of the School Disaster Management Board. “But there are often days during the winter when we have to close the school for fear of an avalanche, and classes are disrupted.”

Officially incorporated

Tornike Gagadze, 15, knows only too well of the potential dangers facing his village. One Saturday morning, while asleep in bed, a massive landslide blocked the river which in turn inundated his house.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Children at Tbilisi Public School #43, using board game materials in a Disaster Risk Reduction class.

“Of course it was terrifying,” said Tornike, standing in front of the ruins of his home, the surge of silt and rubble deposited by the flood, half submerging the structure. “I opened the door and saw the water level rising so quickly. I had never experienced anything like it before.”

Since June 2010, UNICEF along with local Government and NGO partners, have been implementing a Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) programme amongst vulnerable communities, funded by the European Commission humanitarian aid department.

Officially incorporated into Georgia's national school curriculum last month, special DRR learning materials for school children and teachers have been developed, along with educational games and child-friendly posters. Moreover, training has been provided to teachers from selected pilot schools.

Staying prepared

“The project has been excellent in a sense that it’s got societies and communities to look at DRR through the eyes of those that they hold most precious, which is children,” said Benjamin Perks, UNICEF Deputy Representative in Georgia.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Staff from the local emergency services in Mleta, Georgia, demonstrating equipment to school students and teachers.

Natia Jokhadze, Director of the National Curriculum and Assessment Center, was in full agreement. “We have had the feedback from the teachers and the students,” she said.  “The children are very motivated and are spreading information to their families which is very important for DRR in education.”

As the children of Mleta school, and others throughout Georgia learn about the different types of disaster that could befall them, the hope is that they never have to put their new-found knowledge to the test. But in this disaster-prone part of the South Caucasus region, they had better be prepared, just in case.


 

 

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search